We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #36 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

For a 3* hotel, this was brilliant! The location is the best bit - about 8-10 minute walk from the main market square and near 2 or 3 tram/bus stops to get out to the further parts of town easily. The rooms were clean and spacious. I had a single room but found it to be just the right size. The bathroom was big, clean and had a great power shower. The bed was really comfy. Be careful as it does get very cold at night but there are heaters and the blanket was the right thickness. There was a tv with about 14 channels and an alarm clock and hairdryer which was useful. Towels were changed daily and rooms were cleaned although the sheets weren't always changed and the carpet wasn't vacuumed - which I didn't mind as I was only there for 3 nights but the rooms were in good condition.
The breakfast was excellent. A large variety of hot and cold foods for every taste. The staff were also really helpful and helped us to book our tours to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines. They were always happy to help us with directions and travel arrangements. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_shah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    335
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
136
385
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A great Hotel, clean & nicely furnished with friendly helpful staff. A Large room well furnished with very comfortable beds although the ensuite was compact it was sparklingly clean & modern. Breakfast was typical continental but what I have come to expect in Europe.
Located in what appears to be a safe area at night not far from the Old Square. Will definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmt3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zatoń,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral England
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for fourteen nights again at this great hotel. It is a five minute walk to the Old Town and a ten minute walk to the Castle area. All of the staff are very friendly, the reception staff work from 7AM to 7PM and vice versa and we have never had any problems, maybe the reviewers who state that the staff are unfriendly have caught them at the very end of a long shift or have been unpolite and unfriendly themselves. We had room 33 again (by request) as this is a good sized room and well away from the lift which is in fairly constant use. All the rooms overlook the inner courtyard or the summer garden so it is very quiet considering the hotel is on a fairly main road. The beds are very comfortable, there is a couch in the room, a safe, T.V., alarm clock, plenty of wardrobe space and other storage space, tables and chairs. Tea, coffee, sugar and creamer are provided every day along with a couple of bottles of water. The bathroom is very clean and the shower is powerful, shampoo and shower gel are provided and replaced when you have used the originals. The bar and restaurant staff are also very friendly along with the breakfast staff. Breakfast is served in the basement so there are no flies all over the food which we found in other hotels in the past. There is plenty of choice, various breads, a toaster, cakes, cheeses, cold meats and pate, salads, fruit, eggs, and cereals so nobody should go hungry. Considering that the breakfast is complimentary, it is very good. The prices in the bar are cheaper than in the Old Town and the restaurant has plenty of choice and the food is very good and not over priced. You can drink in the bar, the courtyard or in the summer garden (summertime only). There is a health spa at the hotel but we have not used it so cannot comment. Plenty of trams pass the hotel and various buses pass along the main road a couple of minutes from the hotel so if you do not want to walk everywhere you do not have to. We would not use any other hotel in Krakow now that we have found the Maksymilian and we will be returning as soon as we can. In one of our previous reviews we mentioned the Chinese restaurant next to the hotel but this has now closed down.

Room Tip: All rooms should be quiet but if you want a great room ask for 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

we are extremely satisfied with your words.
It is a big pleasure to hear that your last stay in Cracow was successful and you would be back again.
We do hope that your next visit will be even better than the last one.
With my best personal greetings,
Maria Zaton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Room adequate & clean, breakfast good continental, staff helpful & friendly. Very close to centre where there are numerous restaurants and bars. Also walking distance is Shindlers Factory & large modern shopping gallery[uk prices] The clothes and particulary shoe shops walking en-route to the town are very cheap about two thirds cheaper than the UK. We asked the hotel to pick us up from the airport which they did very large board displayed with our name on it cost 80zlts. Golf buggies do a tour of the area but for what you get are very expensive. Highly reccommend Krakow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Couldn't fault this 3* hotel, very close to the main square and main bus stop to the airport. Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast was continental, which served the usual, cheese, bread, fruit, meats and yoghurts...all you need. Our room was very clean and spacious with tea/coffee and as much as you needed, I just asked reception for extra. Our room was on the 4th floor and very quiet which is what we asked for.

I would stay there again. It was perfect for our 4 day visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Maksymilian. We also would like to thank you for your nice and encouraging comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spent five nights at the Hotel Maksymilian in July where the accommodation was excellent, the breakfast ample and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to the old town square so very accessible for restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. Would highly recommend as a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maksymilianhotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had such a good stay in our house. We hope you will return to Cracow so we can take good care of you at our hotel again.
With best regards,
Maria Zatoń
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was in Krakow for a week to attend a wedding and I booked the Maksymilian after reading the Tripadvisor Reviews.

The Positive points are that it was competitively priced. It was central to the Square in the Old Town and the reception staff were very courteous. The Breakfast was okay if you didnt eat the stale cereal and didnt mind the Tinned fruit coctail.

When I booked I asked for a nice room as it was our wedding anniversary. The room I can only describe as dreadful. The curtains were hanging off the rails. The room walls were dirty and were in very bad need of painting. I had read about Air Conditioning in the reviews but there was none in the room we had. It was quite warm when we were there between 22 to 37 degrees but it was Very Very Hot all the time in our room even with the windows open. Every day we went out and left the windows open and curtains closed and every day when we arrived back the windows were closed and the curtains open? I was never asked once by staff was my room okay.

We ordered a Pizza an hour before going out one day in the restaraunt in the Hotel. I was told it would be 25 mins. Went off, came back told nearly ready. Staff dissapeared from sight and I ended up walking out after another 20 mins. Nearly an hour waiting for a Pizza - Did'nt go back there.

I would not recommend this Hotel as there is so much choice. Also Krakow is so easy to get around that for the same money there are much nicer Hotels available.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
987 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 260 in Krakow
1,283 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#44 of 260 in Krakow
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 260 in Krakow
417 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#26 of 260 in Krakow
456 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#28 of 260 in Krakow
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Property: Hotel Maksymilian
Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing