We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #36 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Krakow and had at least two pleasant surprises - the first was the hotel. There's always a slight trepidation about how a hotel is going to work out but the Maxsymilian was smashing. The room we had was large, bright and very clean and the furniture and fittings were in good condition - in fact the whole place still "smelled" new. Service was friendly, efficient and very helpful plus a good breakfast buffet. A good place to stay. Oh, the other pleasant surprise, the weather was warmer than the UK!.

Room Tip: The hotel is on Karmelicka which is a tram route so rooms at the front will hear the trams. (End aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    322
    63
    10
    5
See reviews for
130
374
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on the recommendation of the Hotel Amber which was one room short for our group. I knew nothing about it but it was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel was spotlessly clean, our room was spacious and nicely decorated, buffet breakfast was very good and the location is just a short walk from the main square. Set back from the main road in a courtyard, the hotel was also nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 674ClaireB674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Krakow (2-5 April, 2013), and say that the hotel is in a great location. A 5 minute walk from a bus that goes straight to airport T1, and also 7 minute walk to the edge of old city. Added to that, a 24 hour market within a 5 minute walk, not that it was needed.

Breakfast was great with a selection of breads, possible to be toasted, hard boiled eggs, a variety of cheeses (cuts and spreads), cereals, yogurt, veggies (red peppers, green/black olives, cucumbers, tomatoes), fruit cocktail, along with hot food - scrambled eggs, kielbasa with onions (tasted great!!), and hot dogs (not as great).

Superb reception! The best service we've had. They answered all of our questions, gave advice, and seemed like they actually wanted to help us (as opposed to staff we have had in other cities).

I give this a 4 and not a 5 because the double bed was a little small for us, and not the most comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ser5htp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

First stay in Poland and this hotel did not disappoint. Cannot fault the place! Fantastic location, just a five minute walk from the centre of Krakow. Perfect for city breaks as you are out of the bussle of the centre and can have a great nights sleep. With regard to the hotel itself, the staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Rooms were very good, supplied you with tea and coffee facilties and toiletries. Have free wifi and a safety deposit box which is also a bonus.

Staff were fantastic. After speaking to one of the receptionist, she was able to arrange for a packed lunch when we would be too early for breakfast. Nothing was too much of an ask. Bar staff were great. Breakfast is a buffet set up, not the traditional english breakfast but selection of meats, breads, cheeses, cereals and scrambled eggs with sausage or on its own, various jams and yoghurt. You won't leave with an empty stomach!

Also, great transports link as there is a tram stop just outside the hotel so you can get across the city.

Would recommend this to anyone!!

Stayed here for five days in late March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JH93186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.

Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.

I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Superb hotel within a 15 minute walk of the main square but really close to tramstop. Our room on the 4th floor (there is a lift) was very large with 2 beds configured into one very big bed. The room also had a settee, table and chairs, large window, flat screen TV with sadly only BBC World in English plus tea and coffee making facilities. Bathroom not huge but adequate with lots of hot water, towels changed daily.
Hotel restaurant in basement superb value for money serving, at lunchtime, really excellent local food - lots of pork dishes plus various types of dumplings - at really good price. Breakfast in morning had really good selection of cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, scrambled egg, sausages, toasts, jams, etc. plus tea and coffee - terrific start to the day.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful. They will book tours for you if required. Hotel taxi from airport to hotel available at most reasonable charge.

Room Tip: A room at the back (43) good choice for better nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just got back from a 4 day break in Krakow with my partner. We both really enjoyed our stay at hotel Maksymilian. Very close to the main market square, 5-10 minutes walk. Clean room, with bottles of water topped up ever day. Breakfast was good, especially the scrambled egg with Ham and fried polish sausage with onion. If we were to go back we would definitely use this hotel again. Auschwitz is definitely worth a visit, book through krakville tours, just off main square. Ate at several restaurants, Gulliwer and mamma Mia were particularly good! Overall a good trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackaddicott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid March 2013. The hotel is an excellent standard for 3 star. All the staff are very friendly and helpful to make your stay enjoyable. Our room was on the 5th floor (the lift on goes to the 4th) so if you have difficulty with stairs make sure the hotel know this. Our room was perfect for us though, spotlessly clean with an excellent shower & lots of hot water.Tea & coffee in the room & bottles of water. Easy walking distance to the Market Square for sightseeing and all the trips can be booked directly at reception (with a 10% discount for booking 2 or more trips). Food excellent value and good quality & choice. Discount for residents dining in the restaurant is a nice idea. Would definately stay here again and recommend Krakow.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.

Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.

I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#23 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#43 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#21 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Property: Hotel Maksymilian
Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing