We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Brilliant City”
Review of Kossak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kossak Hotel
Ranked #28 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed three nights at the Hotel Kossak. The hotel is located close to Wawel Castle, Jewish Quarter and the Old Town. From the outside the hotel does not look much but as soon as you step inside your opinion will change. The hotel is very clean, modern and has a lovely contemporary feel to it. Check in was quick and straight forward....we were impressed that we could go straight to our room even though it was only 12 noon.
We stayed in room 201 which did not have the best view (but you do not stay in your room looking out of the window all day). The room had all the mod cons you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the ground floor and was of a good standard. There was a hot & cold buffet available and there was the option to have extra items cooked to order...for example omelettes, eggs.
We booked 2 excursions through the hotel reception (through the tour company Cracow Tours) to the Saltmines & Auschwitz....both of which were a reasonable price and definitely worth visiting. A plus point is that the pick up point for the tours is opposite the hotel.
All of the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful...nothing was too much trouble.
All in all we would recommend this hotel and would quite happily stay here if we ever visit Krakow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear "LouiseNeil",
I would like to thank you that you have taken the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your room of course we are also delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your breakfast at ground floor restaurant, Percheron - we invite you to our second restaurant with a terrace overlooking the Wawel Hill.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff…they will be thrilled to hear you felt they provided you extremely friendly and helpful service.

I hope the next opportunity to hosting you in Hotel Kossak again.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This modern hotel sits on a busy main road, but overlooks (at the front) the river and the castle. Hotel kossak is within comfortable walking distance of the castle, old town and city centre, but there is a tram stop outside if you prefer to travel by public transport.The hotel was quiet, despite its position.
The rooms are comfortable and well furnished, and our modern bathroom included a very large bath.
The breakfast buffet was large with plenty of choice, and you can also order , at no extra cost, items such as eggs benedict. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, preferring to try others in the city.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly the reception staff, who advised on free walking tours, and booked our coach tour to Auschwitz.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again if we return to Krakow.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask for a room at the front of the hotel, overlooking the river and castle, as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothyjk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear „dorothyjk1”
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with the travel community on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you were able to enjoy Kraków from the hotel's good location.

Thank you very much for your positive comments about our facilities and services, we would really appreciate to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Yours Sincerely,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

First of all we had same experience as the chap from Rochdale......hotel full etc. it patently was not.
We paid a little extra for an upper floor room with view over the river and the castle....well worth it !
Our check in was prompt and efficient and the receptionist was delightful. The communal areas of the Kossak are spotless, including the lifts and lobby areas.
Our room was a good size and very clean. The bed was large and the bathroom beautiful....and the view !
As we had flown with just hand luggage it was great that there were bathrobes and slippers to use in the room.
Breakfast was more than adequate with hot and cold foods available. It was a great start to a days exploring. Didn't really cause a problem for us but the staff could indicate a little more clearly that eggs could be cooked to your order.
Situation of the hotel is brilliant.....a short walk to both the castle and to the centre....and a lovely stroll along the river to the Kazimierz.
All the staff were helpful and attentive. We shall stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear „vandalan”,
Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kossak.
I am very proud that the breakfast selection was nice. Thank you for all the attention with every opinion we try to improve work of our employees.
We are glad that you were satisfied with services we provided as well.

I hope you would consider to stay at our hotel again the next time when you arrive to Kraków.
Yours sincerely,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Ideal location for both Old Town and Jewish Quarter with wonderful views of Wawel Castle. Could not fault the staff who were welcoming and spoke perfect English. Cleanliness of the room was excellent and towels and toiletries were replenished as needed. Breakfast let down by cold plates to put hot food on but could not fault the excellent dinner in the 7th floor restaurant both from the food and the service.
I wouldt thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Krakow, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandadBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear"GrandadBen"
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in Hotel Kossak. I am extremely happy to note that overall you enjoyed your time with us.
We are grateful for any comments about breakfast, Please be assured that your comments are well noted and taken very seriously.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When we booked this 3 day break, we were told by the booking company that the hotel was full; only when we said we wouldn't bother booking did the booking company decide they could get us in this hotel after all.
We were so pleased that we did....we arrived ahead of check- in time, but the very helpful receptionist asked us to be patient, go to the top floor terrace to get a coffee and she would be able to book us in , a third floor room overlooking the river and castle, and in still ahead of check-in time. The room, like the rest of the hotel, was squeaky clean, spacious and comfortable, with a splendid view along the riverbank to the castle, a five minute walk away, and was also just 10 minutes to the main square.
All of the staff were courteous and attentive, and most spoke impeccable English; back to reception, and the staff were more than happy to book for any activity, including an airport return, suggesting we shared with another couple on the same flight, thus halving the cost
On the whole an experience we'd be happy to repeat

Room Tip: There are spa facilities but we didn't try them....it is much better to get a castle view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear "Geoff H",
Thank you for your praising words regarding the facilities and services you received in our hotel.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that it prompted you to write and post a review of your memorable experience in this enchanting city.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Spent 7 nights at Hotel Kossak the end of October, 2013. At first, I thought it was far away from all I wanted to see; I was wrong! My room (108) faced Wawel Castle, and it was warm enough to have the wondows open, just a beautiful view!

Across the street is where many tour buses originate.

The rrom was spotless and comfortable, although a bit on the small side, it was okay for one person. The mattress was rather hard, but after full days of sightseeing, I had no trouble falling asleep!

The included breakfast buffet was good; you can also order omelettes and pancakes at no additional charge - the cheese pancakes were delicious!

It was only a short pleasant walk to the Cloth Hall and Main Square, you can cut through the park; only taking about 10 minutes or so.

The ONLY small complaint I had was that I left the room service card on my door at 10 PM (it said to leave before 3 AM) and in the morning, it was still there, so no room service breakfast.

The staff was helpful, and on my nest trip to Krakow, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: My room faced Wawel Castle. The street noise was NOT a problem; if it is for you, there are sound d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalor353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear "Kalor353",
Thank you for your detailed review about your experiences on TripAdvisor.
I was really happy to see that you had been pleased with your hotel choice and you had spent a great time with us.
It is very important for us to understand how effectively we meet our guests’ needs in order to make sure that we are able to constantly improve the standards of our services.
I am sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations in certain aspects, but let me ensure you that we take your comments very serious and we will take the necessary steps to raise our level of service even higher.

Furthermore I am pleased to read that you could take advantage of our central location and could easily explore our lovely City Kraków.
Best regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for seeing Krakow. Most rooms overlook the castle and river. Very clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and a good choice of food at breakfast. About 10 minutes walk to the main square and lots of places to eat and drink nearby. The pick up point for coach trips is across the road and trips can be booked at the hotel. The restaurant on the 7th floor has fantastic views over the city. I would recommend this hotel and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better view of the city. Most of the rooms overlook the castle and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear "L S ",
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on the Tripadvisor!
Please take our remercies for describing the location of the hotel and highlighting the hotel staff.
I am also reading with pleasure that our buffet breakfast selection have met your approval.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
We remain our best regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#10 of 261 in Krakow
899 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#27 of 261 in Krakow
525 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 261 in Krakow
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,872 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kossak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kossak Hotel

Address: pl. Juliusza Kossaka 1, Krakow 31-106, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Business Hotel in Krakow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £71 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kossak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the wide variety of exclusive hotels or luxury hotels there is one hotel in Krakow that shines brighter than the others. Kossak Hotel located in the center of Krakow - city by many considered to be the most beautiful city in Poland, will definitely meet the requirements of each and every client. Regardless, if you plan to stay in Krakow for the business, cultural or touristic reasons, Kossak hotel would be the best choice for everyone who wants to feel the unique atmosphere of Krakow and who wants to spend time in the comfortable conditions in the hotel that belongs to the heart of the city of Krakow. Poland attracts you? Then why not stay in the beautiful, comfortable, modern boutique hotel in Krakow? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kossak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing