We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maksymilian
Ranked #37 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in February for 4 nights and could not fault it at all. The bedroom was spacious and extremely clean. The bathroom had a modern, power shower, basin and toilet. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Front Office Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)
Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    320
    62
    10
    5
See reviews for
129
371
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and i stayed at the Maksymilian Hotel for four nights recently. Its situated in a wonderful location, very close to the main square, just about a ten minutes walk away. We were welcomed by very pleasant staff who went out of their way to be helpful. We wanted to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau, which was the main reason for our trip, and the staff arranged the visit for us. We were picked up via courtesy minibus and transferred to a coach very quickly and onto our destination. The breakfast room was clean and well laid out. There was lots of lovely fresh bread, hams and cheeses to choose from. Also freshly made coffee, tea and juice to choose from. We wanted to purchase some football shirts of the City team for our sons and were having problems finding any. We mentioned this at the reception and next thing we knew a lovely lady called Joanna was looking on the internet for you and gave us directions to the nearby football stadium which was about twenty minutes away where we purchased the shirts. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and received a complimentary drink each and 10% off the bill. The food was wonderful and first rate service from the young staff, well recommended to try. All in all,a first rate hotel for service and situation, so pleased with our lovely stay that we bought some flowers for the girls on reception by way of a thank you for looking after us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor which was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us :)
Looking for your next visit. I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Brilliant location, quiet at night, fabulous room, breakfast plenty, staff very helpful. A short direct walk to Market Square, which would've been far to noisy to stay at night. Would stay there again and recommend it to anyone who wants a good nights sleep after a good night out, without the noise of trams rattling by.

Room Tip: Excellent transfer to airport connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiemac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Maksymilian. We also would like to thank you for your nice and encouraging comments about our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow. With best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTRUSH NORTHERN IRELAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

my friend and i went to krakow for a week in march we stayed in the maksymilian hotel which turned out to be in a great location for the main square .the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and could not do enough for us
we are booked up to go back again for the christmas markets and will be staying in this hotel again like i said it was clean and comfortable breakfast was good and we got enough choice
if you are looking for a good clean and a fair price then go to this hotel many thanks to the staff who looked after us

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COOKIEAVX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had such a good stay in our house. We hope you will return to Cracow so we can take good care of you at our hotel again.
With best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Anne and I booked our April 5 night break at the Maksymillian in the cold, wet winter of 2013 to celebrate the start of the warm months in 2014. We had read the Trip Advisor reviews and our travel agent also recommended it. Now we can also recommend staying here.

We had an early morning flight and arrived late morning. We were greeted with a smile and had to wait a few minutes for our room to be ready. It was on the 3rd floor, comfortable and clean with french windows opening onto a small balcony overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was a typical modern 3 star room. The bed was firm and comfortable and we both slept well each night. Mind you we did a fair bit of walking as there is so much to see and do in Krakow. We were very pleased with the room which was cleaned each morning by friendly house maids.

We went down for breakfast at different times each day - before 8.00 am when going out on coach trips to past 9.30 one morning. There was always a full range of food and drinks and we always found a table right away. It is an informal help yourself affair which is in keeping with the helpful and laid back approach the staff have.

We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was excellent and we were introduced to vodka and apple juice with ice which is exceedingly refreshing. One evening we sat in the bar where the barman chatted along with other guests. We were surprised at how well the staff and most Polish people we met spoke good English.

The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the western edge of the old town and not too far from parts of the National Museum which is in the opposite direction. The receptionists will organise excursions to sites and we were picked up at the hotel for the 2 trips we took.

The old town is beautiful with many ancient and interesting buildings and has an enormous range of restaurants, including vegetarian ones, all seeming to serve food throughout the day. The holiday season appears to officially start on 14th April and this is the time that the outdoor market in the square is set up for the season. It is full of life and very colourful, especially at night.

We had a great stay at the Maksymillian.

Room Tip: Room 312 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at the Maksymilian for convenience. I booked a single room and expected a small room. It was a good size, clean but tired. The single rooms are designed around the lift shaft of the building so are a very strange shape. The single bed was fairly comfortable and the furnishings were satisfactory and fit for the purpose. Positioning of the safe was difficult unless you like lying on the floor against a toilet door to obtain access! The shower screen on the very small quarter style unit didn't pull together and as the maid failed to give any bathmats apart from the last day, meant the floor got very wet. I am not a large person but found the shower and toilet facility very poor/ small. The breakfast offering was quite poor and offered no variety over the 4 morning we stayed there. Scrambled eggs and smoked sausage was ok. But a bit boring day after day.
On the plus side the place was in a great location for travelling. A 10 minute walk to the market square. Trams stops almost outside too. Would I stay there again??? Probably not especially if my wife was part of the trip. As it was just 4 guys it was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Don't book a single room. Rooms overlooking the courtyard are noisy, especially every morning wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reoruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your comments. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
Best regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Smooth check in and good information, including a city map given by the receptionist. Checked in around 12.30 and room was ready.
Room was very spacious on the 4th floor, with a double and single bed. Complimentary water, tea and coffee. It had a hair dryer and was very clean and well decorated. Courtesy light in the bathroom was a nice touch.
I made a mistake on check in and didn't clearly express our request to be located as far away from the trams as possible. As a result, we did feel our room slightly shake when a tram went by, but we couldn't really hear anything. Its best just to ask for a room as far away from the trams as possible. They will then allocate you the room furthest away that is ready when you check in.
We ate at the restaurant on the first night, although the previously posted about, and still advertised in the lift, pizzas were no longer on the menu. Food was very good and the restaurant very quiet. A complimentary drink and 10% resident discount made it exceptionally good value. We went to the restaurant on the last evening, but the a member of staff left us standing there for a good 10 minutes while he arranged tables for a large party. We eventually gave up waiting and went elsewhere, as service wouldn't have got better when the large party was seated.
Tried the recommended kebab stall about 200 metres to the left of the hotel. However, both the chicken and lamb kebabs were too fatty, we would recommend trying another of the plentiful kebab shops.
From the airport we took the 292 bus. Just turn right out of the terminal and walk and you will see the bus stop and a ticket machine. You have to purchase a ticket from the machine, which should cost you 4 zloty. Discounts on the machine are for locals, so pay the full fare, otherwise you risk a fine from an inspector. Ask the driver to tell you when you arrive at Krakowski Park and then get off there. Walk back about 50 yards(you should stop about 50 yards after the park) and you will see Karmelicka st on your left, where the hotel is situated about a 5 min walk on the right. We were also offered coach transport just outside the airport for 20 zloty, but we liked the idea of getting to know the transport system. You can get a taxi for 80 zloty.
Currency exchange was very easy in Krakow and we found we got a better rate over there than we did here. You need to shop around though as the exchange rate varied from 4.4 zloty to 4.98 zloty. We found a bureau in Galeria Kazimierz (near the Jewish quarter) was the best at 4.98. We also changed for 4.95 in a road off the market square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NHAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joasiabuczkowska, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)
Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Buczkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#21 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#12 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#43 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Property: Hotel Maksymilian
Address: Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Maksymilian situated in the heart of Cracow. A 3-star-hotel Maksymilian located on Karmelicka Street in Cracow, is just within short 7 minutes walking distance from the Main Square. The hotel is placed in the monumental, restored tenement, dated on 1871 year. The building itself is in the list of monuments of Cracow. The building was designed by Maksymilian Nitsch, one of the most important architect living in 70s and 80s of XIX c. At first the tenement was the architect’s family house. From 2008 to 2010 the building was completely transformed and renovated. The back part and the ground floor building in the backyard were built. Also, the stylish front-view was restored. The purpose was to keep shape, character and atmosphere of the stylish tenement. We can ensure you that stay in such a magical place with a long and interesting history, will be unforgettable experience. The hotel is run by a family company, therefore every guest may feel like home. Our friendly and kind staff will take care of your stay –every guest is treated individually and specially. Hotel Maksymilian consists of 47 luxuriously arranged rooms. Every room possesses a modern bathroom with a shower and a hairdryer. Rooms are equipped with air-condition, TV Sat, radio, safe, tea and coffee facilities and free WI-FI Internet access. Windows of most of the rooms overlook a beautiful courtyard and backyard. This is the reason why, despite the location in the city centre, there is peace and quiet in our hotel. During your stay you can eat delicious breakfast, lunch or supper in a hotel restaurants or just relax with friends sipping a glass of wine in a hotel pub. In the summer we recommend you a cup of good coffee in a delightful courtyard or in an arbour situated in the back part of the hotel. The location in the centre of Cracow makes our hotel an ideal place for tourists who would like to sightsee not only the city, but also attractions on the outskirts. Receptionists are eager to answer your every question and help you organize your stay including all attractions you want to visit. Also, family with children will feel safe and comfortably. We provide kids with free children’s beds, a feeding chair. A stay for a child up to the age of 6 is for free. What is more, business Guests will be fully satisfied due to free, fast and wireless Internet accessible in the whole hotel area and a conference hall for business meetings, trainings or conferences. In the lobby there is a computer with Internet at Guests disposal. When it comes to guarded carpark it is situated only 100 metres from the hotel. After a hard and tiring day you can relax in our Health Studio, where you can find a wide variety of treatments in an affordable price. Balice Airport is located 10 km from the hotel and Railway Station only 2 km. If you want to get to Hotel Maksymilian in a quick and safe way we can ensure you transfer. We offer comfortable, modern and air-conditioned cars and our drivers speak different foreign languages. Hotel Maksymilian is situated very close to important buildings and institutions of Cracow. Within only hundreds of metres you can see e.g. Bagatela Theatre, Jagiellonian University, University of Science and Technology, Audytorium Maximum, Jagiellonian Library, National Museum and Błonia – one of the biggest European meadows in the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing