We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break, great location, great staff !”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2013

First stay in Poland and this hotel did not disappoint. Cannot fault the place! Fantastic location, just a five minute walk from the centre of Krakow. Perfect for city breaks as you are out of the bussle of the centre and can have a great nights sleep. With regard to the hotel itself, the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms were very good, supplied you with tea and coffee facilties and toiletries. Have free wifi and a safety deposit box which is also a bonus.

Staff were fantastic. After speaking to one of the receptionist, she was able to arrange for a packed lunch when we would be too early for breakfast. Nothing was too much of an ask. Bar staff were great. Breakfast is a buffet set up, not the traditional english breakfast but selection of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and scrambled eggs with sausage or on its own, various jams and yoghurt. You won't leave with an empty stomach!

Also, great transports link as there is a tram stop just outside the hotel so you can get across the city.

Would recommend this to anyone!!

Stayed here for five days in late March 2013.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH93186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.

Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.

I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maksymilian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Superb hotel within a 15 minute walk of the main square but really close to tramstop. Our room on the 4th floor (there is a lift) was very large with 2 beds configured into one very big bed. The room also had a settee, table and chairs, large window, flat screen TV with sadly only BBC World in English plus tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom not huge but adequate with lots of hot water, towels changed daily.
Hotel restaurant in basement superb value for money serving, at lunchtime, really excellent local food - lots of pork dishes plus various types of dumplings - at really good price. Breakfast in morning had really good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, scrambled egg, sausages, toasts, jams, etc. plus tea and coffee - terrific start to the day.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful. They will book tours for you if required. Hotel taxi from airport to hotel available at most reasonable charge.

Room Tip: A room at the back (43) good choice for better nights sleep
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just got back from a 4 day break in Krakow with my partner. We both really enjoyed our stay at hotel Maksymilian. Very close to the main market square, 5-10 minutes walk. Clean room, with bottles of water topped up ever day. Breakfast was good, especially the scrambled egg with Ham and fried polish sausage with onion. If we were to go back we would definitely use this hotel again. Auschwitz is definitely worth a visit, book through krakville tours, just off main square. Ate at several restaurants, Gulliwer and mamma Mia were particularly good! Overall a good trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackaddicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid March 2013. The hotel is an excellent standard for 3 star. All the staff are very friendly and helpful to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was on the 5th floor (the lift on goes to the 4th) so if you have difficulty with stairs make sure the hotel know this. Our room was perfect for us though, spotlessly clean with an excellent shower & lots of hot water.Tea & coffee in the room & bottles of water. Easy walking distance to the Market Square for sightseeing and all the trips can be booked directly at reception (with a 10% discount for booking 2 or more trips). Food excellent value and good quality & choice. Discount for residents dining in the restaurant is a nice idea. Would definately stay here again and recommend Krakow.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.

Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.

I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and i stayed at this hotel from 13th- 17th March 2013. we found our room (25) to be large, warm and very comfortable. All of the staff that we met were very friendly and helpful, even telling us where to catch the bus from so we could visit the salt mines under our own steam.
The breakfast was very good with eggs fried polish sausage, cold meets and cheese which set us up for the day. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay at the maksymilian and would not hesitate to visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 63Tonyc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Yet another very successful European city break with my daughter. We visited Krakow and stayed at this hotel in November 2012. This city was vibrant and fun and picturesque whilst being seeped in history and culture. We visited the Jewish Quater and Synagogues, and Wavel Castle...all these sights were interesting and architecturely beautiful and best of all, free! Whist in Krakow we also invested in the Autschwitz tour which we have to say was mind blowing! interesting and a very humbling experience and should be compulsory for anyone that visits. The town market square is full of places to shop and eat and drink and be merry! Our favourite bar and restuarant being Piano Rouge which by the way serves the best mulled wine ive ever tasted!! This bar is truely unique in its decor and resembles sumthing akin to a 1930s caberet bar, not forgetting how delicious the food is! Last but not least the Hotel Maksymilian! This is ideally situated right in the centre of the city. The rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated and warm, most comfortable beds possibly ever slept in and unusually for a Euorpean city the tea and coffee supplies are a welcome addition to the room with a plentiful supply (bottles of water also provided free, daily). The bathroom was a nice size with a lovely hot poweful shower. Within the hotel is the option to have a beauty treatment. We both had a hot stones massage which was an hour long, extremlely relaxing and only around the same as £15 about a quarter of the price you would pay in England! The easiest and cheapest way (about 70 pence) to get to and fro the hotel and the airport is to catch the bus number 292 or 208. At the airport you will see the bus as soon as you step out to the right of the taxi rank and from the hotel you just need to come on to the main road when you step out of the hotel, go left and walk to the top of the road where there is a busy four way crossing, go straight over and the first bus stop you come to on your left is the one you need. The buses are very regular so no need to worry about missing your flight! We must say the one and only negative to the whole trip was the very moody ignorant attitude of the bus driver to take us from the airport to the hotel, it was obvious we were trying to ask him questions bearing in mind it was our first visit and he just ignored us! But please dont let that put you off as our return bus journey was fine and it is so cheap and convienient bearing in mind its about a 30 minute journey. Also he is a rareity as every other person we met in the city was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Close to main areas of interest (5minutes walk from main square), we were in room 54 which was a light fairly spacious room. Glad of the radiator in the room and noticed air conditioning unit which is a must for the summer months. There was always plenty of hot water for the shower but one draw back was the on/off handle for the water which was also the temperature control was easily knocked whilst showering, roasted myself a couple of times. Tea and coffee facilities and bottled water in the room was an unexpected surprise. The kettle cord didn't reach the socket so we had to keep moving the kettle to and fro the bedside table to boil it. Breakfast was good with a fair selection and the fact they didn't offer the typical english fry up appealed to me. Cereal, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, polish sausage, cheese and meat platter etc. Overall very adequate for a short stay in a great location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenski25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,301 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 261 in Krakow
991 reviews
Stare Miasto
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#46 of 261 in Krakow
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Yarden Aparthotel
Yarden Aparthotel
#52 of 261 in Krakow
946 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#17 of 261 in Krakow
441 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#26 of 261 in Krakow
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £39 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing