We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatfeast”
Review of Pod Wawelem

Pod Wawelem
Ranked #221 of 1,729 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stare Miasto
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The portions are generous with a captital G. Meat, meat and more meat. Cooked to perfection. Service is excellent. Polish people in general are really friendly and helpfull and this place prooves it. Prices are by western european standars extremely cheap.
Atmosphere is great, bustling with people. Maybe not the place to chose for a romantic dinner, but perfect for a group of friends.
We did not book a table but the waiting time was no longer than 10 minutes to get a table outdoors, the place is huge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank floatpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you lexou24 for your review!

WE LOVE MEAT :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,497 - 1,501 of 4,870 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I have eaten here twice in 1 week. It is that good. Our server for both days is very good and efficient. He speaks english and loves to tell you about the food. The only problem with the food is it is just too much to eat. The server brought us a small plate of pickles with slaw which was to die for. I ask him how much another plate would be and he brought it to us for no charge. They server a warm potato salad that is just excellent. They have specials every day which are listed at the table and the server will go over them with you. The food is very good and I have no complaints. We have walked by the place several times and there has always been a line and after eating there I can see why, the place is just excellent. Marcin our server is a great person and server! Two people can have a great meal for under 20 bucks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregSummers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review GregSummers :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I ate a late lunch at Pod Wawelem after touring for the day. Our server spoke English and told us about the specials of the day and took our drink orders. He returned with our drinks and took our food order. He served us each a small plate with a pickle and slaw, both which were quite good. My husband had the sznycel which came with potato salad (warm potatoes slices with a vinegar dressing). I had the smoked cheese and potato salad. The food was very good. Our server checked on us a couple times to see if we needed anything else.
I would recommend the restaurants. Specials for each day of the week are listed on a card at the table. The food was quite good. Every time we walked by the restaurant it was full and often had a line. After eating there I understand why. Our total bill was about $16.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TennisFan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you TennisFan8 for your review!

Our Specials are the best in Cracow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

3rd day in Kracow 3rd visit here food amazing large portions good quality good service friendly atmosphere seems beer is half price on a Monday less than £1.50 a litre.....meal for 3 with drinks less than £22. Would like to stay longer to sample more food..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you Ange G for your review!

Amazing food and large portions is what its all about :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Original interiors, friendly staff, but very slow service. They can be faster, but it seems that chain is a planned part of a while fun at this place)))
Unexpected surprise at finish of dinner...

Thank Vladimir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz B, Guest Relations Manager at Pod Wawelem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you Damian S for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pod Wawelem also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Pod Wawelem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing