We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience Krakow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Kurka Apartments
Ranked #21 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great way to experience Krakow”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location just a five minute walk to the main square. Apartment was very clean and very modern. The owner Karl was always helpful and speaks perfect English. There was some slight noise from the tram across the street in apartment a, just closed the windows at night and it was fine. Overall a great way to experience Krakow for a few days.

Room Tip: Room A had some noise from the tram. Not bad if you just close the windows, but if it makes a differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
66
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raceland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Thank you to Karl and Eva for being wonderful hosts. We stayed at the apartments A & B with 4 little kids. The apartments are in a great location and Karl was always available whenever we had any question regarding anything. The grocery store is so close, it feels like, its your personal grocery store :-) The kitchens were well stocked. The only request I would make is to PLEASE add a microwave owen. That's the only thing we missed while in Krakow. I highly recommend these apartments to any family visiting Krakow!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinku928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adare
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked Red Kurka after having had five days in Krakow on a second floor apartment.
It was lovely not to have steps to climb.
Carl and Ewa looked after all our needs very well. Storing our luggage until flat was ready.
Gave as great assistance with contacting a friend in Krynica.
The flat had everything for a very comfortable stay in Krakow.
Very good internet.
The Resturant next door had great meals and music on the night we went.
I would highly recommend Red Kurka to anyone going to Krakow

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We rented both apartment A & B and were so pleased that we did. The apartments were roomy and in a great location, near enough to the Old Square to walk in minutes, but far enough away to be peaceful. The apartments are very clean and well thought out and everything was in good order.

Karl and Ewa were a pleasure to deal with and answered all our questions and went out of their way to be helpful, even organising a cake and flowers for us as a birthday surprise for one of our group.

There is a fantastic restaurant next door, with a pretty shaded terrace. You can order breakfast to be served there and it was absolutely lovely, masses of different things and great coffee and fresh fruit.

I would definitely recommend Red Kurka to anyone going to Krakow, in fact, I would definitely recommend Krakow.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise in apartment A as it's nearer the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank number-42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for apartment accommodation close to the Old Square but just far enough away to escape the tourist jam, this is a recommendable choice. We stayed four nights in Apartment C which has one queen-size bed, a well equipped kitchen and a decent bathroom with separate toilet. It was clean and thoughtfully presented (paper towels, toaster, real coffee, excellent wifi, etc.) Be aware that these are not serviced apartments, and there is no reception; the owner(s) will greet you when you arrive and generally communicate by sms or email. There is no landline in the apartment, so you'll need a working mobile. Karl was a most helpful host, even stepping in to help sort out some confusion with a tour company we had booked. He can supply a good list of restaurant choices. We ate at one nearby and had a nice meal, though our favourite Krakow restaurant did not appear on the Red Kurka list (it may in the future!). Also be aware that the three apartments are located in an oldish building within a small compound which is shared with a restaurant (said to be good and which was certainly well patronised) and the unloading area for a small supermarket. Our apartment was tucked away from the street and unaffected by traffic noise, but you will encounter some noise from the other residents. The compound has a gate which is locked at night. Karl or Ewa will warn you about this, and supply a set of keys, but this gate caused us a panic when we left early on a Sunday morning. Having unlocked the gate and later checked to see it was still open, we put together the last of our baggage and did the usual last minute things, including leaving the keys behind as instructed, only to find the gate had been closed and locked again. We got out of the fix, but here's the moral to the story: have someone wait by the open gate to ensure you can get out when you need to! That heart flutter aside, this was a good, reasonably-priced accommodation from which to explore wonderful Krakow.

Room Tip: Apartment C is back away from the street and probably the quietest of the three apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoadLeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a quirky apartment in an interesting compound that includes a very fine restaurant. It is in a perfect position as it's out of the tourist zone but less than a five minute walk to the square and at the end of the street is the Castle. It sleeps 2 in a separate bedroom, has a well appointed kitchen and washing machine and free Wi-Fi. Karl met us at 7.00 am on a Saturday morning to take our baggage into storage until we could move in.
The apartment is excellent value for money and the booking process painless. I absolutely recommend this apartment.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pears0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, Herts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at Red Kurka in apartment C over Easter and cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation. It is in a great location, very clean and well appointed with tea and coffee in the kitchen and mini toiletries in the shower room.

Ewa couldn't do enough to help us and, when we arrived, she took us through a map of the city and also gave us a list of recommended eating places. We were very, very pleased with our apartment and would recommend it to anyone.

The restaurant next door also does excellent food so you know where to go for breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peruvian_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Legend Hotel
#16 of 259 in Krakow
141 reviews
Rezydent Hotel
#66 of 259 in Krakow
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Apartamenty Platinia
Apartamenty Platinia
#6 of 128 in Krakow
98 reviews
Crownhill Apartments
#44 of 424 in Krakow
34 reviews
Stare Miasto
Mosquito Old Town Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Kurka Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Kurka Apartments

Property: Red Kurka Apartments
Address: ul. Sw. Gertrudy 5, Krakow 31-046, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Wesoła Zachód
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Kurka Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Kurka in Krakow offers three apartments in the very centre of the city, situated in a quiet courtyard of a traditional residential building. It's a few minutes walk from the Main Market Square, the Wawel Castle and the Jewish District, Kazimierz. Apart from the convenient location and comfortable standard, our interiors are beautifully decorated with hand-painted graphics and feature many good examples of 20th century Polish product design placed in a fresh new Red Kurka context. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Kurka Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing