We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Room adequate & clean, breakfast good continental, staff helpful & friendly. Very close to centre where there are numerous restaurants and bars. Also walking distance is Shindlers Factory & large modern shopping gallery[uk prices] The clothes and particulary shoe shops walking en-route to the town are very cheap about two thirds cheaper than the UK. We asked the hotel to pick us up from the airport which they did very large board displayed with our name on it cost 80zlts. Golf buggies do a tour of the area but for what you get are very expensive. Highly reccommend Krakow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Couldn't fault this 3* hotel, very close to the main square and main bus stop to the airport. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was continental, which served the usual, cheese, bread, fruit, meats and yoghurts...all you need. Our room was very clean and spacious with tea/coffee and as much as you needed, I just asked reception for extra. Our room was on the 4th floor and very quiet which is what we asked for.

I would stay there again. It was perfect for our 4 day visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Maksymilian. We also would like to thank you for your nice and encouraging comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent five nights at the Hotel Maksymilian in July where the accommodation was excellent, the breakfast ample and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to the old town square so very accessible for restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. Would highly recommend as a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had such a good stay in our house. We hope you will return to Cracow so we can take good care of you at our hotel again.
With best regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was in Krakow for a week to attend a wedding and I booked the Maksymilian after reading the Tripadvisor Reviews.

The Positive points are that it was competitively priced. It was central to the Square in the Old Town and the reception staff were very courteous. The Breakfast was okay if you didnt eat the stale cereal and didnt mind the Tinned fruit coctail.

When I booked I asked for a nice room as it was our wedding anniversary. The room I can only describe as dreadful. The curtains were hanging off the rails. The room walls were dirty and were in very bad need of painting. I had read about Air Conditioning in the reviews but there was none in the room we had. It was quite warm when we were there between 22 to 37 degrees but it was Very Very Hot all the time in our room even with the windows open. Every day we went out and left the windows open and curtains closed and every day when we arrived back the windows were closed and the curtains open? I was never asked once by staff was my room okay.

We ordered a Pizza an hour before going out one day in the restaraunt in the Hotel. I was told it would be 25 mins. Went off, came back told nearly ready. Staff dissapeared from sight and I ended up walking out after another 20 mins. Nearly an hour waiting for a Pizza - Did'nt go back there.

I would not recommend this Hotel as there is so much choice. Also Krakow is so easy to get around that for the same money there are much nicer Hotels available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and it was very nice. We found it quiet and nice and the staff was helpful before and during our stay.
We had a room for 3 persons and it was nice. Cleaning was good and breakfast was ok.
Hotel is located only 5 min walk from oldtown, and we found that perfect.
Prices for our room was very good, we think we got value for our money.
We for sure would recommend Hotel Maksymilian.

We visited the hotel august 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jegile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visiti it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Recently stayed there and the hotel is a 5-10 minute stroll from the main square, the hotel itself is quite new and check in was swift and efficent. We had pre-booked tours seperated before we went, but we did use the Hotel bar which was reasonably priced. Breakfast was nice and plenty of choice but if you were staying for more than a few days it might get a bit repetative.

I wouldnt hesitate to stay at again or recommend this hotels

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scottishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Now 6 months old this review-better late than never. We found the hotel clean secure safe with a great location for exploring Krakow. Good links by train and bus to the airport with excellent and frequent public transport-better than England.
Rooms were clean modern and perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was again good with a varied selection of international foods. We like to eat local foods and enjoyed the polish breakfast.
Krakow is such an amazing city to be honest we did not spend much time in the hotel.
As an aside Auschwitz is a must do- very humbling..
Would we stop here again-yeah!
I think we will again we are looking at going in november again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LeedsDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 261 in Krakow
1,322 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#48 of 261 in Krakow
850 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#27 of 261 in Krakow
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Leone Aparthotel
Leone Aparthotel
#57 of 261 in Krakow
525 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#33 of 261 in Krakow
377 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#6 of 261 in Krakow
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing