We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice hotel. Better for driving-by”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Silesian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Katowice
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice hotel. Better for driving-by”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I think this hotel is better for drivers who are looking for place to spend a night, because it's settled just next to the highway. Despite that, rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is veeeery good. And also there are so buses nearby so it's good hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kethrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    98
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
20
50
13
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

clean and simple, beds are ok but the pillows are a little flat. the tv is small but fine. The breakfast is simple but tasty and buffet style. You do get free wifi through out the hotel which is a bonus.
There is an economy sister hotel next door.

Small gym which is only open from 6-10 pm which is a bit weird

all in all fair and for less than £90 for two nights b and b, you cant really complain

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked this through a mobile app last moment while driving through Poland and needing a place to crash. This was the cheapest hotel in the area and surprisingly good for the price - the front desk was friendly and open after midnight, room clean and nice, very quiet as well. No problems with the check in even though their system was restarting at the moment of our arrival.

Finding the hotel is a pain though. Katowice is a menace to navigate in the first place (as most cities in Poland) and it took us a lot of time and annoyance driving one way streets and highway exits to get to the location while following a map (we did not have a gps). At the location you will find an empty lot of mud and parked trucks, also a sign in Polish, saying the hotel is accessed via A4 highway and BP petrol station (luckily we can understand some slavic languages, enough to read this!) When confronting the reception about this, they replied that the next time we'd be staying in their hotel, we'd already know how to arrive! After already driving 1000km and looking for a bed to crash after midnight, this was not really a comfort.

P.s. On our booking confirmation it says the name of the hotel is Quality Hotel Silesian. It seems to have a "budget" wing as well, I wonder how affordable that can be if our "quality" room on the 7th floor was this cheap!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed there in August 2001 for 2 nights. It took over half an hour for our taxi driver to find Quality Hotel...for the price we paid , I can't complain, all we need were beds for the night. Room was basic and rather small but clean. Having mini fridge would have been an advantage but again can't expect that for price we paid. We tried swimming pool but after half an hour, it got too crowded.Apparently hotel lets people from outside to use this facility as well as sauna. We didn't use hotel's restaurant , found it slightly overpriced. Overall it we were quite happy and would not mind using Quality Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you don't fancy paying in hotel's restaurant there is BP Petrol Station shop/ Mac Donalds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Kloss_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I spent there many nights during my business trips to Katowice in 2011 and 2012. The hotel consists of 2 parts - Quality and Economy (I slept in Quality). It has 13 floors, a restaurant and small swimming pool. The rooms are rather small, but for 1 person it's enough. 1 or 2 beds in a room, a small tv-set. The rooms are clean.

Breakfast? Typical as in hotel - after a few days it's boring but for one or two nights stay it's ok.

Restaurant? A little overpriced but the food is good and tasty. If you like beer - you should try Polish one ;-)

The access to the hotel is from the BP petrol station - so don't be surprised when a taxi driver drives through it ;-). To the city center it's about 30 minutes walk (or 10 minutes by taxi).

There is a huge shopping mall pretty close - called "3 Stawy" (less than 10 minutes walk). The hotel is located close to the highway - so if you travel by car then it is suitable. The noise from the highway is not annoying.

Room Tip: Internet - It's better to choose a room which is in the middle of the corridor. The Wi-Fi Intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank komalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel worth its price. It is one of the cheapest in Katowice and offers very good service. The modern rooms, large and clean. From the upper floors and nicely shows the whole city and highway. Location very good - right on the highway from Wrocław to Kraków (you can relax with a long trip). The price of admission to the pool room and sauna. Breakfast very tasty and plentiful. I recommend to all who visit Katowice and surrounding towns.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Firstly it's cheap. For a cheap hotel it does the job. It's clean, it has a perfectly pleasant bathroom with shower, it's quiet. The rooms are beyond anonymous, they feel like cells; grey and very plain. No effort has been expended to make them feel welcoming.
If you want to walk out of your hotel - forget it. It's 5-10 minutes in a taxi from the centre (15zl to the station) and is accessed through a petrol station off a major highway. There is nothing within walking distance worth walking to. But then Katowice is the kind of city you don't want to waste time in. Even if you go to the centre you find a sad, late C19th industrial town with almost nothing worth seeing.
Aside from that the front desk at the hotel was helpful enough. The restaurant staff were a joke - surly and neglectful - way too busy talking to help customers coming in to eat. When they do pay attention it's as if they're not really interested. The food took ages and was bad (and not cheap).
My guess is that if you stay here it's because you have to be in Katowice and that you have to watch your budget.
Krakow is 90 minutes away by bus (trains are unreliable but cheap - 20zl each way) but if you can stand the commute Krakow is a stunning and beautifully preserved cultural jewel. You can walk almost everywhere. Stay in Krakow and come to Katowice under duress.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katowice hotels
Śródmieście
Ibis Budget Katowice Centrum
Śródmieście
Novotel Katowice Centrum
Novotel Katowice Centrum
#3 of 25 in Katowice
845 reviews
Osiedle Paderewskiego-Muchowiec
Economy Silesian Hotel
Economy Silesian Hotel
#14 of 25 in Katowice
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście
Vienna House Easy Angelo Katowice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Silesian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Silesian Hotel

Property: Quality Silesian Hotel
Address: ul. Szybowcowa 1A | Gps: Gornoslaska 40 (Entrance Thru BP Station), Katowice 40-502, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Silesia Province > Katowice > Osiedle Paderewskiego-Muchowiec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Katowice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Silesian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Silesian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing