We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Unicus
Ranked #55 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our family of four stayed at Hotel Unicus for 3 nights. We loved it! My husband and I had a suite, and our teenage boys had a double (two twin beds). We loved the location, the ambiance, the staff, and the rooms! My room enjoyed a view of the Cathedral spires! (We also loved the price too. I booked through freebookers.com, and they were wonderful as well. Use them!) I have stayed in Krakow before, and this is truly the best place for the price, service, and location you'll find in Krakow! If you stay anywhere else, you'll miss out!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uncommonjourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and for giving us such a great opinion. It was a pure pleasure to host you and your family in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    181
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
86
222
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston Super Mare
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Booked online after researching on TripAdvisor, and we are extremely pleased with our choice. We booked a twin room, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a very spacious and clean room (compared to the usual European box size rooms you come across regularly). The location was great, the Staff was very helpful and the free use of WiFi was brilliant. We did not try the breakfast buffet but after speaking with other guests it appears that there was a large variety to choose from. The beds were very comfortable and having a mini fridge was a bonus!! All in all, would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldiLox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you very much for staying at the Unicus Hotel and for the kind comments on the Trip Advisor for the other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Ps. During your next visit please try out our Restaurant offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed in Unicus for 2 nights in February.

Location: This hotel was all about the location. It's only about 6-8 mins walk from the main train station (you walk past the mega shopping mall, cross the road, through the Planty and Old Town Wall and take the second left turn into ul. Florianska) and then only 2-3 mins stroll to St Mary Bascilla which is right on the Main Square. We loved how convenient it was as we were always so close to Main Square where there are food and pub options. For those who miss home, there's also a Macs and KFC just around the corner from the hotel. You need to note however that the main entrance is located on a side street about 30 seconds walk from the main Florianska street. This is not a disadvantage but we did walk past it when trying to locate it.

Room: Generally clean and large by European standards. The only weird thing to note was with regards to the bath area - the shower area is located 1 step above the bathroom floor, which means you could flood your bathroom within minutes if you shower the normal way i.e. front facing shower head. And the water force was clearly too strong for the tap - if you lifted the tap handle up to the max, the water would then bounce off the sink and onto the water.

Breakfast: We had breakfast in the hotel - Spread was reasonably good as they had all the usual cheeses, hams, salads, coleslaws & similar salads (seems to be a Polish thing), herrings, sausages, fruits, juices, toasts, coffees etc. They also provided a menu where you could order smoothies, eggs done your way and coffees also done your way, directly from the waitress.

All in all, a great hotel particularly because of its location to Main Square.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Unius for 4 nights, arriving by train from the main Airport and walking the short distance through the park, past the Barbican and down Florianka to the hotel (250m). Don't bother with Taxi's from the train station as its really easy to find and takes no time to get there. Once we got to the hotel we where greeted by a friendly reception staff who gave us us the impression they had been stood their all morning just waiting for me and my partner to arrive. After a couple of minutes checking in we where given 2 room keys, a map of the city, a guide book and a pile of tourist information leaflets. After this we where escorted to our room (108) which was on the first floor in the corner of the hotel over looking the intersecting streets (see piccy). Our escort then subsequently gave us a tour of our room, showing us the how the safe worked, that the room had a ironing board and iron, how the tv worked, etc... even how the clock radio worked with its ipod/iphone dock worked. Even better was just as I went to my wallet to tip the man for bringing our bags up and giving us the run down of our room he politely bid us a good stay and left. Therefore leading me to think this level of service was the "norm" and not something the staff did to pick up some extra income. The room was impressive, modern decor, lcd tv (only 2 english channels though!) on the wall, big comfy bed, kettle with all usual drinks and a well stocked mini-bar. What was even more impressive was the bathroom, black sparkly marble, spots lights in ceiling, shower enclosure with big glass screen, heated floor and modern basin and tap with huge mirror fully covering the wall. The only negative I had about the room was the lack of bath but its only a minor point for me but would a issue for people who like having long hot baths on there hols. Also to note about the hotel is the free wi-fi which I clocked it about 2MB/s, not very fast but more than usable for checking the weather/news etc plus the other half checking facebook.....

The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the city as the cloth hall, St Mary's, the Barbican and the main square are all within a 5 min walk and Wawel Castle, the Vistula and the Jewish quarter no more than 20 mins away. Transport links are all close with Krakow's main train station, tram stops and bus stops all within a short walk (inc bus 304, the bus to the Wieliczka Salt Mine, 40mins away). Loads of bars and restaurants around including one in the hotel. Can't comment on the one in hotel this as we never went in for either breakfast or dinner but looked good from the outside.

The only other point to mention based on the previous reviews is the noise from the street. I would be lying if I said there wasn't any however the room was fully double glazed with heavy curtains covering the windows leaving only the most drunken howls left to be heard. Personally I didn't have a problem with the noise and I think the room we had is probably the most exposed to the street. In the grand scheme of things it a very minor annoyance which should not put anyone off using this hotel as a base for there holiday as the location, the rooms and the service more than cover it.

Overall top notch hotel which I'd happily stay in again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit Krakow.

Room Tip: I expect the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor and further away from Florianska street might be slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Unicus for 3 nights from 17th to 20th Feb, though the weather was cold and snowy, the hotel was very warm and cosy, if not a little too room, though it is possible to open the windows. Rooms are very tastefully decorated, beds are comfortable with quilts and squidgy pillows. Shower is excellent and powerful, our room did not have a bath which would have been nice after walking in the cold. The hotel is in an excellent location just off the main square with plenty of restaurants and bars close by. Would definitly go back to same hotel again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancGirl_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for warm words, despite freezing cold outside during your stay. All rooms in our Hotel are equipped in shower. I hope that during your next visit the temperature will be upper. If not - please test the sauna after walking in the frost. B-) We would be pleased to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Unicus for 3 nights. Checked in early at 11.30 and our rooms were ready. A very friendly welcome, and provided with visitor information. Small lobby area. Location is just off the main square, excellent for sight seeing and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Luxury bathroom suite, with robes and toiletries, and heated floor. We had a twin room which was good, a little stuffy at times. Clean bed linen every day. Only small problem was it was quite noisy if you had the window open at night. I would definately stay again. Cannot comment on the food as we were room only. Free wifi was fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for visiting Unicus and your nice comments. In the Restaurant the Chef puts all his efforts into satisfying our Guests. During your next visit please try his brilliant dishes. Cordially welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Unicus 15th to 18th February. The hotel is exceptional with helpful and friendly staff who responded to emails prior to our arrival (and even sent a car to pick us up from the airport) and gave us useful information on Krakow and arranged transport for us to Aushwitz and back to the airport.
The rooms are large and have fantastic bathrooms - underfloor heating was very welcome as it was very cold and snowy when we were there. Cleaned every day and given we were on the front of the building (which is close to the main drag) there was little noise in the room and the black-out curtains were brilliant.
Food was top notch and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a huge selection of cold and warm food plus menu to order (i.e. omelettes, smoothies etc) if required. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was really good quality. Only negative (but minor) was the lack of atmosphere as it was quiet.
Facilities - didn't have the time to use the sauna so cannot comment.
Would recommend to anyone staying in Krakow as you are very central but not right on top of the square - a two minute stroll away.
Overall a Top Hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greekites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your visit. It is a pleasure to host you and to receive so glowing opinion. We hope that you spend wonderful time in Kraków and during your next visit you will test other facilities in the warmer season. Cordially welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#73 of 260 in Krakow
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,078 reviews
Stare Miasto
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#45 of 260 in Krakow
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Property: Hotel Unicus
Address: Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing