We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but definitely NOT worth it”
Review of Benedict Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benedict Hostel
Ranked #283 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap but definitely NOT worth it”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the 2 positive things about this hostel.. It's location since it is very close to the main square and has a nice park in front.. Also the price is excellent when travelling on a budget. However, the hostel is dark, gloomy and depressing. There are a few 60 year old men knocking around who have taken permanent residence in the hostel and who sleep in the rooms. It's not a nice experience when it feels like your grandad is watching over you and constantly trying to tell you off. The bathrooms were clean most of the time but old fashioned and tiny with no space to put toiletry bags etc. The staff were quite friendly and helped to organise the trips but most the time they just sit on the computer. At midnight they close the main door so you have to ring a buzzer which doesn't work so we were stuck outside for over an hour! Ridiculous. There's no atmosphere in this hostel the rules mean you have to be silent after 11 and the old man ensures that you have as little fun as possible. Creepy and not worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasemin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    35
    25
    16
See reviews for
8
25
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and were not very impressed.
Good points:
Location- very close to the main station and next to a carrefour express
Bad points:
Rooms are dirty
There is a weird old man (over 70 years old) who lives there permanently who thinks he owns the place. He walks around telling people to be quiet and thinks he's one of the managers (very strange).
The front door is locked after midnight and the only buzzer to get in is broken so we spent an hour one night banging on the door to get in.
No luggage storage.
Only two bathrooms.
No activities.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krakow hotels

Rijeka, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

6 of us stayed in a big dorm room which looked pretty raggedy, but beds were comfortable and it was warm. You can't lock them, but you can lock your stuff in a cabinet. There was some noise during the night, so if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs.
Facilities are small and a bit dirty, definitely the biggest minus.
It is really cheap, which is the biggest plus, and it's really close to the city centre. You also get free breakfast (we woke up around 8, so I can't say for sure if it will be available if you wake up later), nothing too fancy of course, but decent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

At first, the hostel may scare you a little bit, but things may change while you're there. It is unconventional, but it's cheap and has a good atmosphere. I booked one of the big dorms and I had a good experience.

The facts that you should now: It's not fancy. Now they changed their name, but when I got there it was a bit difficult to find the place, because it has more things than just the hostel. The places is kind of old, but it just adds a bit of adventure to all the trip, doesn't it?

The dorm room is not locked, which means that everyone can come and go, whenever they like, but there's always someone at the reception that I think takes care of who is entering the place. You can also ask for a locker to put your things, and then you have your things behind a key at least.

The showers and toilet are in the common area, so you have to cross it half-naked. But it's Europe. People are evolved.

The place is very well located, close to the train/bus station and to the market square and all the fancy things in Krakow.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RSS1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

There's no key, the room is open all the time, includes during the night or when you go out. Anyone can enter the room anytime, there is no security that prevents anyone, no guest, entering the hostel.
The rooms are dirty, small and messy. We were hosted for 4 days, no time someone cleared the room and took out the trash.
The walls of the room are thin so you hear everything happening in the next door room.
The common area is in the same hallway of the rooms, it is impossible to be silent during any time of the day, even late night. The staff does nothing to ask silence for the guests, even ask at 4a.m.
There is only 2 bathroom (one men and one ladies) with 2 showers and 2 toilets for the entire hostel. And the bathroom is in the common area of the hostel.
This hostel was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianePaulino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Booked a twin room under the name 'Pascal Rooms' on booking.com and ended up at this hostel. Wasn't clear on the website that we would actually be staying here, or even in the street where this place was! You have to walk through an unmarked door into a courtyard where the hostel is sign posted, but seeing as we were expecting to stay in 'Pascal Rooms' it was only by chance we ended up going up to find out here it was. The twin rooms are right down the end of a corridor from the hostel, but you are allowed to use the hostel facilities. Room is what I would expect for the price in Europe, wouldn't plan on spending much time there. Location is excellent, couple of minutes to the main square, about 15-20 mins from the train/bus station. Staff were reasonably friendly and helpful. Bad points are mainly the fact we wernt aware of where we were staying and it's quite noisy due to the 'hostel crowd'. We tend to avoid hostels for this reason as were not big drinkers so it would've been nice to know before we booked. Sound does travel from the common area and every door slams. And there's only BBC news in English if you wanted to watch TV, if you speak Arabic you're spoilt for choice! But it's an okay base for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louny, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I am not sure about the bad reviews but maybe we are not really hard to sastisfy. The hostel was cheap and we got what we paid for and more. To get breakfast in such a low price was surprising and it is definitely NOT a normal thing for hostel. Showers were clean when we arrived and if they were dirtier later it was due to visitors who cannot behave themselves (some two spanish girls who dried their heir with a comb, with water and hair everywhere). Kitchen was pretty big, so was the common room. The computer in the kitchen was free to use (which is also not a common thing), with Wi-Fi in the rooms. Beds were a little difficult to get to (bunk beds) and the rooms were not as tidy as the common rooms. The only negative thing was a noise because due to relatively small space, everything was heard in the corridor. But the staff was very strict about it and after 23:00, they insisted on silence. We met two different receptionists, a guy and a girl, both very nice and helpful - they allowed to let our bags in the hostel storage so we could spend the day in the city without dragging it with us or paying for it at the railway station. For us, Czechs, it was relatively easy to find, because we had no problem to understand the language and the signs. It is a little difficult to find (there is no big sign above the door) but all in all, we were really satisfied. I am surprised more people don´t know this hostel, which is a shame since it is only 5-10 minutes walk from railway station and the main square.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
B Movie Hostel
B Movie Hostel
#313 of 433 in Krakow
127 reviews
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#2 of 433 in Krakow
724 reviews
Stare Miasto
The Dragons Den
The Dragons Den
#243 of 433 in Krakow
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pink Panther's Hostel
#29 of 433 in Krakow
338 reviews
Stare Miasto
Good Bye Lenin Revolution Hostel
Kleparz
Dizzy Daisy Hostel DD Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benedict Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benedict Hostel

Property: Benedict Hostel
Address: ul. Juliana Dunajewskiego 5, Krakow 31-133, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Benedict Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Benedict Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing