We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall ok, but we had some big problems whilst there.”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overall ok, but we had some big problems whilst there.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Galaxy is situated next to the river and the flyover bridge. It is not in the city centre. It is about a 10 minute walk into the jewish district and 15-20 into the city centre.

The rooms are clean and simple, the beds are not great. The mattress are poor quality and the pillows collapse into thin air when you lay on them. Bathroom is open plan wet room, water leaks everywhere when you have a shower. Annoying and messy...

Reception staff are helpful, organise trips, taxis etc etc.

Breakfast - pretty decent, all self service. No waitress service.. Usual food available, fruit, cereals, bacon etc.

Spa - Bad experience! We booked two facials. We turned up, there was a lady in a leather jacket and scarf shouting, two young boys were running around the waiting area shouting. One started banging loudly on a keyboard behind the spa reception desk. Nobody was doing anything to stop them. The lady who was shouting, her phone rang, she began to shout even more and then threw the phone on the desk and went down to the spa rooms and slammed the door. At this point we were already in shock, the young boy then threw an aeroplane in my mums face!! At which point we had enough. I then had a horrid feeling the shouty lady was a therapist! Turns out she owns the facial section at the spa. We cancelled our appointments immediately and went to speak to the hotel manager who apologised. I have never seen such unprofessional behaviour in my life, it was disgusting.

The second night of our stay, the conference suite had been booked out, this was floor 1, we were floor 3. Despite this at 12.30am there was very very loud music blaring out. We called reception, who told us they could do nothing as the room had been paid for. It was a joke.
The 4th night, there was some shouting and banging in the corridoor. I got out of bed (12am) and had a look. I was again horrified to find the corridoor was full of teenagers, about 20!!! They were screaming, banging on doors, and two girls were hysterically crying. I have never seen anything like it. We phoned security immediately, nobody came up. The shouting and banging got louder and I was actually quite scared. Reception told us the whole floor had been booked out by some youth hostel trip or something, it was absolute mayhem. Again nothing was done, no security. Eventually at about 1.30am a man came up to the corridoor, the noise did not stop till about 2am. Worst nights sleep ever!

Overall not a great stay, which is a shame, as the hotel has potential. It seems customer care and professionalism is not quite up to scratch at this hotel. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ambernectar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion.
We are very sorry for all the inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback and we took actions to change the downsides that you pointed out. We are hoping to avoid this kind of problems in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    463
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
206
551
26
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a three night stay in one of the suites, excellent all round experience, a superb room with good air conditioning, superb multi jet shower, separate bath,heated towel rail and should you wish bird song through the integrated speakers!
The bed is huge and comfortable, just watch out for the toe breaking door stop positioned in front of the wardrobe.
Breakfasts are a very worthwhile experience with a large selection of pastries, cold meats, cheeses and traditional English. The bar is small but well priced with very comfortable swivel chairs and immaculately clean.
The location is outside the main tourist area but only about £4 away by taxi or a brisk 15 minute walk for those inclined to exercise.
All in all a pleasant stay with superb staff, all of whom speak excellent English.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talbot829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel by the river. Very close to Oscar Schindler factory museum. 20 mins easy walk to the old town of krakow. Great staff very clean. Good food. Breakfast is fantastic for choice. Very close to a new shopping complex that has a good restaurant called jeffs bar for people who don't want to eat in the hotel or walk to the old town

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank inthetrade2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great hotel with clean, nice and modern rooms located at Kazimierz district. Very tasty and diverse breakfast and fantastic food in the hotel's restaurant. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. I really recommend. All of that for a really reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K260581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I stayed at the Galaxy hotel this weekend, a great hotel with good food at reasonable prices, if i could criticise anything it would be the fact you cannot buy English newspapers in the hotel, which has a very large British clientelle.
Taxis during the day to the Market square are 15 - 20 polish zl but be warned the fare doubles at night.The main square is vibrant and buzzing day and night with all kinds of entertainment going on and its FREE.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel is value for money. Beakfast is very generous and good selection. Beakfast room spacious. The rooms are airy and comfortable.It is very clean. The staff are all very helpful! I have to mention Iwona Gzarnecka (front desk Receptionist) who have helped us tremdously by providing us with accurate directions to aide us in our trips. Thanks to her we were able to visit Zakopane which was th highlight of our holiday. Thanks to all the staff and management for the friut platter which defintley was a nice way of saying sorry for the inconveniece caused by foreign students in our floor. I will recommend highly. Thanks Pauline from Malta :)

Room Tip: Rooms with the river view are the best selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

As it says on the tin I spent 2 days in Krakow and stayed at the Galaxy Hotel. The hotel is very modern in design, attitude and philosophy (you have crickets, birds churping in the lifts). The standard of service and the quality of the food in the restaurant and bar were oustanding. My room was clean, spacious and co-ordinated in decor. You have new age music pipped throughout your room, even in the toilet, though this can be turned off by a touch panel. The hotel is located close to the Vistula and a modern shopping mall -- which reflect UK Prices, so it wont be cheap. It is about 20 min walk to the castle and 30 min to the Old Town, though you may do it quicker as I have a slight disability. 2 days was not enough for me to see all the cultural and historical sites that this wonderful city has to offer. I'd definitely consider this hotel again for value, service and location.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one over looking the Vistula River cus mine over looked the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill-Ian1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing