We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty food served with a lot of great atmosphere”

Dawno Temu na Kazimierzu
Ranked #149 of 1,521 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Kazimierz
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very tasty food served with a lot of great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

One of the great advantages of this place is the atmosphere. Stylish interior, full of authentic, old objects, old furniture make this place a 'time machine', bringing the visitors back in time. When we had dinner there was also a musician present, playing and singing. The restaurant serves a traditional Jewish cuisine. Our meal was delicious. The service was very kind, accurate and helpful with making our choices. I really recommend the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    81
    15
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"once upon a time" This is a fabulous restaurant with wonderful food and ambience.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Please also see my review for this restaurant under its English name "once upon a time". This restaurant has a quirky feel as it is decorated with the style of the old shops it once was retained. Wedding dresses and sewing machines are with workbenches and saws. Excellent food and local Jewish music played by a fantastic old couple in the corner. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, but food very disappointing :-(”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is in a lovely area in Kazmeirz, with several bars and restaurants. We'd originally gone there to go to an Italian restaurant we'd been to before, but it was closed. Friends had recommended this one previously though, so we thought we'd take a look.

We were immediately taken by how quirky, warm and inviting the restaurant appeared through the Windows; and it was clearly popular, with every table occupied. We ventured in, and were able to sit on a large table with a very nice German man. This wasn't a problem, and it didn't feel at all intrusive. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, and the addition of live music makes for a very special ambiance. Unfortunately, the food doesn't match this....at least it didn't on our visit!

I had pate to start, my friend a fish mousse. Both were incredibly bland; virtually flavourless. For the main course I tried out the Polish dumplings with a side of vegetables (beetroot and sauerkraut), again, very disappointing. My friend had a chicken, heart and liver dish. Not great. The menu is limited, and perhaps we ordered the wrong things for our palate, because our new German friend also had the fish mousse and the chicken dish, and said he enjoyed both.

Despite the food, we had a really enjoyable night. It has such a nice atmosphere I'd probably try it again and order differently, hoping for the best! But as I said, the menu is quite limited, so if you're a real foodie, you might want to think twice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittylitterbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Good, hearty, traditional food and free live music to boot. Had a very pleasant evening with family and would recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank krishnaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Delight”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay in Krakow. We found this restaurant by chance and thank god we did as It was an absolute delight. We made sure we visited on 3 evenings. You enter a dimly lit treasure trove of wonderful objects, lovely candle lit tables, and a really lovely atmosphere. The waitress on each occasion was very pleasant. On one of the evenings a couple were playing traditional music on a guitar and violin which was an extra bonus. Hope we may be lucky enough to visit this wonderful place again one day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dawno Temu na Kazimierzu also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Dawno Temu na Kazimierzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing