We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saga Break”
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Galaxy
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel location about 20-30 min walk from old town. This is a very high tech hotel, some guests had trouble with finding controls for air con etc and the lift operation was very peculiar. Room was clean and well appointed with a good stand alone shower. Reception staff were very good, but some restaurant staff not very friendly (had to wait 10 minutes for one of the dishes to be replenished whilst food on our plates going cold-waitress quite snappy when approached). Plenty of good restaurants in old town - taxis quite inexpensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

It is a very modern hotel , located nearby Kazimerz quarter (Jewish) and the big Kazimierz shopping center. There is a free spa and the staff is friendly and helpful.
If you want to walk downtown if have to count on at least half an hour, although you may walk about 10 minutes and then take the tram (3 PLN each way)
Breakfast is very good!
All in all a worthwhile choice if you like walking.
Good value for money

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

There are the few things making this hotel special:
*location - so close to all attractions of Kazimierz. Next to Vistula River. Just few steps from booming of night life Jewish Quarter and Galeria Kazimierz Shopping Centre
*product - contemporary room design. All areas very clean
*overall wide range of facilities incl. Wellness Centre
*cuisine - great selection on breakfast incl. all Polish specialities. Fresh orange juice. A lot of healthy options.
Lunch - pierogi...This dish was to die for!
*full of life staff!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank adrianandjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights and the staff were helpful, the parking was easy, the breakfast was good and the swimming pool facilities were excellent. I have been to many five star hotels which are not as good as this hotel.
The only negatives are that the room TV didn't have any English channels (not the end of the world) and the reception desk never had any change!
I would recommend checking out the swimming pool as we were disappointed we had not discovered it earlier in our stay!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as apart of a european tour. We loved this hotel. Beautiful modern decor exceptionally clean and very comfortable beds. We were here on a b&b basis and the breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of food.
We ate in the Andromeda restaurant in the evening and the food and service were very very good and reasonably priced too. This was our favourite hotel of the tour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatobealive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

New and nice hotel close to everything. Galeria Kazimierz - one of the biggest shopping malls in Krakow is just 100 meters away. Old judish Kazimierz with lot of good restaurants is a 10 min walking distance. stary Rynek with Sukiennice and Kosciol Mariacki is a 15-20 min walking distance!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peszo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is right by the river so 15 minutes walk from the centre and really well placed to catch the cable car or jump in taxi. There is also a very inexpensive bus that starts is loop outside. It does have a bit of an Eastern block feel about it and doesn't have the rustic charm that come of the other hotels hold but it's good value for money.

The staff are great & very obliging. The rooms are spotless and the air conditioning is good. I was in an exec room on the 5th floor so I had a good view of the river and bridges.

Breakfast is really great. In fact I have stayed in 5 star American resorts that didn't offer as comprehensive choice as the Galaxy. You can even juice your own red grapefruits. It's the simple things that impressed me here. Ice and sparkling water. Fantastic fresh fruit. Hot, cooked everything if you wanted it. Cheese from all over Europe. Loads of different types of bread...the list goes on. Truly fab and I don't eat breakfast.

Dinner was OK. It wasn't exactly gourmet but it was palatable and fresh and the service was excellent. There are typical Polish dishes on the menu in the main and all of room service and bar snacks are very Polish but when in Rome......

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor or above at a premium. I had room 518 right on the corner over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#46 of 261 in Krakow
1,649 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#47 of 261 in Krakow
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#11 of 261 in Krakow
1,307 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#40 of 261 in Krakow
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range: £51 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing