We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful City, Wonderful Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venetian House Aparthotel
Ranked #18 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Krakow is one of the most charming cities with the kindest, most accommodating people. What a gem! Our room at Venetian House had a beautiful view of the main square. It was right in the middle of all the action and was a great location for access to all the sights. The front desk recommended a delicious restaurant and helped us store our luggage when we had a late train to catch to Prague. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Terri S,
We are pleased to be reading your positive opinion on both our apartments and the city of Krakow itself.
We realize the various advantages of being centrally situated, and we are always beyond happy when our guests enjoy staying right on the Main Market Square, with all attractions by the doorstep.
Since your last stay with us, we have refurbished all apartments and changed the interiors to be cozier and more elegant. We will be more than happy to be able to host you once again, in a brand new Venetian House.
We look forward to meeting you again once in Kraków.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay at Venetian House. This is our 8th hotel in the last 7 weeks and certainly one of the best. Why? There are 3 major factors...

1. Location: Could not be better
2. Size of room: Perfect for 2 people
3. Layout and functionality of room

Venetian House is beautifully located, smack-bang on the Old Town Square with restaurants (some very good - some pretty awful) all around... we recommend the 'Hawelka' on the far corner of the square. It's also only a 10 minute walk from Wavel Hill and the river. We had a front room with 'double glazed windows' giving us a wonderful view - and when we wanted it, peace and quiet.
It's not quite an apartment sized space but it's certainly bigger than the average sized hotel room. Modernly furnished with a great bathroom, kitchenette and a separate entry/wardrobe area which adds to the feeling of space. We also appreciated the coffee plunger, although it comes without coffee. Our check in went smoothly and the room, which is furnished a la IKEA was very clean on arrival
The staff are pleasant without going over the top, although I did get one nice surprise. I needed to wash some clothes and asked the staff where the nearest laundry was... To my delight, they invited me to use their washing machine(s) on the 5th floor.
Just a couple of little things worth noting. There were two tea bags in our room on arrival, which we used immediately, they were never replaced over the 5 days of our stay - and the same applies to the bathroom soap. There is a dishwasher but no tea towel. The sounds of the people walking on the floor above (we were on the 4th floor) was very noticeable?
These are relatively minor criticisms and certainly wouldn't cause me to change my rating, but they are worth noting.

Room Tip: Get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear PANTHER029,
Thank you for taking time to submit this review.
We are beyond happy you found your stay with us enjoyable and were impressed by the central location of our Aparthotel.
We are more than glad that you enjoyed the spacious apartment in which you stayed, which clearly shows that aparthotels are a great alternative to hotel stays. We are also pleased that you liked the design of our apartment.
We have recently gone through a major renovation and redesign works and we are very interested to hear opinions of our guests about the new Venetian House.
We look forward to meeting you again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having stayed at the same hotel on numerous occasions in Kraków, we decided it was time to experience new places.

The Venetian House Aparthotel is not a hotel as it doesn't serve breakfast or any meals, but they provide self-catering apartments. In reality, these are hotel sized rooms with one side of the room providing cupboards, kitchen sink, a fridge, kettle, microwave, a hob - actually it's quite well appointed. Our only criticism is that the TV is to the side of the bed so you can't sit in bed and watch TV without turning your head.

On arrival we were greeted by a very polite gentleman with fluent English. In terms of service, the welcome was superb! He showed us to our room, helping us with our luggage and then once in the room explained the Aparthotel concept. This service to the room was a fantastic start for Venetian House and actually set it apart from other much larger hotels.

The location, as other reviewers have pointed out, is superb as Venetian House Aparthotel is located right on the Main Square - couldn't be more central!

The bathroom is also very well appointed too and the shower was a decent size rather than being cramped.

We stayed towards the front of the building so had the benefit of the lift to take us to our fourth floor room. That was until, we went to leave the following morning...

We left our room, pressed the button to call the lift and nothing. We tried this again and again, but still the lift wouldn't come. The light would light up so we knew there wasn't a fault, but would then go out again.

This left us unimpressed. We were staying for just one night prior to catching a flight so had a 20kg suitcase with us.

I struggled down four flights of stairs with this heavy, 20kg suitcase. As we got closer to the ground floor I heard several male voices and a lot of noise of things being moved.

As I got round the corner of the final flight I saw delivery men stacking up boxes into the lift so high the boxes reached the roof. They had obstructed the lift door by putting more boxes in the way so the lift door couldn't close and collect paying customers like my wife and I.

I was furious. Delivery men come last, customers come first - but not at Venetian House Aparthotel. Delivery men are more important here, so the customers can struggle with a 20kg suitcase down floor flights of stairs while the delivery men fill the lift to the roof with boxes - utterly inconsiderate.

When I handed my key to the receptionist I said, "Przepraszasz?", which in my bad Polish means "You're sorry?" - she realised what I meant and replied in English, "I'm sorry".

It wasn't good enough. She had not even come to help me when she realised a guest was coming down the stairs.

Venetian House Aparthotel were most certainly going to be awarded five TripAdvisor 'blobs' as so many other reviewers have awarded them.

But with such a failing in customer service, top marks cannot be awarded. Management need to wake up, tell the obstinate delivery men they are NOT more important than guests.

What a shame. This review is an excellent example how a guest experience can fail in the final few minutes of a stay.

We were very impressed, but by the time we left, the good impression had distinctly worn off.

At the end of every review I write, I advise others whether I recommend and/or will return.

I worry to recommend Venetian House Aparthotel in case management do not receive and understand the stern message contained in this review and other guests suffer with poor customer care and the delivery men are not reprimanded and their working methods changed.

It is purely on this basis that I cannot recommend Venetian House Aparthotel, everything else about the place was excellent.

Having to lug a 20kg suitcase down floor flights of stairs because of inconsiderate workmen means we will not be returning either - to this, or any of the company's properties.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor so you don't need the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAAKrakow, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ConsumerBloke

Firstly, thank you very much for your kind words about our apartment hotel, and we are very happy that you had an overall enjoyable experience during your stay, with the exception of the minor issue with the lift on your departure.

We have reviewed this situation and firstly I can assure you that our guests most definitely do come before any deliveries and please accept our apologies for the lift being temporarily blocked while the delivery items were moved upstairs.

In response to this, firstly we would like to point out that our staff are on hand if you do need help with your luggage and we frequently help our guests move their luggage on request.

Because we are located in a historic building, with one lift, we do occasionally need to use it to move cleaning supplies and other deliveries to the hotel to our store room located on the 5th floor of the building. We do try and organise the occasional deliveries at times when the hotel is least busy, however, sometimes there may be some temporary interruptions to the lift which are unfortunately unavoidable.



Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is my second stay at the Venetian House. My first was two years ago with my brother; I had such a good experience that I returned, this time with my wife and two daughters. We stayed for four nights in July 2014.

The location is spectacular - right on the main square of Kraków, with many sights and amenities just steps away. Our favorite Kraków restaurant, Wierzynek, is meters away from the front door of the hotel. The Sukiennice and St. Mary's Church (among many other historic spots) are steps away.

Despite the proximity to the tumult of the square, the rooms are not at all noisy (with windows closed and climate control on). Having a kitchenette - fully stocked with silverware, pans, etc. - is a great way to save a bit on meals. We stayed in room #12, which has a separate bedroom (for my wife and me - our daughters slept on a fold-out couch in the living room). Because it's on the top floor, #12 has skylights in the bedroom (these can be opened for fresh air; shades can be deployed on hot days); plus, it's conveniently located next to the office, where the washing machines are. The staff were friendly and responsive to our requests.

The only downside is that parking is about 1 km away (a pain with luggage), but our workaround was to (a) park in nearby public parking when dropping off luggage, and (b) parking on the square when checking out (driving on the square is allowed before 10 a.m.)

We will definitely return the next time we are in Kraków.

Room Tip: Their website has helpful descriptions of the rooms, which have a variety of sizes and configuration...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueArtMadLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AAAKrakow, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear SueArtMadLu,

Firstly, thank you for choosing us again! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay again.

We're also glad that you so consciously managed the parking situation. With the Main Square being a pedestrian zone only after 10 a.m, it is quite a challenge not only for Guests but for locals as well. For all the Guests arriving with heavy luggage after 10 a.m we strongly recommend the solution described in your review.

Naturally, we will be eager to help and provide all the necessary directions as soon as we receive the information that the Guest will be arriving shortly. We will also gladly arrange parking spaces in advance.

We're looking forward to your third visit in Krakow!


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stopped on the second floor, in the area that didn't have a lift, so slightly annoying, however we was aware of this at the time of booking. Right with the negative point out the way time for all the positives. The staff were friendly and helpful, we only needed to chat to the reception staff on check in and check out.
The room was large and had twin beds which were comfy enough. The fridge and kitchenette area suited us well, as am one who likes breakfast whereas my fellow traveler didn't. The shower was fantastic, was hot and powerful.
The Location was fab, this is a hotel just on the main square, where lots is going on. We went in summer so all the bars, cafe, and restaurants were bustling on the square. Within 2 mins from the Hotel there is dozens and dozens of places to eat and drink. Also its useful for pick ups for the Airport and Day trips. I will be going back to Poland and back to this Hotel without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask about stairs. If your fit then a few stairs is no problem anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lukesmith997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear lukesmith997,
Thank you for your review.
We are very happy to be reading such positive feedback on our Aparthotel. We are happy you liked our apartments, found our front desk staff friendly and helpful, and were satisfied with our central location.
Since your last stay with us, we have refurbished all apartments and changed the interiors to be cozier and more elegant. We will be more than happy to be able to host you once again, in a brand new Venetian House.
We look forward to meeting you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the Venetian based on reviews we read through Trip Advisor and what was clearly a great location. We knew we had made a great choice as soon as we arrived; the staff at the small front desk were warm, courteous and helpful.

Located on the main square, the hotel sits on the pedestrian mall. Cars are only allowed before 10am, so if you arrive later it'll be a short walk (3 min) to the hotel itself. The entrance is placed between two restaurants, and is easy to miss, so pay close attention to the signage and look up; the sign is above a courtyard entrance. Don't be afraid to ask waiters or other people working in the area for directions, which is what we did.

While this is an old building it does have a small elevator which was a pleasant surprise as we had quite a bit of luggage and there are a lot of stairs to get to the rooms.

The rooms themselves are "all mod cons". Well appointed, air conditioned, with small kitchenette (plates, glasses, small stove and small fridge). The beds are firm but surprisingly comfortable, which seems a standard feature of Polish hotels. Another quirk in Poland are the duvets - it would appear that queen/king size duvets are hard to come by in this country, so we were given two single duvets for our queen bed (which happened even at the Intercontinental in Warsaw). They are however lovely, fluffy, warm and cozy. The hotel also has a washing machine and dryer available and they will provide you with detergent if you need to do laundry - which is super nice if you've packed light for a long trip.

The staff, as we mentioned, were fabulous. Although one of us speaks Polish there would have been no issue if we were both unilingual Anglophones. All the staff spoke fluent English. More importantly they are eager to help with any requests you might have. In our case recommendations on restaurants, directions and help with tours to the Salt Mines and Auschwitz. While we never did this we also found out that some guests would give them a grocery list and cash, and they would go get the requested items for you - outstanding. They were also quite fun to chat up, and we grew quite fond of our hosts.

The hotel is located on Krakow's main square, which is surrounded by a beautiful green belt which made for lovely strolls. You'll find lots of restaurant options in the square, as well as some shopping, and marvellous ice cream everywhere you turn. Our favourite food kiosk was just off the square, very near the hotel, serving marvellous potato pancakes with great sauces. We've forgotten the name, but it's easy to find. Take a left from the hotel entrance, walk about 25 meters, and look for the people devouring these yummy pancakes on the small, stand-up tables out front.

Perhaps best of all for us is that the Venetian is located near the Jewish Quarter. A 15 minute walk took us to some great restaurants (more funky than what you find in the main square), the popular Zapiekanka stands in the Kazimierz and some great bars. If you're look of for a really funky place to hear great live music while enjoying ridiculously cheap drinks look for Alchemie; for us it was like being in any one of a number of our favourite New Orleans bars/music venues. A great vibe!

Another convenient aspect to the location was the short walk to Galleria Krakowski, a popular and fashionable mall. The walk to the mall takes you to a pedestrian underpass with a wonderful fruit stand which became absolutely addictive with their perfect and super-flavourful strawberries and peaches. The mall also has a PLAY store for those of you with an unlocked phone, where you can buy a SIM chip and pay-as-you-go airtime (buy the airtime with your credit card and not at stores... (Long story).

Overall the Venetian is a great hotel that we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CulinarySlut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear CulinarySlut,
Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback.
We are beyond happy you found your stay with us enjoyable and were impressed by the central location of our Aparthotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would come back, as well as recommend us to other travelers.
We are more than glad that you enjoyed the spacious apartment in which you stayed, which clearly shows that aparthotels are a great alternative to hotel stays. We are also pleased that you liked the design of our apartment.
We have recently gone through a major renovation and redesign works and we are very interested to hear opinions of our guests about the new Venetian House.
We look forward to meeting you again.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

1) the location cannot be better
2) the staff are extremely friendly.
3) The room is extremely clean and functional
4) kitchen has all the amenities
5) Everything is very good. Strongly recommended and the price is great too!

Room Tip: We were allocated at the back of the hotels. No lift, but its very quiet. Can't comment for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ardmereroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenetianHouse, General Manager at Venetian House Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear ardmereroad,

Thank you for writing a review and recommending Venetian House to other travelers.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our apartments. We are happy we managed to fulfill your expectations in terms of the central location of Venetian House Aparthotel, the cleanliness and functional of our rooms.

Also, thank you very much for all your nice words concerning our reception staff.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 262 in Krakow
1,007 reviews
Stare Miasto
Stradonia Serviced Apartments
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 262 in Krakow
1,930 reviews
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#45 of 262 in Krakow
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venetian House Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venetian House Aparthotel

Address: Rynek Glowny 11, Krakow 31-042, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Krakow
#11 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Venetian House Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a stunningly renovated 16th Century town house, Venetian House Aparthotel boasts spectacular views from exclusive apartments overlooking the main market square. The apart hotel is located in directly on Krakow’s famous Main Square and within a few steps of the unique shopping and entertainment that Krakow has to offer. Being situated right on Krakow's market square, one can never be far away from the city's culture and attractions. Each of our rooms and apartments has been designed as a comfortable and self-contained living space, decorated in a contemporal and cozy style to complement the historic architecture of the apartment hotel. Fully equipped to include air conditioning, flat HD television, Internet TV and fiber wifi internet, they offer all that travelers need to feel like home away from home. On top of that each room and apartment is provided with a convenient kitchen allowing you to prepare a meal if needed. At Venetian Houss, we fully understand the need for professional customer service. Our reception is open 24/7, so we are always on hand to offer help, provide information, book tours, and efficiently resolve any issues with your stay. Reputation is essential to us and Venetian House Aparthotel is proud to have received a series of Tripadvisor awards over the last years. What's more we offer excellent value for money through our direct website: last minute discounts, reductions for extended stays and more competitive room rates for our valued returning guests. It now only takes 2 minutes to book online and you will receive an instant booking confirmation of your stay. Simply input your dates now and see what discounts apply to your visit. Venetian House Aparthotel consists of 34 apartments and all of them are serviced by a total of 2 lifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Venetian House Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetian House Aparthotel Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing