We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be mindful when choosing to stay here and what type of room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pink Panther's Hostel
Ranked #27 of 408 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Be mindful when choosing to stay here and what type of room”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My experience with hostels is rather limited, so I will try to be as objective as I can in my description. We stayed for 5 days and we had a double room, so we did not have to share with strangers.

Location: excellent - next to the main square and within walking distance to the main train station - if you have just a backpack (great when the train from the airport is actually working). We arrived on a rainy day, had a map but never been to the city and my friend had a travel hand-bag in addition to her back pack - by the time we made it to the hostel she regretted not taking a taxi.

Room: very simple, but clean. One wardrobe - enough for two people travelling just with hand-luggage. The main down-side is that the walls are very thin and you can hear everything going on in the neighbouring rooms - it is up to your luck if you have noisy or quiet neighbours.

Service: check-in was quick, paid by card, left luggage in storage and went for lunch in order to wait for the time when we could get the room. The restaurant below the hostel, recommended by the staff was ok - good food, friendly staff and reasonably priced (can't remember the name of the place, but I remember I could connect to the wifi of the hostel from it). On the downside, we notified in the first day that there was a burned light bulb in the room, and one in the common bathroom, and five days later the situation did not changed. Reception staff was generally friendly, but not always knowledgeable about public transport (staff changed often, I don't think we have seen the same person twice during our stay).

Breakfast: is very light (no meat, no cheese, no juice) - just jams and chocolate spread, coffee or black tea. And maybe milk (not sure).

It rained heavily during couple days and while it was not raining inside our room (don't know about other rooms), it was raining on the staircase. It is an old building, and while the rooms and bathrooms have been refitted, some parts of the building seem to still need serious work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_the_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    83
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
26
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I had a great experience staying here! The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean but a bit crowded. You can walk to the main touristic attractions from here. Bars and restaurants are also within walking distance. If you are looking for a big breakfast, I recommend that you go to a restaurant or buy street food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for a stag weekend. Fairy average as far as hostels go, and as far as I can remember! Situated at the main square, where the bars and restaurants are, so couldn't really beat that. Staff and guests were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The staff here were quite friendly but when some of our clothes were stolen from our room one night they did not seem to care. We were all in a 6 bed dorm at the time and someone just walked in and helped themselves to our shoes jackets etc while we slept! Perhaps partially our own fault for keeping some of our stuff outside our lockers, but still worrying. The room doors do not auto-lock when closed so people can walk in and out as they please.

The hostel is in a really good location and would be ideal if you want to stay up drinking all night - and the staff may join you rather than stopping you! The facilities are good and are kept clean at all times.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights just last week. The hostel is really well located just off the main square. It is easy to reach from the train station and the hostel has provided easy to follow instructions on how to find it.

The twin room was basic, two single beds and a table and the hostel itself was quite basic. The breakfast was toast and jam or corn flakes. It was well priced though and really all we needed for a few nights stay.

On the first night we slept really well. On the second night though there were some incredibly loud travellers in the common room which was right next to our room. Of course this can happen from time to time at hostels, and usually it's not too bad because everyone is quite respectful and the hostel staff monitor the noise. On this night though nobody came to tell them to quieten down and we were still awake at about 4am. The next day the reception staff apologised and gave us a full refund for the night. I really appreciated that. There's nothing worse than being in a beautiful city and feeling like you didn't get a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms close to the common area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hostel is decorated in quite a cool way: The dining area and lounge are cozy and encourage mingling. I met a lot of cool people here. The showers are clean and the staff are friendly enough. The showers however often became cold if other people used them before you, and the hostel is very nosiy. This is a good party hostel. They have themed nights i.e. vodka tasting, chocolate fountain nights etc which is a really great touch. The location of this hostel is amazing, right in the centre, and there is a lot of information about booking tours and sights to see.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty noisy, unfortunately. Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picapicamagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was at Pink Panther's for 5 nights at the beginning of my backpacking trip through Central Europe. Having never backpacked before I was still getting used to staying in hostels. The staff were very friendly, accommodating and had a large interest in us travelers and our individual journeys. They had very useful information about Krakow and planned events that helped everyone get to know each other. The highlight would have to have been the Karaoke night (Sat.) where afterwards the staff took us out on the town. This place is not to be missed.

-Derek

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kleparz
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
Mosquito Hostel Krakow
#3 of 408 in Krakow
682 reviews
Stare Miasto
Greg & Tom Beer House Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Flamingo Hostel
Flamingo Hostel
#59 of 408 in Krakow
353 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracow Hostel
Cracow Hostel
#42 of 408 in Krakow
158 reviews
Greg & Tom Party Hostel
#12 of 408 in Krakow
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Panther's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Panther's Hostel

Property: Pink Panther's Hostel
Address: 2nd Floor Ul. Sw. Tomasza 8, Krakow 31-014, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 408 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pink Panther's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the Old Town, Only a minute walk to the picturesque main square allowing you to truly experience the atmosphere of Krakow.Short Walk fro train station and easy to find.Laid back hostel with a party atmosphere, friendly staff and quirky interior. The common room with kitchen is a perfect area to chill and meet like-minded travellers. Free breakfast provided every morning, tea and coffee all day and free Wi-fi. Every night our staff put on a free activity and will join you in clubs so to enable you to experience true Krakow nightlife. Staff will also help plan sightseeing, eating out, booking tickets and advice on off-the-beaten-path excursions. There is a 24 hour reception desk.Pink Panther’s Hostel daily events:Sunday: Polish vodka tasting!Monday: Spaghetti DinnerTuesday: Wine eveningWednesday: Pischinger wafflesThursday: Russian Champagne EveningFriday: Spaghetti DinnerSaturday: Zurek- Traditional Polish sour soup afternoonPink Panther’s Hostel has 5 rooms (from twin rooms to a ten bed dorms), 3 bathrooms and equipped kitchen for all guests. We also have one lounge area where you can relax or just chat with the other guests. Pink Panther’s Hostel has 5 rooms (from twin rooms to a ten bed dorms), 3 bathrooms and equipped kitchen for all guests. We also have one lounge area where you can relax or just chat with the other guests.Pink Panther’s has got perfect location from where one can reach every important place in Krakow on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pink Panther's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing