We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its now called the Black Duck.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of the rocking horse - CLOSED

the rocking horse
Cuisines: Polish, Central European, European, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Stare Miasto
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Its now called the Black Duck.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We looked high and wide for the Rocking Horse, but to know avail.

Where the Rocking Horse was, was a sign saying Black Duck, so in we went.
The food we had was excellent, good Polish cuisine, we had the Goulash with the fried potato, would definitely recommend. The service was very good even though it got very busy from people arriving from the Hotel which is adjacent to it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
480 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to dine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed three nights at the Wawel Hotel in Krakow. The Rocking Horse is located in the Wawel Hotel. We decided to give it a try and were not disappointed. The staff is very amiable, serviceable and accommodating and the food excellent and affordable. We found the inside of the restaurant very cozy, especially on a cool evening.The Polish menu had many items that we wanted to try, so we ended up coming back for more. Our favorites were the many different pierogis, the duck with cranberry sauce and the stewed cabbage. If you are a hotel guest they offer you a 10% discount off the total bill..what a nice incentive. We really ejoyed our two evening dinners at the lovely, unpretentious Rocking Horse Restaurant. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

we were touted into this restaurant, normally i would ignore these type of things as i cannot stand pushy people, but the guy didn't really give us any hassle just a flyer where he wrote his name to get 10% of the bill so we blew cation to the wind and went in, i'm glad we did as the meals we had ie, polish / continental cuisine were very tasty which were accompanied by some great cocktails, we sat outside in the quaint courtyard which seemed a little weird as it was at the back of a hotel ( you can access the restaurant this way) as well as an entrance just off the side street all in all a nice little place to eat,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarytiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Must admit that service was very good in this restaurant - attentive, friendly waiters, food was ready very fast. But food itself was nothing special to me and my husband. We ordered Zurek in bread, duck, bigos. It was OK, but we did tried much better. But beer with raspberry was very tasty! Inner settings of the restaurant are plain, the toilet is situated in the hotel just behind the door (to wich as far as I understood the restaurant belongs).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent and quiet courtyard restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Well worth hunting out this restaurant - off the main Grodzska street and round a corner. Agree with a previous reviewer that the goulash and potato pancake dish is the one to go for.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim-In-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the rocking horse also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing