We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 days in Krakow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #32 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 days in Krakow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

As it says on the tin I spent 2 days in Krakow and stayed at the Galaxy Hotel. The hotel is very modern in design, attitude and philosophy (you have crickets, birds churping in the lifts). The standard of service and the quality of the food in the restaurant and bar were oustanding. My room was clean, spacious and co-ordinated in decor. You have new age music pipped throughout your room, even in the toilet, though this can be turned off by a touch panel. The hotel is located close to the Vistula and a modern shopping mall -- which reflect UK Prices, so it wont be cheap. It is about 20 min walk to the castle and 30 min to the Old Town, though you may do it quicker as I have a slight disability. 2 days was not enough for me to see all the cultural and historical sites that this wonderful city has to offer. I'd definitely consider this hotel again for value, service and location.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one over looking the Vistula River cus mine over looked the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill-Ian1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    451
    75
    21
    8
See reviews for
204
535
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Comfortable hotel staffed by attentive and friendly people. Excellent breakfast - everything from salmon and scrambled eggs to fruit and pancakes with maple syrup. 25 minute walk to main square in the Old Town but it's an interesting walk either along the river past Wawel Castle or through the quirky, interesting Kazimierz district. 20 minute walk from Schindler's factory and Jewish Ghetto on the south side of the river. Excellent spa: hot tub, gorgeous pool and wonderful massages and other treatments, all at very good prices by British standards. Right next door to Galeria Kazimierz. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend to others wanting a hotel within walking distance of main sights - taxis are so cheap getting around is very easy.

Room Tip: Our room was third floor, river view. Large, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stunning city fantastic restaurants. Defiantly worth a visit. Must visit auchwitz mentally training but must do but if you struggle walking you may find it difficult. Very cheap for food and drink and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was a privately owned hotel,a bit quirky with bird sounds in the lift,it just about walkable to the centre of Krakow,the food was very nice,our room was fine,staff were helpful,I would stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngy-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is attractive, breakfast and swimming facilities were good and included in the very reasonable price. However it was spoiled by location - to get to the market square it took around half an hour - if getting the tram (as a small walk to the tram is necessary). If I were to stay in Krakow again I would locate closer to the main town. That said if you do not mind the journey this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Our location is different that city centre and offers other advantages - we can recommend nice 30min walk next to Vistula river to the Wawel castle, more green areas and more quiet environement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel. We stayed for four nights. The temperature was in the mid 30's yet the room was nice and cool. It was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was good as was the price / service in the bar.

The city centre is a short tram ride way and the tram stop is a 5-10 minute walk. You can walk to the centre in 25 minutes but it's not a very scenic route. Cabs cost 15 to 20 zloty. They can be booked at reception and there are plenty in town to get you back.

I would highly recommend Krakow Direct for airport transfers and Auscwitz trips

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francophilekent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July for a visit to Auschwitz and can hardly fault it. Rooms were of an excellent standard, clean, modern and well decorated. Would have liked a second pillow but that is my personal preference. Air con was quiet and effective. Even the hairdryer provided is good!
The location is a good 30 minute walk to the main square but is close to the Jewish district and Schindler's factory.
The breakfasts were lovely with a good choice of all kinds of different foods and they are restocked regularly. Staff were friendly and willing to help.
Only thing I would say is that it is a shame there is no bar menu for food. The restaurant was a little fancy for my tastes. This meant we had to walk a long way into the city centre to get something to eat after a long day.
All in all, would return to this hotel if we visited Krakow again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#48 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#33 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing