We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hostel in the world”
Review of Mundo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mundo Hostel
Ranked #11 of 447 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Where to begin? This hostel, has all the features and amenities of a warm and comforting bed and breakfast. It's not a normal hostel experience but so much better.
Other than the hostel itself, the thing that sets this place apart as the best and most special accomodation I have ever stayed in is the staff.
They have become and will be friends for life, they were the highlight of my trip to Poland and I would make the trip back to europe just to visit these guys. SO If you want a warm, welcoming experience in a hostel which also does the best hostel breakfast in the world. Come to Mundo, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed here during an Uni trip to Krakow (29/11/2013- 04/12/2013) . Mundo Hostel is an excellent hostel to stay when travelling to Krakow. Staff are really helpful. I would stay here again if I went back to Krakow :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Mundo is tucked away in old style apartment buildings but is a real gem in location and charm. 10-15min walk from station and 5min to Main sq as well as not far from Jewish Quart for nightlife.

Our private double room had a b&b feel, very small room once you add luggage but clean neat and private and therefore safe. Staff were relaxed but really helpful, gave good restaurant tips and were really accommodating about storing luggage until our night train.

For the price, it will be one of the best value hostels you'll get and when you add to that the amazing included breakfast (one day we had waffles made for us, the next banana pancakes!) you can't go wrong if you're seeking a quiet stay to experience the best of Krakow.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Carlz135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is easily the best hostel I have stayed in. It is very small and peaceful, and accessed through an old courtyard. The service is excellent and so is the free breakfast. The rooms are immaculate and the bathrooms are more like the sort of bathrooms a 3 or 4 star hotel would have. The couple at reception speak perfect English and are only too happy to organise trips (They sorted our trip to Auschwitz with travel and entry etc). Really would recommend this hostel, as well as the city.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated to the style of a different continent. Stay in the United States room if poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a good stay. It was cold though, even in the hotel So much so that the water froze which meant the toilet facilities were not available nor were the washing facilities. Other than this the staff were very friendly. But, the major downfall for me was the lack of food for a vegetarian such as myself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pizaaaaa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'm from Italy and I've been at Mundo last week with one friend! The Hostel is located in a strategic position, closed to the Old Town, the Jewish area and the Railway Station.
The twin room ensuite (called Cuba) was nice and clean, also the bathroom was very clean and spacious.
Every morning we had a great breakfast in the common room! This area is the heart of the hostel, it's easy to meet people and spend nice time chatting.
Just one word for describe the staff: SPECIAL! I've never been in a Hostel like that.
I suggest you to go there, also for the good prices ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Mundo is the best hostel in Krakow. I haven't stayed in any other hostels in Krakow but i cannot imagine how they could be better than here.

The place is set in a really old European style building with the annexe leading to the hostel.

It's a small enough, intimate, homely feeling hostel. Everyone seems to know each other and makes loads of friends. The common room/dining area is like someone's living room in their home.

The staff are exceptional and will do everything for you as well as being really cool, likeable people.

It's really clean. All the rooms have a different country theme. Our room was Nepal and had wooden, tribal style decor and colourful flags around the roof.

The breakfast is brilliant. From 9-11. They set the table and there's fresh bread, croissants, scrambled egg, sausages, sandwich fillings, tea, coffee etc.

The location is great, on a quiet street, 5 minute walk from the old town and within walking distance of the old Jewish Quarter (10 minutes) and Schindler's Factory (20 minutes).

The only complaint i have about Mundo is the bed mattress was very hard and we found it really uncomfortable.

I was sad leaving this place, we really enjoyed our 6-nights stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Legend Hotel
#12 of 261 in Krakow
196 reviews
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#51 of 261 in Krakow
186 reviews
Stare Miasto
Stradonia Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
1,246 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,872 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 447 in Krakow
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundo Hostel

Address: ul. Jozefa Sarego 10, Krakow 31-047, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto , Wesoła Zachód
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 447 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mundo Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mundo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing