We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location..but noisy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbican House Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barbican House Apartments
Ranked #61 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location..but noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Barbican apartments are spotlessly clean. The bathroom was lovely and I haven't had a power shower like that in a long time! The location could not be better, a 2 minute stroll to the square, about five minutes to the train/bus station and the Galeria shopping centre. As others have mentioned if you are staying at in a front apartment it is quite loud at night. This wasn't an issue for me as I always wear ear-plugs, and we were out ourselves most evenings, however if you were a light sleeper an apartment at the front would be a disaster. The beds were super comfy and the kitchenette well stocked. The staff were very friendly and arrived promptly to see us to the apartments when we arrived in Krakow. I would return again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or will not be out late yourself request a room at the back of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Krakow is a lovely city. Highly recommend. Apartment was clean and comfortable with everything you need for a few days stay. Staff extremely helpful. The location is on one of the main streets in Krakow close to the main square. However it is very noisy at night and into early morning - even with the windows closed.This is due to nightclubs close by. Therefore if you like your zzzzz !!! do not stay in one of the front apartments. They do warn you about this on their website , so I can`t really complain. Their is also a very good restaurant directly below the apartments and noise does travel up into the rooms. I would not stay here again due to the noise. So just to warn you that when they say it is noisy, it is exactly that.

Room Tip: Rooms on front are very very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Always weary about apartments, you know the score, all pretty pictures, all the talk about a great location etc. etc.

Well in this case it was TRUE!

The communication before hand was well handled, everything was explained so it did ease the worry a little bit. Booked the Taxi with the apartments to pick us up at the airport, great move.

Taxi driver waiting for us, loaded the bags and off we went into Krakow. Driver was English speaking and pointed out various landmarks along the route..always a great start.

We were dropped off at the apartment and the Restaurant Staff phoned the apartment people who promptly turned up to complete all the paperwork.

Now to the apartment, we were travelling with friends and had booked two apartments, they chose the front which meant that we were had the rear apartment. Both were comfortable and very clean.

They are truly located in a great location, 100m from the 'Square', with ;lots of Restaurants around the bustling Florianska Street.

We didn't make use of the kitchen area - Hey we're on holiday which means we don't cook!!

For those wanting to however, there are plenty of utensils.

Although the weather wasn't that bad, the apartment was always at a pleasant temperature.

The shower was hot and powerful.

We are going back again this year but without the trepidation of not knowing what we are going to. All in all I can highly recommend the Barbican Apartments, choose these and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Although Florianska Street has very little in the way of vehicular traffic, it is quite a bustling p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai - India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location of this place was just perfect - few meters from the main square and on the bustling Florianska street. The apartment is very neat, clean and spacious. Would be perfect whether you are looking for a place for one night or a longer stay since the kitchenette was completely stocked with vessels, has a fridge, etc. My stay was very comfortable and what I should give them 5 stars for was the convenience. There is no reception for the hotel itself but the office is only less than 5 minutes away from here. I arrived before check-in time and I could leave my bags there, freshen up and collected my bags later in the day. The same at check-out as my flight was only later in the evening. So it has the conveniences of a hotel and an apartment all in one.

It is located on a busy street so Friday and Saturday nights can be a bit noisy if the room is on the street side but I had no issues with this as its occasional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Lovely apartments here in Krakow, very central to main square, train and bus station. Laundry facilities available free of charge.
Friendly and helpful staff, emails prior to arrival to ensure we knew where we were going and how to get to Krakow main square from the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We booked the airport transfer through Barbican House, who was there to meet us straight away and then walked us directly to the door. From there, another friendly person showed us to our room and explained everything. We stayed in Apartment 1, right at the top of the stairs. The apartment was clean, modern and pretty well equipped.

The location is awesome, being right next to the Market Square. Of course, this means you might get a bit of noise, but closing the windows easily solves this problem.

You have to walk through a restaurant to get to the apartments, but with the key, you can come and go as you please. The restaurant staff were very friendly, pointing out places on a map. We even had some really nice food there (steak wrapped in bacon!).

Overall I'd recommend Barbican House to anyone, it is excellent value for what you get.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barbican House. We were lucky to stay in apartment 4, one of the back ones, so noise was not a problem at all. Apartment was really clean and had everything you would need for a short stay. Location was fantastic, right near the centre square. Service was great, and when our tv was not working, a friendly staff member came to help us and fixed the problem. Would absolutely recommend!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#67 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Mikolaj Hotel
#117 of 256 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Stare Miasto
Too-Good Apartments
Too-Good Apartments
#20 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
P & J Apartments
P & J Apartments
#37 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Stare Miasto
Old Town Apartments
Old Town Apartments
#58 of 403 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican House Apartments

Property: Barbican House Apartments
Address: ul. Florianska 21, Krakow 31-019, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 403 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbican House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Barbican House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing