We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the Galaxy hotel this weekend, a great hotel with good food at reasonable prices, if i could criticise anything it would be the fact you cannot buy English newspapers in the hotel, which has a very large British clientelle.
Taxis during the day to the Market square are 15 - 20 polish zl but be warned the fare doubles at night.The main square is vibrant and buzzing day and night with all kinds of entertainment going on and its FREE.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    463
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
206
551
26
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel is value for money. Beakfast is very generous and good selection. Beakfast room spacious. The rooms are airy and comfortable.It is very clean. The staff are all very helpful! I have to mention Iwona Gzarnecka (front desk Receptionist) who have helped us tremdously by providing us with accurate directions to aide us in our trips. Thanks to her we were able to visit Zakopane which was th highlight of our holiday. Thanks to all the staff and management for the friut platter which defintley was a nice way of saying sorry for the inconveniece caused by foreign students in our floor. I will recommend highly. Thanks Pauline from Malta :)

Room Tip: Rooms with the river view are the best selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

As it says on the tin I spent 2 days in Krakow and stayed at the Galaxy Hotel. The hotel is very modern in design, attitude and philosophy (you have crickets, birds churping in the lifts). The standard of service and the quality of the food in the restaurant and bar were oustanding. My room was clean, spacious and co-ordinated in decor. You have new age music pipped throughout your room, even in the toilet, though this can be turned off by a touch panel. The hotel is located close to the Vistula and a modern shopping mall -- which reflect UK Prices, so it wont be cheap. It is about 20 min walk to the castle and 30 min to the Old Town, though you may do it quicker as I have a slight disability. 2 days was not enough for me to see all the cultural and historical sites that this wonderful city has to offer. I'd definitely consider this hotel again for value, service and location.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one over looking the Vistula River cus mine over looked the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill-Ian1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Comfortable hotel staffed by attentive and friendly people. Excellent breakfast - everything from salmon and scrambled eggs to fruit and pancakes with maple syrup. 25 minute walk to main square in the Old Town but it's an interesting walk either along the river past Wawel Castle or through the quirky, interesting Kazimierz district. 20 minute walk from Schindler's factory and Jewish Ghetto on the south side of the river. Excellent spa: hot tub, gorgeous pool and wonderful massages and other treatments, all at very good prices by British standards. Right next door to Galeria Kazimierz. We had a great stay and would definitely recommend to others wanting a hotel within walking distance of main sights - taxis are so cheap getting around is very easy.

Room Tip: Our room was third floor, river view. Large, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stunning city fantastic restaurants. Defiantly worth a visit. Must visit auchwitz mentally training but must do but if you struggle walking you may find it difficult. Very cheap for food and drink and will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was a privately owned hotel,a bit quirky with bird sounds in the lift,it just about walkable to the centre of Krakow,the food was very nice,our room was fine,staff were helpful,I would stop here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngy-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is attractive, breakfast and swimming facilities were good and included in the very reasonable price. However it was spoiled by location - to get to the market square it took around half an hour - if getting the tram (as a small walk to the tram is necessary). If I were to stay in Krakow again I would locate closer to the main town. That said if you do not mind the journey this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Our location is different that city centre and offers other advantages - we can recommend nice 30min walk next to Vistula river to the Wawel castle, more green areas and more quiet environement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing