We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gospoda Koko

Gospoda Koko
Ranked #100 of 1,460 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simply Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel we are staying recommended this spot when I asked for something that is good honest polish food without the prices of the square.

The restaurant actually has three dining areas, the one at street level, one in behind, and the basement. We sat at street level and it was small and cozy.

There is virtually no service as you order at the bar. Your meal is delivered to your table. It is amazingly cheap. Dinner for four of us came to a whopping $25. We has perogies, cabbage rolls, cucumber soup, ribs, pork cutlets, salads, served with fries. The food was hot, fresh, flavorful and plenty of it!

So...when you get tired of paying inflated prices for food in the square take the short block and a half walk....it is well worth the and effort!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lsteven_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    246
    66
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Right in the centre, down some somewhat random staircase, you will get some really good Polish food. My huge portioned main course cost around £3!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food and really cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

4 blokes, 2 courses each that were all great and a pint of local lager each cost £10! Quite difficult to find ask the locals!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Honest Food But Gloomy Faced Staff !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was an interesting place and as we say in UK was the Marmite you either love it or hate it and this why;
This lovely lovely girl in the Tourist Information office on the "underpass" coming from the bus station into the Market Square ( sorry I forgot her name ) recommended this resaurant among the others. As she is a student in Uni and frequent diner there was no surprise to see the majority of the customers being as such ,which I loved. It is a self service kind of arrangement as you choose the food pay at the counter to the most uninterested girl ( the male one on another evening was nicer in my case!) an point at the direction you sit to eat and that is that end of the service oh just minus arrival at food by a "robot"! There is an English version of the menu on offer perhaps with less choice? Not sure about the latter though. There are as I understood several part to this organisation which all in all in cafe resaurant bar all rolled in one alas in different sections!! Confused ?! Don't be just drop in and try it nothing to regret the Polish dishes are nice but not amazing but certainly good value particularly if one is in a hurry and lucky enough to hit the right time and the seat and you won't be out of pocket either !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardesh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rude unhelpful staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Food was good, but menu was in polish....good job a gentleman eating there helped us to understand it,otherwise we wouldn't have been able to order.Staff just looked at us with scowls on their faces....we ate and ran....shame when food was so tasty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pammowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gospoda Koko also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Gospoda Koko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing