We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel will return.”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #35 of 265 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem. The staff the ambiance and all things connected are very good Breakfast is a delight and you feel as if you could stay for hours. It is within easy walking distance of most sites of interest,The Jewish quarter is obout 15 minuits and Schindlers factory about 20 mins. Krakow is a very nice city and well worth the visit. As with all reports(even the best ones) there always seems to be one minor irratation. Seeing as that when we were there the majority of the guests were Engish the English news channels were Aljazeera which tended to pump out anti Israeli propaganda most of the time and the Chinese news channel which for three days kept telling us about a mining accident in China!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for three nights in January . Hotel is very clean and modern - rooms are spacious and the bathrooms well equipped. Breakfasts are very good - something for everyone - hot /cold buffet, cereals, fruit and danish pastries. If you can't find something you like you must be very fussy.

Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings as the hotel is only a 20 min walk from the city center.

It has a leisure centre with a pool, didn't use as this, but I did use the gym. The gym is adequate if you need your fitness fix whilst away - the equipment is the type you would buy for home, not the top quality fitness club type.

Staff are very pleasant and their english is very good. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is situated on the edge of the best area for bars and restaurants. I'd say it was 20 mins walk. Allow 30 mins to get to the main square. If you are fit you can easily walk everywhere in Krakow fro here. The staff at the hotel are delightful and very helpful. The bedroom had everything though I found the double bed a bit soft. My husband said it suited him but he kept squashing me. The reception area leads onto the bar and sitting area. Everything is clean and new.

The hotel is located just off a main road that runs along the river. Just up the road is a shopping mall. About 15 mins along you can catch a regular bus to the salt mines, costing about three pounds return for two people. You pick up a guided tour there. All in all much cheaper than booking a tour.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabrielle_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hotel Galaxy is a newly opened property situated on the bank of Vistula river in the Krakow's Old Kazimierz district. Rooms are well equipped (coffee an tea maker) and very clean (most important for me). One is welcomed by a pleasant sound of chirping birds in the main elevator. The hotel has a "space/astronomy" themes incorporated into decor - not my taste but OK. Staff is very professional and pleasant. They have a nice restaurant where you can have some traditional polish dishes like Maczanka Krakowska (served on a polish bagel) - delicious although in my opinion needed more sauce. I also had sandacz (perch) with a lovely reduction on a bed of greens - truly delicious. The hotel is close to Schindler's museum - it took us about 15 minutes to get there on foot. Museum of Modern Art is just next door to Schindlers's so if you have time you can visit both museums during the same trip. We would definitely stay here when we are visiting Cracow again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nivosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we stayed on a three night break arranged by Broadway Travel, transfers were included and we were met by a very nice english speaking driver. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable and how nice to have tea making facilities in room. Very good choice at breakfast and again the staff were very attentive. Hope to go back again, maybe in the summer whichwould makke walking around easier. (however taxi's were very cheap and again we had such nice drivers. We found the Polish people charming and very helpful. 10 out of 10 would recommend hotel and Krokow.

Room Tip: nice view from the front of the river. no noise problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

me and my son stayed in august for 3 days when we gone to Krakow for a football mach in the CL with our team APOEL against WISLA .The staff always ready to help ,good big clean rooms the breakfast above our expectations ,very nice scenery from rooms All in all very nice place st stay.I can assure you its VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Have just returned from 3 nights at the Galaxy Hotel. A great location just 20 minute walk from the market square. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and friendly and helpful staff. We took advantage of the tours that pick up from the hotel on a daily basis and arranged by reception staff. Reasonably priced we did 3 tours (Jewish Culture & Salt Mine half day each and Auchwitz whole day). A modern hotel that I would thoroughly recommend for its location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 265 in Krakow
1,700 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#44 of 265 in Krakow
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 265 in Krakow
2,146 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 265 in Krakow
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 265 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing