We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place”
Review of Singer

Singer
Ranked #115 of 1,521 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Kazimierz
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The bar is situated in the Kazimierz district and it is a very unique and very cool place to hang out. The tables are in fact Singer sewing machines which gives the place a very interesting feel. It is always crowded at night so you might want to make a reservation. I will for sure come back here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    111
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, quirky and excellent value!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Another cool bar in the trendy & lively Jewish quarter, Kazimierz. We came across this in a guide book on our our recent trip to Krakow and then stumbled across it after a day of sightseeing in the area and then decided to return on Friday night for drinks before my birthday meal.

The bar has a theme of sewing machines as the name may suggest & the tables have Singer sewing machines on the tables which is very cool. The layout of the place looks like an old fashioned Polish house and what you might expect someone's Nan's place to look like.

We sampled hazelnut vodkas here and they were lovely and ridiculously cheap - the equivalent of £1! The barman was really friendly & helpful as I asked a few questions.

Would definitely return and recommend. Located in the heart of the Jewish quarter so convenient for trying out other cafes & bars in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natters1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A cool place”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were there three times during our stay. Singer has a very interesting old-fashioned interior. It's the place where you rewind and relax. It's not one of those trendy places that you'll find elsewhere in Kazimierz. At Singer bar you feel good even if you are in the fifties or the sixties. The background music is discreet and of good quality. The beer is good and there is a lit fireplace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is some of the momst fun I've ever had! From the outside the place looked nothing much, but inside it was crowded! Everyone was dancing, people dancing on the tables, fun music and great crowd!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNEKAHRINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Marvellous bar in Kazimierz”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Singer is my favourite bar in Kazimierz and for that matter, Krakow. It has a charm which only a few other bars can claim. If like me you want to experience an ambience that captures the very heart and soul of Kazimierz then go no further than Singer. It is the oldest bar in Kazimierz and this claim to fame gives it the edge over more trendy places on offer. I like nothing more than sitting beside the fireplace and taking in the nostalgic feel of Singer. Well worth a visit and maybe the place may cast a spell on you too:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StewpotLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Singer also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Singer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing