We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Benedict Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amber Hotel(Krakow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hostel FAUST(Krakow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Stary(Krakow)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
22
41
41
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
41
41
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottom bunkmain attractionsliving roomtrain stationsocketscheese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Incredibly cheap hostel (5$ for a bed in dorm) in wonderful city of Kraków. Location - perfect. 15 minutes on foot from train/bus station, few steps away from the old town. To me - it was easy to find as it's very well signed. Dorm room - not really big and very basic, but ok. Enough toilets and showers for everyone. Nice social atmosphere of the place. Staff very kind and helpful. I didn't expected much paying so little money for a night, and in the end I was surprised - as the hostel is really nice, better than some 20-euro-per-night-in-dorm hostels I've stayed in Western Europe. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked a double private room at this hostel. The location cannot be better, it's literally steps away from the main market square, which is exactly where you want to be in Krakow.
The hostel itself can be hard to find, but at the listed address, you have to enter something of a courtyard, and then another door, then go up 4 flights of stairs (I'm telling you this because if you don't know you'll have a confusing conversation with the receptionist at a polish insurance agency).

The people working the front desk are sometimes unable to speak understandable English, and when you get there you are hit with a couple of "hostel taxes" that were not made clear prior to booking, bad form if you ask me.
Also, besides having to pay upfront (which is fairly standard) you have to pay a $10 deposit for the key, which is also not identified upfront. We showed up with only a bit more polish money than what the room was supposed to cost, as we had only done a currency exchange and hadn't had the opportunity to hit a ATM withdrawl at that point. As well we ended up in a protracted arguement over their insistance that I give them our passports (which, frankly, is ridiculous as the room is paid for in advance).

The hostel itself is in poor repair. It's so dark inside you'd almost think to use a flashlight. The room is in poor repair as well, carpets are dirty, and the bathroom had holes cut into the wall with exposed pipes. The sink was poorly constructed, obviously of surplus parts, as the tap almost hung over the edge of the sink, soaking the floor whenever used. The shower masonry was falling apart, my gf refused to use it, and when I tried, the bottom of the shower filled with water because the drain was not working properly. The room we were in had no Wifi signal, despite that being advertised, and as we were planning our trip as we went, this was a reason we had booked there.

Standard hostel atmosphere, dozens of teenagers coming and going and making quite a racket, well into the night, but that didn't really bother us because you should know that when booking a hostel vs a hotel.

By European standards, the room is cheap, but compared to other Polish prices, it's not fantastic.

If you don't mind being a bit further away from the square, I'd recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamincarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

good things: Location 5 minuts by walk from the main square), thats all

bad things: They will charge for a strange "hostel tax" that actually was not mentioned into the website so be aware that you gonna pay 10% more. They do not provide any towel so they "offer" you to rent ( a kind of mini micro towel) or to buy a normal one. Toilette dont have soap so you need to bring your own, Rooms are not too dirty but hostel is located in a ugly and dirty old building. After paying extra tax and towel the hostel is more expencive than other decent hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriele1976_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A cheap place to stay in Krakow with great location, friendly stuff, comfortable beds, really nice, very clean and included breakfast (even if it had to be preparred by the client and was not very rich ,just some jam, cereals, and bread for toast)
The hostel is situated in an old and dark apartment block. It's about 15 min on foot from the train station and max 2 min from the main market square.

Recommended for young travellers!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The location is a mystery, but when you do find it is worth it. I rate it as excellent, not because it is 5 star comfort, but because of the excellent value you get for your money. At $5/bed it is hard to go wrong. The staff are friendly, most speak English, they will provide you all the necessary info to get to and from the best attractions in Krakow the cheap way (ie not on a tour). The beds are comfortable, but the highest can be hard to climb. The kitchen is simple but clean and nice, the breakfast is basic but more than sufficient, and the common room while small provides what you need. The only thing it needs is some clear signs.

From the train station you can walk but it is at least 10 minutes walk, more if you have lots of luggage. When you get to the address you will actually need to walk under a passage (the front building is a pinkish doctors/psychiatrists office) and into a courtyard, and the courtyard looks like nothing special. The door is on the left, in the middle, but there isn't even a sign until you open the door and go up the stairs. But anyway, with our 60 year old parents, we still managed just fine. They can also recommend a very cheap restaurant around the corner 5-7 mins walk, that will give you a taste of genuine Polish cuisine.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global-Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews