We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel-rooms clean and very well equipt. Staff friendly and helpful. Spa was good and included in the price which was a bonus! The buffet breakfast was busy but there was a wide selection of food.

Only disadvantage was the out of town location, took about 20 minutes to walk into the main centre but taxis were cheap (around £2.50-£3) so it wasn't a major issue.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank bekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear bekz,
Thank you for your stay in Galaxy**** Hotel and for taking time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as our SPA and breakfast. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    461
    79
    21
    8
See reviews for
206
550
26
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked the Galaxy based on price not location, as we don't mind waking (even if it is bitterly cold!!) and we weren't disappointed.

The good: lovely modern hotel, polite and very helpful staff, excellent buffet breakfast, and great value for money. Wifi wasn't included but the lovely gent on the front desk gave us a code free of charge which was a bonus. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a fairly large shopping centre too which is handy.

The only thing that might put you off is the walking, around 10 mins to the Jewish quarter, 25 mins to the old town and a good 5-10 mins to the nearest useable tram stop. BUT the taxis are very cheap if you decide on that option, we just used the walk to burn off all the lovely chocolate we ate!

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank savagenoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear savagenoodles,
Thank you for taking time to write this nice review. It is very nice of you to notice helpfull staff and good breakfast. As you mentioned, we are not in the city centre but it has its advantages - it is more quiet and less crowded. We hope to help you with your next stay in Cracow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storslett, Norge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights to celebrate new year in Krakow. The hotel is new and clean. The staff are nice and friendly. Always helpful with answering questions and made the best for our stay. The SPA is great with swimming pool and sauna. The minus with the hotel I would say is the breakfast. Everything else met our expectation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sigbjoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear sigbjoha,
Thank you for choosing to celebrate New Year with us. We are glad taht you appreciate our staff, we do everything that we can to enrich the stay of each and every one of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We just came back from 3 night stay and we were pleasently surprised. Hotel has got modern interiors, very clean and well designed. We loved our room, staff so helpful and friendly. We loved the spa and food, we are Polish couple living in London and I must admit, this hotel is worth every penny. Very high quality standard. Will be coming back in future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pawel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Pawel G,
Thank you for your stay in Galaxy**** Hotel and for this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our desing as well as our service. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

just spent 4 nights at the Galaxy. arrived around midday knowing our room might not be ready. Put our cases in left luggage, given a map and off we went to explore the old town its about 25minutes walk to the old town , not good in -4 degrees temperature so used taxis(about 11plz) for the rest of the stay which can be ordered from reception. Rooms pleasant with nice bathrooms(plenty of hot water) hair dryer & toileteries. also coffee tea & water in rooms. Staff very attentative and informative. A hop on minibus operates from the hotel which is ideal for sightseeing 1 ticket can be used for 2 days. We used the pool and sauna facilities which was lovely and relaxing. We also used the andromeda restaurant and the food was mouthwatering and delicious a credit to the catering staff. Would use this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessieGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear jessieGrimsby,
Thank you for choosing Galaxy**** Hotel and for this review. We are glad that you find our staff attentative and informative. We do our best to keep the service in the restaurant as good as you describe it. We will be happy to help with your next stay in Cracow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

What an amazing experience we had in krakow . It was a surprise birthday trip to my boyfriend he always wanted to go to krakow and be in Auschwitz ( this experience just change my life it's very sad but it's worth doing it ) so i took him as a surprise from London for his birthday we just had a lovely long weekend we choose this hotel with escape to poland tour and it was just the right choice the hotel is really nice modern and new everywhere you go is clean I'm a very fussy person with toilets but this one were nice and clean ( even you get music and birds singing in the toilet which we find funny and unusual !!! My boyfriend loved it lol) the food in the restaurant was great and really good prices all The staff was very very friendly as everyone speaks English we had just an amazing stay we will be back for sure is just about 15 mins walk from the main sq but is very close to the Schindlers factory and the getto but you will love the walk to main qd or the jewish sq as krakow is absolutely beautiful it's got so much history it's amazing beyond expectations !!
I will recommended this hotel to everyone it was just 5* in every possible way
Thank you very much for such an amazing unforgettable experience in krakow !!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Vilma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Vilma G,
Thank you very much for your stay in Galaxy**** Hotel, we are all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you also for appreciating our restaurant and staff. We were happy to help with your experience in Cracow and we are here for you whenever you decide to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

arrived for a 5 day stay at the galaxy hotel before i left the u.k i emailed the hotel to ask for a high floor non smoking room looking out over the river and as i was staying alone i asked if possible for a double bed rather than single as i suffer with a bad back and limited walking, i got a lovely reply from a lovely young lady called paulina who i must say was ever so helpfullshe got me everything i asked for plus more without asking her she provided 8 pillows for my bed to make sure i got a decent night sleep and was propped up correctly to get a good night sleep .
i got a room on the 6th floor near the lift which for me was brilliant less walking distance to my room.(didnt have any noise from the lift anytime in my stay )
on opening the room door which is a pass card the first thing that hit me was a lovely smell, it smelt so lovely and fresh,and on getting into the room i was so pleased with my room i had a lovely double bed with all my pillows stacked up on it for me and lovely pure white bedding,there was a massive 42inch flat screen tele on the wall and if you wanted you could have the sound from the tele piped into the bathroom if you wanted it !! to listen to music channel.
in the room there was a little coffee table and 2 arm-chairs and a little dressing table in the corner with a lamp and a standard lamp in the other corner. the room had a lovely warm cozy feel .
the bathroom was lovely and big with plenty of room i had a lovely deep bath which was brilliant for me as it helped sooth my back aftre so much walkingand with the weather being so cold it warmed you up !! with lovely dove bathsoap container over the bath . and another for the sink.
it had a lovely heated rad in it to heat the lovely white towels up for getting out of the bath.aso in the bathroom they provided a full size hairdryer with diffuser in a little bag hung up on the wall ready to use, i had a brilliant night sleep whilst i was there , and the view of the vistula river from my room was brilliant.
when you came out your room into the corridoors i felt so safe as they have cctv in them .the coridoors wer so bright and modern .
beakfast in the morning is taken on the 1st floor in a lovely bright room with plenty of tables for everyone. the food served was plentyfull there wer fruit juices and tea and coffee in abundance, with about 5 different cereals ,lots of cold cheeses and meats and brill salamis.
and if you wanted warm food there was bacon hot dog sausages, with baked beans and scrambled eggs, and on two mornings we had a lovely black pudding !! a great selection of fruit salad and also plates of fruit as well, one day i asked for an ommelette i was asked if i wanted onion or cheese or ham which i didnt but i did ask for tomatoe in it , and when it arrived it was heaven cooked to perfection by the female chef with the dark hair. not one complaint was had with the food or service given.
in the hotel foyer is a little bar doubling up as a little cafe ??serving lovely coffee lattes.
3 pints of lager cost 36 zlotys, (12 zlotys a pint )
in the day i was able to ask at reception for a taxi to take me to the main sqaure which cost 15 zlotys each way, across from the hotel is the Galaria Kazmierz shopping mall which was very handy as id forgot tooth paste and also deodrant and a comb, the mall is a very modern place with Adidas and Nike and Timberland shops and a C@A that had some great clothing bargins to be had . and from the mall it was an easy walk to the jewish qaurter .
the staff in the hotel wer amazeing nothing to much trouble for anyone and they all wer always smileing and wer always willing to help.
i also got a taxi from the hotel to the airport which cost 80 zlotys but lucky there wer 3 of us in the taxi so wasnt to expensive.

if the hotel have one fault it was with the bath !! as it was so deep i got rearlly stuck in the bath !!as it didnt have any rails or handles on the edge of the bath to help pull myself up to get out of the bath which as one night i had walked too much and had a lot of back pain wasnt able to get out of the bath which can be scary !! but afer a few attemps i made it !!!!
but i am sure the hotel will want address this problem for other guests with mobility difficulties.

so thnak you galaxy for an amazeing stay and i will be telling people about my wonderfull stay with you and will defo be going back for another lovely restfull stay.

in fact since i have come home two of my freinds are going to krackow and will be staying at your hotel after what i have told them about it !!!!

Room Tip: try ask for a top floor overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggieomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Kierownik at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear maggieomx,
Thank you very much for your complete review. Thank you for mentioning almost every part of our service. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Whenever you decide to go back to Krakow just let us know.
Have a wonderful day.
Best regards,
Paulina Pociask
reservation specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#34 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#10 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Property: Hotel Galaxy
Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing