We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value but hard to find”
Review of Novum House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum House
Ranked #6 of 127 Krakow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value but hard to find”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Good central location, walk to old part of the city,
Good value for money 2 bedroom converted apartment in an old building.
Very difficult parking and drop off for luggage, but woke early and moved the
car to the front of the building, 2nd floor apartment no lifts.
Rooms are nice spotlessly clean very comfortable for a short stay, found a great
restaurant close buy.
Shame about the floating timber floor in the apartment any movement it creaks,
going to the toilet let's everyone know someone is up.
But good for a short stay because of price, cleanliness and location

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    43
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
79
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, England
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a very pleasant four night stay at the Novum House for a recent conference. The location is ideal for the town centre but also for tram stops for longer excursions.
The hotel staff were very helpful indeed and provided a great early breakfast each morning.
The kitchen facilities were perfectly adequate (tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, 2-ring hob, cutlery/crockery) and the toilet/shower/sink were very clean with good water pressure and nice toiletries. Wifi was more than good enough for email but streaming video didn't always work perfectly. A remote controlled air conditioning system easily kept things cool in the hot summer nights.
There are a couple of flights of steps up from street level to reach the apartments so this is not ideal for anyone with mobility issues but otherwise not a problem. Quite nice to work off some of the great value Polish food from the nearby restaurants.
Others have mentioned noise from the trams and whilst this is indeed audible, I wouldn't have thought this would be a problem for anyone used to staying in urban hotels in equivalent large cities.
Thanks very much to Novum House for a nice time in Krakow. I hope I have the opportunity to stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreed_trl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I stayed here for six nights and it was just ok. Admittedly, it is very good value but every morning we were woken up by the morning sun which shone through the inadequate curtains. Equally, the noise (and vibrations) of the trams going by outside kept us awake in the mornings. Obviously they can't help that but it detracts from the experience. The floor boards were a big problem too. Every time the people moved next door the floors in our room creaked loudly. A sound night's sleep was never had. Our room was next to reception so we had noise from there aswell. The staff were nice but seemed awkward at times, making us uncomfortable. The building has many floors and Novum is situated up three large flights of stairs which are tiring to climb so don't go here if you have leg or back difficulties- no elevator. I don't know if it's my fault for not checking but the impression I had was that the room would have a kitchen but ours didn't. Pictures on the site showed kitchens and thr name 'apartments' would suggest this, also. Not even a mini fridge so don't look forward to cold drinks after a hot day. Other than these points, the location is great, the rooms are very modern, the breakfasts are good value and the bathrooms are high-spec and very well kept. Maybe an english channel on the tv would be good too, like BBC World News but I realise that might not be easy. So overall, not bad, but wouldn't be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RickyThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafał F, General Manager at Novum House, responded to this review, 12 February 2015
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your opinion and suggestions. It is extremely nice to know that you like modern look of our rooms, comfort of the bathroom and that you were satisfy with the excellent location of Novum House. Central location not only means that you can reach Main Square easily in 3 minutes’ walk, but also is connected with proximity of municipal facilities.
Realizing that tram noise can be a problem, we had instaled soundproofing windows in order to mute the outside sounds. However, we are very sorry, that it disturbed you.
Thanks to modern (mechanical) ventilation in every room, there is no need to open the window. Fresh air can easily enter the room, being filtered by special filters. That is why air inside is much cleaner than outside.

Because of the historical background of our building, we weren’t able to change its structure by installing the elevator jet, although we are constantly trying to change this and receive a permission to make some changes, so it would be more comfortable. Guests are always welcome to ask for help with the luggage after arrival and our staff is willing to help.
The same thing affect antique floor boards, which some of our Guests find charming and unusual.
Staff at Novum House is more than happy to help with every problem Guests have during stay in our place, so they try to stay alert. Please, accept our apologize if our attitude was a little bit too much for you. People, who works in our place are trained to provide professional guest service.
Furthermore, I’d like to explain deal with the kitchen. As we are small and cozy object, we have rooms with no kitchen and also, for more demanding Guests, specious apartments with kitchen. Except that we have full-equipped common kitchen, which Guests can share. Since our hotel is rather small, it is never crowded, even in the shared fridge. Pictures on our website are reflection of the reality. It is important to look and read carefully and pay attention what kind of room they are illustrating, in order not to feel disappointed after arrival.

It is also worth of mentioning, that whole concept of our place is based on coziness, comfort and privacy. Interiors, furniture, even color on the wall have been chosen really carefully to create relaxing atmosphere. A place, where guest can rest and de-stress.

We are glad that you came to our place and nevertheless we hope to see you next time.
We will host you with great pleasure, and if you prefer more space, your own kitchen and a quiet garden view we recommend one-bedroom apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviles, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Great location, great room, great treatment.
The location is perfect because you can get in the main square in 2 minutes.
Easy to find a free space in the streets around the building.
If I come back to Kraków, I'll repeat in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RHC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stopped for one night here on our way to Czech. Comfortable beds, amazing shower, air con and very friendly staff (they even gave my boyfriend a free hanger to transport his suit!). Great value for money and fantastic location. A must!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms itself were very nice - a lot of space and amenities. Only complaint there is the lack of adequate curtains as a lot of light came in early AM and we could not prevent it. However the staff was rude to us on every interaction. There was even some bill shadyness - when we questioned its validity they were very mean and started to yell at us like we were children. Not fun to deal with them but if you can look past that - you may enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafał F, Dyrektor generalny at Novum House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in Novum House Krakow.
Thank you for the positive feedback about our room. We are glad that you like the space of the room and the amenities where suitable for you. I am happy that you appreciated the additional values of the stay, which are the key features of our concept.
We will certainly take your valuable comments into consideration especially as we have a new employees which were in a training process. Providing excellent service to our guest is what we are aiming for.
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. We will take steps to make sure that similar situations will not take place in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Everything was like a dream :) The best accomodation in Cracov ! Good prices and delicious breakfast ! You must taste it ! Comfortable beds and clean rooms ! Helpful manager, talkative person.
For sure I will come back there in 2014....

Room Tip: bargain with manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Betmanowska Main Square Residence
Stare Miasto
Tango House Bed & Breakfast
Stare Miasto
Globtroter Guest House
Globtroter Guest House
#3 of 127 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum House

Property: Novum House
Address: ul. Floriana Straszewskiego 24, Krakow 31-113, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are offering a unique and valuable not only a accommodations but also a service. Novum House is not for everybody. It is for persons who care about a design and high standard of service. Novum House is located in Krakow's Old Town, only 300 meters from the Main Market Square. It offers the elegant accommodation with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV with cable channels. All air-conditioned rooms and apartments at the Novum House are decorated in a modern style and featured by light-coloured furniture. The bathroom provided in every room comes with a hairdryer and free toiletries. Some apartments have a well-equipped kitchenette where Guests may prepare their meals. The popular district of Kazimierz is 1.3 Km away and Krakow Glowny Train Station and Galeria Krakowska Shopping Mall are 1.4 Km from Novum House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Novum House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing