We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Kurka Apartments
Ranked #26 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Top location”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for apartment accommodation close to the Old Square but just far enough away to escape the tourist jam, this is a recommendable choice. We stayed four nights in Apartment C which has one queen-size bed, a well equipped kitchen and a decent bathroom with separate toilet. It was clean and thoughtfully presented (paper towels, toaster, real coffee, excellent wifi, etc.) Be aware that these are not serviced apartments, and there is no reception; the owner(s) will greet you when you arrive and generally communicate by sms or email. There is no landline in the apartment, so you'll need a working mobile. Karl was a most helpful host, even stepping in to help sort out some confusion with a tour company we had booked. He can supply a good list of restaurant choices. We ate at one nearby and had a nice meal, though our favourite Krakow restaurant did not appear on the Red Kurka list (it may in the future!). Also be aware that the three apartments are located in an oldish building within a small compound which is shared with a restaurant (said to be good and which was certainly well patronised) and the unloading area for a small supermarket. Our apartment was tucked away from the street and unaffected by traffic noise, but you will encounter some noise from the other residents. The compound has a gate which is locked at night. Karl or Ewa will warn you about this, and supply a set of keys, but this gate caused us a panic when we left early on a Sunday morning. Having unlocked the gate and later checked to see it was still open, we put together the last of our baggage and did the usual last minute things, including leaving the keys behind as instructed, only to find the gate had been closed and locked again. We got out of the fix, but here's the moral to the story: have someone wait by the open gate to ensure you can get out when you need to! That heart flutter aside, this was a good, reasonably-priced accommodation from which to explore wonderful Krakow.

Room Tip: Apartment C is back away from the street and probably the quietest of the three apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoadLeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
66
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a quirky apartment in an interesting compound that includes a very fine restaurant. It is in a perfect position as it's out of the tourist zone but less than a five minute walk to the square and at the end of the street is the Castle. It sleeps 2 in a separate bedroom, has a well appointed kitchen and washing machine and free Wi-Fi. Karl met us at 7.00 am on a Saturday morning to take our baggage into storage until we could move in.
The apartment is excellent value for money and the booking process painless. I absolutely recommend this apartment.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pears0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, Herts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Red Kurka in apartment C over Easter and cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation. It is in a great location, very clean and well appointed with tea and coffee in the kitchen and mini toiletries in the shower room.

Ewa couldn't do enough to help us and, when we arrived, she took us through a map of the city and also gave us a list of recommended eating places. We were very, very pleased with our apartment and would recommend it to anyone.

The restaurant next door also does excellent food so you know where to go for breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peruvian_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in Red Kurka apartment C for 2 nights in March 2014. The apartment slept 2 people but was pretty spacious and well equipped, including washing machine and water tower! Karl was very accommodating, friendly and helpful- we really appreciated that. The restaurant in the courtyard of the apartments was excellent and we ate there both nights. The apartment is located just outside the old town, only about 8 mins walk from Market Square. The apartments are also very reasonably priced. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Apartment C is on the far side of the courtyard so not near the supermarket, so no problems with noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England UK
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The apartments are well located, the only gripe was the noise and because I have to sleep with the windows open (cold room) the adjacent supermarket loading and unloading was relentless.

Kitchen was a bonus and proved useful on our multiple day trip - visited Krakow many times now as we love the city.

The electric tripped in the middle of the night, the owner was straight around to rectify.

Room Tip: We had apartment A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aash23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for five days in March 2014. Couldn't ask for more, a modern clean, well priced apartment, with quality furnishings, modern fittings and kitchen and bathroom. There were two of us but it would comfortably sleep 5/6. You are two or three minutes max from the main square but the distance makes it a little quieter which is a bonus. The main gate is locked around mid-night but you have a key, its a very friendly city but it's good to know the apartments are secure. There isn't a resident receptionist - but you don't need one anyway. Karl who met us with the keys is very friendly and helpful. There is a excellent supermarket next to the flat and a great restaurant too - what more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed in February 2014 and after a long train ride we got a very nice welcome from Karl who told us about lots of places to eat, things to do and gave us a handy map of the local area. Red Kurka is in a perfect location and the apartments are very homely and comfortable. The washing machine was useful and the kitchen was one that you can actually make a meal in. Also liked the proper double bed not two singles pushed together. We would definitely stay again if in Krakow.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomFoulkes-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Legend Hotel
#12 of 260 in Krakow
156 reviews
Stare Miasto
Mosquito Old Town Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Apartamenty Platinia
Apartamenty Platinia
#8 of 128 in Krakow
99 reviews
Stare Miasto
Grodzka 21 Apartments
Grodzka 21 Apartments
#19 of 433 in Krakow
130 reviews
Crownhill Apartments
#44 of 433 in Krakow
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Kurka Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Kurka Apartments

Property: Red Kurka Apartments
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 5, Krakow 31-046, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 433 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Kurka Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Kurka in Krakow offers three apartments in the very centre of the city, situated in a quiet courtyard of a traditional residential building. It's a few minutes walk from the Main Market Square, the Wawel Castle and the Jewish District, Kazimierz. Apart from the convenient location and comfortable standard, our interiors are beautifully decorated with hand-painted graphics and feature many good examples of 20th century Polish product design placed in a fresh new Red Kurka context. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Kurka Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing