We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #35 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014



With the emergence of a new hotel (2012 opening) comes an expectation, and this gem didn't disappoint! It's clean and fresh appearance is thoroughly tasteful, even if the decor looked as though it has been borrowed via Easy Jet with a hint of The Premier Inn , but neither of its colour loanees would have a problem staying here, it's simply efficient , pleasant and comfortable.

There are some finer points of this hotel which may help you decide if the hotel would be for you or not, and that is the hotels location. If like me the Old Market Square is your chosen destination for social activity, eating out and generally relaxing then this is possibly not the place for you, it's simply too far a walk for those who don't like a long hike home from the Market Square, to add insult to injury by the time you work out which tram to get home from the Market Square like us your holiday will be over , so think carefully where you want to be based. The hotel is ideal for riverside walks, Schindler factory, Jewish Quarter, Salt Mines and getting to Auchwitz but that's about all, well unless you want to visit the huge modern shopping mall that sits straight across the street, so be mindful of where you will be spending your time and plan accordingly.

As for the hotel rooms they are perfectly adequate, but far too hot, mainly due to the adverse warm weather we had at the time, which was freakish! According to the hotel the heating system was on the winter setting and was not able to be switched off, it's on a timer and automatically turns off at a certain time of the year, so I was told, even the air conditioning couldn't cool us down during the night, so we sweltered, and before you say ' open the window' we did but it was very noisy, which proved one thing, the windows were excellent soundproofing, but the sauna like room was not pleasant, it was the lesser of two evils, heat or noise, we chose the heat! It was a real shame when I requested the heating to be turned off they couldn't due to it, 'needs fixed Galaxy!'not everyone wants roasted.

The rest of the hotel is superb, clean, bright and very attentive staff but what took our surprise was the standard of food they serve, breakfast is typical fruit, yogurt, breads, cooked meats, tea and coffee etc but we had a voucher from the tour company for a dinner or luncheon, we chose lunch and it was superb, served up beautifully and tasted terrific, so don't miss a trick here if you wanted to eat at the hotel, what we had was 5 star.

In summary this hotel will give all you everything you need, it's new so looks the part but the points worth considering are listed above, so think about these before you book. Would I stay here again, yes I definitely would, Krakov is an amazing City and getting around is easy if you don't mind a walk or understand the vast array of trams so any hotel that makes your stay comfortable is worth recommending and the Galaxy is one.

My next reviews will be on the restaurants in and around the city, namely Wesele, Pod Wewelum, Pod Berundom and Starka.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ScottishAL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This my third time in Poland this year,my first choice hotel The Hotel Qubus was fully booked so picked the Galaxy Hotel due to good reviews and similar location.The two hotels named are probably 500m apart and both are located on the river bank.The only bad thing i can say about the hotel is the tram links to town,there is no direct tram to the city from the Galaxy so you have to walk the 500m to the tram line near the Qubus which was,nt a problem.
The prices in the hotel are on the high side,we only bought drinks there,(nothing unusual there) the breakfast was very good,nice selection to please everyone.
The room we had on the sixth floor was what you would expect from a 4* hotel,very limited TV channels but did'nt spend too much time there.
The spa was nice to relax in,any treatments there were pricey so did,nt bother.
One word of caution if you decide to have a quiet drink outside in the lovely seating area on an evening you will be eaten alive by mosquitos,i don't usually get bothered but i got bit to shreads,my wife is in a bad way as i type this review,doctors tomorrow.
Visit Krakow it's fantastic.

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim-on-the-run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent 3 nights there last week. Easy walking distance but trams & taxis are good and cheap. Very comfortable room with lovely walk in shower (if only more hotels in England would install them). Staff spoke good English and nothing was too much trouble. Liked the snack bar with an honesty box for payment.
Breakfast was wide ranging buffet style and changed daily. Lots of choice. Did not get to use the health suite because we packed so much else into the stay. Visiting Auschwich (disturbing but so interesting and helpful to understand the scale of the atrocities) and The Salt Mines are a must however if booking an organised tour be careful. Our trip with Cracow tours was disappointing. The tour operators were not well organised and we spent 1 hour on the coach driving round picking people. If we had known we could have walked to the last pick up point in 15 minutes from our hotel! Our returned was delayed by 45 minutes by missing guests - as a result of the guides poor instructions to everyone. They were so badly organised that we made our own way to the Auschwich. Easy to get a bus from the main bus station.
The main square in Krakow is great to eat & drink in at the many outside cafes and prices are very affordable. The locals were lovely and helpful with most under 30 speaking good English and very willing to help.
Will certainly try to visit Krakow again - we had 3 great days.

Room Tip: All rooms accessed by lift (no obvious stairs). Lifts are security controlled by the room keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well, I was 3 days in February 2014 in this beautiful hotel, I thought I had given my opinion, but I can not find it. My room very good without noise from streets, bathroom super clean and modern, with music! . They have a restoran with bufett breakfast very plenty and tasty. The crew in the hotel quite nice and attentive, you do not need to call anywhere, because in reception it is possible to book the WOW KRAKÓW SERVICE TURIBUS, or excursions to Auschwitz or Salt Mines. Reception, lobby bar and hall are quite close, making it a cozy nice place. There is bankomat, and a comfortable gym available 24 hours. The only pity is that I forgot my bathing suit, in the basement there is a space and lovely pool. For sure, in my next stay in Kraków i will be in this Galaxy Hotel, thanks staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesús Antonio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent 5 days at the Galaxy hotel and can honestly stay it was great value for money. The cost of living in Poland is cheap, however this hotel is good value for money and provided an excellent service. It is quite a walking distance from the square in Krakow but a good base to explore Poland. I would have liked more breakfast options and it was sometimes cold.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rookery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The rom Was Nice, clean and big. The bathrom delikate. The vies from the Windows Was ok. Breakfast Was delicious. Nice walk at the river into town. The personell Was gently and serviceminded. Spa Whith New blankets Very dau.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Krakow for two nights and chose this hotel based on reviews which we never heard of before. It is just next to a modern mall, right across the river and 20-25 minutes walking distance to the old town. The price is very reasonable compared to what this nice hotel offers with full facilities. The breakfast also offers a variety of choices which gets you stuffed and ready for the rest of the day in Krakow. We will stay again in the same hotel without any question when we visit Krakow.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,646 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#45 of 261 in Krakow
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,304 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#41 of 261 in Krakow
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing