We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice apartment, but noise and odor a problem” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbican House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barbican House Apartments
Ranked #59 of 405 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Marquette
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, but noise and odor a problem”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked Barbican House 3, a studio apartment with 3 twin beds. The apartment was clean, modern, spacious and well-equipped (stove top, oven , dishwasher, toaster, microwave, fridge, the beds and bedding were very comfortable. Located in the center of old town.
When we arrived, there was an overwhelming odor of sewer gas coming from the bathroom. The initial response was to bring in air fresheners, keep the bathroom door closed, and hold your breath when we needed to use that room. Finally, on the third day ( no other apartments were available), a plumber was brought in and solved whatever the underlying problem was. Why not at the time of the first report?
Also, the apartment is not air conditioned, so the only way to cool the temperature is to open the window. However, the apartment overlooks a very busy street and the drunks party until 4am on weekdays, and 6am on Friday and Saturday nights.

Room Tip: Book a room that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toivoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Excellent central location----restaurants, pubs, town square and many other attraction all within short walking distance. All things advertised were present. Clean and very helpful staff. Nice amenity to have pub and restaurant downstairs. Reasonably quiet though even on a heavily traveled pedestrian street. Only beware is that apartments are on the 2-3-4th floors and there is not a lift. Not an insurmountable issue or a overly hard climb, but some might request rooms on floor 2 to negate this some.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallywhitcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Barbican House apartments, located on Florianska street, in the heart of the Krakow CBD are the perfect location for a short or long term stay in this historic and beautiful Eastern European city. The service provided by the friendly staff is of the highest quality and helps make your stay all that more enjoyable. Location wise you couldn't ask for more, with all the major city attractions within walking distance, and taxi ranks and public transport stops are only a short distance away if required too. As someone that's travelled extensively all over the world, I can honestly say that the service and value for money I experienced whilst staying at Barbican house apartments in Krakow was second to none, and made my stay extremely comfortable with everything I needed at my fingertips. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in the heart of Krakow whilst there for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very central, close to everywhere we needed to be, including transport links to the airport. Apartment really clean and spacious, kitchen area was well stocked with fully working appliances, bed very comfy. Staff were really friendly. We had a wonderful time in Krakow and staying here only made it better. We shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The location of the Barbican House Apartments on Florianska Street could not be better. It is close to everything you need (restaurants, shops, tours, museums). Keys are usually collected from the Venetian Apartment office, at number eleven, Rynek. The office can be found straight down the road, past The Church of The Virgin Mary with the two uneven towers (the walking tour guides meet here). The entrance is on the left at the end of the Market Square. If you don’t want to risk booking your own airport transfer (40 zlotys) the staff there can book it for you at 70 zlotys each way.

We had apartment 6 (quieter and at the back of the building but nearly at the top). We could hear the bugle call from the church tower every morning, which I rather liked. It was not too loud and it is part of Krakow’s tradition. Take earplugs if you are sensitive to noise or want a lie in. There is no lift, so walking up the stairs will offset those delicious Polish meals (e.g. in Szpitalna Street behind the apartment U Babci Maliny’s delicate, clear beetroot soup, followed by elk with bison grass potatoes and hot poached pear with raspberry sauce). Zapiekanki (half baguettes slightly grilled with various toppings), sesame coated pretzel rolls and brown smoked cheese from the Tatra Mountains can be bought practically outside the door. There are enough fast food outlets on Florianska to satisfy all tastes. Alternatively, have a look at the gourmet restaurants on Trip Advisor.

For minibus or coach tours there is a booking office at the top of the road on the left, just before the arch. Cracow City Tours (do not confuse with the more expensive Cracow Tours) currently offer 10 zlotys discount per person per tour if you show them an orange Free Walking Tour map, 2013. Discounts vary from year to year and only apply to their own tours. Tours set out from 2 Matejki Square behind the Barbican, about seven minutes walk away, avoiding time wasted on hotel pick-ups and keeping costs down.

There is a small supermarket (top of Florianska, turn right before the arch and it is about half way down the street). Try the farmers market, Stary Kleparz (behind the Barbican, cross the road to Matejki Square and turn first left). Alternatively, turn right at the end of Matejki for the big Carrefour Supermarket in Galleria near the main railway station. Everything is in easy walking distance.

The apartment is serviced, so linen and towels are changed and toiletries (soap and shampoo) are replaced regularly for those staying more than a couple of days. There is even a vase for that romantic red rose or flowers bought in the market square. The cafetiere for coffee was particularly welcome. We tuned the television to the radio channel for music and the free wifi was useful for emails and texts.

The modern art on the plain walls is cheerful (think Mark Rothko in a good mood). We hope that you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are at the back, overlooking the small restaurant garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank explorers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Value for money, location superb, less than 100 meters from main square.
Very clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful, although they are located in reception at far side of square.
Really enjoyed this apartment which was suitable for our needs, 2 adults and two children aged 18 and 20.
Great WIFI and on first floor with a view of the street below.
Only downside was street was noisy at night but after a days sightseeing and a few vodkas we all slept well.
Would stay here again

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose apartment at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The apartment was just as pictured, free wi-fi and a simply fantastic location in the middle of everything. The staff could not be more helpful, organising airport transfers, letting us store luggage out of hours, and being all-around nice people. This matters a lot! The only downsides were that we found the beds a bit uncomfortable and the linens were a bit scratchy. Also, we were in apartment #5 which faces Florianska street and there was a bit of street noise at night, but we got over it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the interior and not Florianska Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#67 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Mikolaj Hotel
#116 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Stare Miasto
Too-Good Apartments
Too-Good Apartments
#20 of 405 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
P & J Apartments
P & J Apartments
#36 of 405 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Stare Miasto
Old Town Apartments
Old Town Apartments
#54 of 405 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House Apartments

Property: Barbican House Apartments
Address: ul. Florianska 21, Krakow 31-019, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 405 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbican House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barbican House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing