We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel for the price”
Review of Old Walls Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Walls Hostel
Ranked #160 of 465 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well-run family business. Everything was clean and orderly. Staff was helpful when we asked for assistance (e.g. finding bus times on the internet). We had a very spacious room for the price. The low cost may be explained by the varying standard and casual composition of interior and furniture. They obviously haven´t put much money into giving the place a uniform style. For instance did we have to use 4 different keys to the different parts of the place. The only little problem was that flow and temperature of the shower was a little difficult. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestNorwegianGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Old walls hostel offers lovely accomodations... The value is very good as the location is great! The rooms are clean, bathroom too and have everything needed! We stayed in the twin ground floor and it was very good... Ive read on the previous reviews that the wifi wasnt working on ground floor... Which is not true for my case, as everything was working proprely!! This place is perfect if you like to travel bagpack!! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00fee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Best value hostel I stayed in! Very clean and huge with all amenities.It feels like home from home. Although the building is quite old but in good central and quite location.The week before I stayed in B&B in Rome and I paid 10 times more(even if it was one of the cheapest deals), but I didn't have so many amenities, cleanliness.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

i stayed here with friends last year. It was easy to find, and our room was huge. The bathroom was good, had everything you would expect, and there was also a kitchen, and a lounge with a pool table. It was perfect for a few nights in the city, and its close to all transport links.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

location is ok, close to the old town. it is really old though. it is clean, although the bed looks small but itis comfortable. the owner is helpful. although limited english during conversation. wifi doesnt work on ground floor. so dont pick a room on ground floor. but if you have heavy luggage with you, 1st floor is like 20 flight of steps so be warned as there is no elevator. but for the price, you get what you paid for XD but overall, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

My son and I stayed for two nighta, we had a twin room with shower room and kitchenette. It was clean and functional. There is a communal lounge, with TV and billiard table on the top floor but we didn't use it. The owner was polite and we manged to communicate welk, him in his broken English and me in my rusty polish! Great place to stay if you're on a budget. Short walk, about 15 minutes, to centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeafySurreyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Easy to find hostel, approx 20mins walk from the train station - follow the tram tracks instead of through the center of Krakow - one straight road and fewer people to avoid with your backpack/suitcase!
Plenty of 24 hour supermarkets and local restaurants near by.
Hostel is situated in an old building spread over 3 floors, the majority of the hostel is on the top two levels containing dorm rooms, kitchen, free washing machine and lounge area.
We stayed in the twin apartment on the ground floor; secure - double locks to get in, with an ensuite and kitchenette; comfy twin beds and free wifi; the only issue we had was the noise - not only people coming and going (the main stairway to the rest of the building is right next to the top of the beds) but also 'old house' noises you expect from old buildings.
Other than that, great stay and we really enjoyed Krakow

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Topolowa Residence
#1 of 267 in Krakow
610 reviews
ibis Krakow Centrum
#63 of 267 in Krakow
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 267 in Krakow
2,167 reviews
Kazimierz
Metropolitan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Walls Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Walls Hostel

Address: Ul. Ambrozego Grabowskiego 9a/7, Krakow 31-126, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 465 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range: £15 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Old Walls Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Walls Hostel is situated in the very heart of Kraków’s Old Town, yet in a quiet, side street. Offers comfortable accommodation with free Wi-Fi. The reception desk is open 24/7. All guests are offered free bed linen and towels. They also have free access to a common kitchen with tea/coffee facilities, a refrigerator, cooker and washing machine. All twin and double rooms have a private bathrooms. The apartments, there are separately small flats. Old Walls Hostel is located just a few steps from Kraków’s Main Market Square, about 20 minutes’ walk from Wawel Castle. Old Walls Hostel has TV room and a computer room. Guests can also benefit from a luggage room. Old Town is a great choice for travellers interested in polish food, restaurants and history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Walls Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing