We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/Great Hotel”
Review of Kossak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kossak Hotel
Ranked #25 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel Kossak is in a great location, staff excellent and rooms very comfortable - good all round. All staff were extremely polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were very good and the views from the roof top restaurant were just wonderful. We would definitely stay at the Kossak again should we visit Krakow in the future. Would suggest you ask the hotel if a wedding is taking place during your stay, as although this did not cause us any problems, it appears some guests are upset by the noise late into the night!!

Room Tip: We stayed on 5th floor, facing the river, which gave us excellent views over Krakow.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaryGeorgeRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guests,

I am pleased to hear that the staff were excellent and the room was comfortable. We genuinely are interested in our guests and we want them to have a wonderful and memorable stay with us so I am pleased that you had a lovely time. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed breakfast in our rooftop restaurant. Thank you also for your suggestions for other travelers regarding booking rooms for the weekend..

I have passed your kind words to all the team who are indeed very grateful and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Krakow.

Warm regards,
Renata Multan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
There are newer reviews for Kossak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have been going to Krakow for over 20 years and stayed in almost all the 4 or 5 star hotels. This is a very good hotel and well worth a booking. Do not be put off by the entrance off the main road or parking outside the hotel Once inside its all good. Its about 30 minutes from the airport for a cost of 20 Euro. Its on the banks of the Vistula river next to the castle and the Sheraton Hotel. Its a short walk to all the main attractions. The sports bar in the Sheraton is very good compared to the bar in the Kossak.
The food is very good in the hotel but a little more expensive than you would imagine. Its very good and still lower in cost than UK prices. The breakfast buffet is very good. They have a happy 2 hours in the afternoon and free coffee from 10-11am
The rooms are well equipped but this makes them feel small. The bathroom is well equipped.
Service in the hotel is very good. the staff try to do everything they can to help you.
I can not find a fault with this hotel , its 4 star and worth every penny.
The walk into the town square takes 15 minutes at most.
If you are expecting a cheap holiday in Krakow these days you will be disappointed. Those days are over. Prices are around 20% lower than UK these days, quality food and good locations for meals and drinks now costs.
You can still find cheap food and beer but you will take a risk .
I am always amazed at how fast the Poles have caught up with other countries in the West.
We like to look around and find new places to eat and drink.
Its also a great place to people watch.
You can easily find things to do for a 4 day visit.
Things to watch out for are, do not use taxi's off the street unless they have clear badges, phone numbers etc,do not buy fast food for street vendors or the kiosks, do not buy jewellery in the Cloth Hall much of it is very low quality or fake.
Jewellery shops off the main square sell the real amber and display certificates.
The Cloth Market in the main square now mainly sells junk but is always good to Beware of the city tour golf carts as many are unlicensed.
Many festivals are set up quickly in the main square and smaller squares you need to find them and they are well worth seeing because many have music, dancing and other festival activities.
Plenty of small restaurants in the Jewish quarter are very good but in the day time they are shut. It comes to life after 7pm. Trip advisor can help you select a good place.
If you want to get a taste of how Poland used to be 40-50 years ago, find the cultural museum in the Jewish quarter its small but packed with exhibits and information. Its quite new and only bee opened a couple of years.
All the trips are worth going on if you are a first or second time visitor. If you want real Polish food , try the older restaurants off the main square down the side streets.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Vistula and Wawel Castle
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very comfortable rooms and helpful, friendly staff.
Air con was a must in the summer evenings!
Would have given 5 stars if the breakfast had been a little more Western European but that's my taste rather than anything.
Thank you for a lovely long weekend

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RossfromOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear “RossfromOxfordshire”,

Thank you for choosing Kossak Hotel and sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with the accommodation and services provided at Kossak Hotel.
We also thank you for your suggestions with reference to the breakfast we will take it into consideration.

We look forward to having the chance to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind regards,
Renata Multan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Ticks all the boxes without being super good. For the price and facilities along with the outstanding location, it is as good as you can expect and fully met and satisfied our requirements. One grizzle however. Having booked in March for an August stay with Non Smoking requested, it was poor form being shoved into a smoking room, albeit being shifted, not without having to insist sturnly. Seems a wedding took preference!!! With keys not working and other problems, it was over 45 minutes before we got roomed. A grizzle, but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here with my daughter recently and had an all round great experience, clean, modern rooms with a great view of the Wawel castle..the buffet breakfast was really good, great variety and tasty. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to enjoy Krakow as it is in a perfect position with only a short walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DutchieZuidHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear "DutchieZuidHolland"

Thank you for staying at Kossak Hotel and for sharing such a positive comment on TripAdvisor.

With great pleasure we read, that you very much enjoyed our services and facilities and that you would recommend our hotel to others.

We are already looking forward to hosting you again during your next visit in Kraków.
Best regards,
Renata Multan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Superb hotel overlooking the river. Beautiful superior room with a view. A little snug but quality all round. Full amenities in the lovely bathroom with bath and shower. Tea and coffee facilities. Close to attractions. Allow 20 mins for a leisurely walk into the centre. Close to the bus station (5 mins) to get the coach for day trips eg Auschwitz. Lovely meal in the top floor restaurant and very reasonably priced (c£25 2 courses and 2 beers). Try the local beer with raspberry juice !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaggersLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear “DaggersLeyland”

I would like to thank you for your great feedback about your stay.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our superior room and bathroom, attention to details, location and the Café Oranzeria located on the top floor. Our hotel location is really perfect and it helps us to provide the best possible service.

It will be our pleasure having you stay with us again in the near future!
With kindest regards,
Renata Multan
front office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On the banks of the river overlooking the castle, good comfy room , and an excellent breakfast ,every thing you could want ,the reception were very helpful ordering taxis etc.A short walkaway from the old town. A nice rooftop bar which was empty at time of our stay,so bit lacking in atmosphere ,but the views great

Room Tip: Front rooms face castle
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minxypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Kossak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear "minxypie",

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the room, attention to details, location, breakfast and the rooftop restaurant with Wawel Castle view.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Best reagrds,
Renata Multan
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#10 of 261 in Krakow
895 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#36 of 261 in Krakow
2,041 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#26 of 261 in Krakow
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 261 in Krakow
1,831 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#45 of 261 in Krakow
1,741 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kossak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kossak Hotel

Address: pl. Juliusza Kossaka 1, Krakow 31-106, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Krakow
#6 Business Hotel in Krakow
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £72 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kossak Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the wide variety of exclusive hotels or luxury hotels there is one hotel in Krakow that shines brighter than the others. Kossak Hotel located in the center of Krakow - city by many considered to be the most beautiful city in Poland, will definitely meet the requirements of each and every client. Regardless, if you plan to stay in Krakow for the business, cultural or touristic reasons, Kossak hotel would be the best choice for everyone who wants to feel the unique atmosphere of Krakow and who wants to spend time in the comfortable conditions in the hotel that belongs to the heart of the city of Krakow. Poland attracts you? Then why not stay in the beautiful, comfortable, modern boutique hotel in Krakow? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kossak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing