We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with The Mariacki 5 Apartments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Krakow City Apartments
Ranked #46 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed with The Mariacki 5 Apartments!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were a party of four friends flying from Stansted to Krakow Airport on a three day visit. We were met at Krakow Airport by a very nice taxi driver who took us to the office for Old City Apartments' where we given brief instructions, two sets of keys and a map by a young lady who rushed through everything and spoke very quickly. We were told we could walk to the apartments' from the office using the instructions provided. When we eventually found the apartment (nearly 3/4 hours later) we could not get in using the key provided, however just by chance another guest was letting themselves in and informed us we needed a door code to enter the building - this important information was not noted anywhere on our map or instructions from the office.
There is a small lift and a stone staircase up to the various apartments. This was dark, dingy and smelt of stale urine! On entering the apartment it was obviously not as pictured or described on the website. It smelt damp and foisty; the two bedroom apartment was really one room divided into two by a frosted glass sliding door to make the two bedrooms. There were two single beds pushed together in each room that were advertised and shown as a double, when we lifted up the mattress protector the mattress itself was stained and had black hairs over it - yuk! The pillows were very small and were stained yellow! There were two table lamps by the bedside but only one electrical socket! We were provided with four small bath towels and one hand towel, no towel to stand on when coming out of the shower. There was a scruffy sofa which converted into a bed which had red grubby looking covers on it. There is a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, hob, dishwasher, fridge, crockery and cooking pots etc. The crockery/glasses were either chipped, cracked and all odd. We had to wash everything before we used it. Washing-up liquid is provided but no dish cloth or t-towel or dishwasher tablets. The kettle had a spout like a watering can and was dangerous because it splashed boiling water everywhere. There is a large TV (it didn't work) an I-pod/I-pad charger and a set of sub-woofer speakers. There is also a large washing machine situated in the bathroom which we never used. The floors could have done with a good scrub throughout. The whole apartment was tired and felt grubby it could do with a refurbishment and was not the one shown in the picture on their website!

Room Tip: There are loads of apartments and hotels to choose from, don't be fooled by the website pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tigrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    52
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
34
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, it was very quite and as a young couple we had some "loud nights" and nobody was disturbed.
Apart form that, it is superbly located close to Florianska and the central Krakow square.
Heartfully recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh, Lancs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Krakow City Apts for 3 nights.
We took my mum, who has mild mobility problems, so emailed staff to ask for either a ground floor apt, or one with lift access, as I'd read in a few reviews about going up several flights of stairs, which she wouldn't have been able to manage. The staff got back to me really quickly confirming a ground floor apt.
The apt was a 2 bedroomed apt, with a kitchen/dining area and bathroom with shower. Although there were plenty of appliances, the only sitting area was at the dining table. The apt could have done with a sofa or couple of comfy chairs, for which there was space.
The booking in was painless and even though we were at the apt's early, it was ready for us and they let us in, we paid when booking in so that meant on the day we left, all we had to do, was post the keys in the secure box, which made it so quick and easy.
The location is perfect, a short walk takes you to the main sq, the grocery store a few yards up the street (open 24/7) and lots of bars/restaurants on your doorstop.
Also taxi's and the city tour eco-buses are just across the road from the apts, outside the theatre.
Great Location to explore Krakow from, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The welcome and check in was faultless from the lady in reception who proceeded to show us to the building across from the office, our apartment located on the 4th floor. The building does have a very efficient old lift, which we were pleased about each evening after a long day sightseeing!

Our apartment, which itself was a lovely old building, well maintained, looked out onto a beautiful old Krakow theatre. Wonderful view, particularly after dark when the theatre was lit up. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and spacious, the free Wifi worked very well.

We were approximately 5 mins walk to the old town square, there is also a taxi rank directly across from the building should you have need of one.

Lovely staff, great value, great location, what more do you need? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Minutes from the train by foot, far enough from the town square for a quiet stay. We (2) were in the building across courtyard from office. Excellent help from office staff, they booked tours for us too.
Good security, fridge, microwave, utensils, ext electric tea pot, tv, wifi.

Large grocery store 2 doors away and minutes from town square.
Will book again when returning to Krakow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafirtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penpedairheol
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at florianska gate apartment just around the corner from the office. Booking in was painless. We were early buy the receptionist rang to see if the cleaners had finished, although it wasn't ready we were told to leave our cases in the office come back in an hour. So we did get in the apartment before we were supposed to.

The apartment was spacious with everything you are likely to need there. This is the second time we have used this company and have had no concerns. We would use them again.

We found them competitive and helpful.

Downside of the apartment was we were right up on the top floor, which took your breath away a little, this would not suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs. But once there we had fabulous views of the florianska gate and the barbican.

We heard no noise at all, considering we we around the corner from one of the most busiest streets in Krakow, leading to the market square.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 6, sharing 3 apartments. On arrival the receptionist was very efficient. we had 2 apartments on the 2 nd floor on one side of the courtyard, and 1 apartment on the 4th floor the opposite side. Thankfully this was serviced by a lift. The apartments were spotless and had all the necessary equipment for self catering, although we only ate breakfast in because its so cheap to eat out and the food is lovely. The main plaza is only a 5 minute walk from the apartments. This is a great place to sit and people watch ( most cafes and restaurants here provide fleece blankets so you can keep warm in the evenings whilst enjoying a glass of wine). This is deffiniately a place I'd like to return to.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Pollera
Pollera
#121 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Elektor
Hotel Elektor
#88 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#23 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Antique Apartments Plac Szczepanski
Stare Miasto
P & J Apartments
P & J Apartments
#49 of 416 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krakow City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krakow City Apartments

Property: Krakow City Apartments
Address: ul. Szpitalna 34, Krakow 31-024, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Krakow City Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krakow City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krakow City Apartments Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing