We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place were you want to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crystal Suites chez Helena
Ranked #8 of 422 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the place were you want to be”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A really beautiful apartment right in the middle of the Kazimierz district; the place were you want to be! We found this place good value with friendly staff. Don't hesitate to book this apartment; you will love it!
One little drawback: the next door's (optional) breakfast was rubbish, especially the dough shaped as a croissant ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
78
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I spent 2 nights in June in Krakow in Crystal Suites chez Helena in Jewish Quarter. The apartments are located in heart of the jewish quarter so we had opportunity to walk around the quarter and tried Jewish meal in near restaurant, in addition, its about 15-20 minutes by walk to the castle and to main square. The staff was very kind and helpful, speaking perfectly English, ready to explain and give the recommendation about things to do in Krakow. The apartment was bright, mixed with modern and old-fashioned furniture with own kitchen with coffee and tea. Unfortunately, In the upper apartment, we heard noise probably from air-condition from behind the wall, so if a person has a sleep problem it may be disturbing. Crystal Suites chez Helena also does not have own parking lot, so in case you travel by car, you are supposed to pay for parking in front of hotel or 200 m in parking lot. The price for parking for all day is around 37 PLN, so its not that much. Overall we had a great stay in Crystal Suites chez Helena and I really recommend this hotel/apartments. In addition, famous cosmetics entrepreneur Helena Rubinstein was born in that house.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lujza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As many reviews have outlined already, these apartments are in a small square in the old Jewish, Kazimierz, district of the city, about 15 minutes casual walk from the main square. Fifteen years ago or so this was a very run down part of town which would have been avoided by most Cracovians; since, it has been, and continues to be, re-vitalised with a lot of investment going in there. Like a lot of Krakow city centre, property prices are rising, bars and restaurants are opening and the locals are moving out. There is a restaurant/bar directly next door to the apartments, with its outdoor seating area spilling out onto the square. That said, we did not find that this intruded on our stay; there was some street noise but nothing to get annoyed by, and the place seemed to be more or less finished by11pm. It may be different in the very peak season, but at any rate the police station across the road may be helping in this regard. The apartments themselves are clean, spacious and well kitted out. The staff were kind enough to wait for us when we arrived late at about 10pm, and were helpful throughout our 4 night stay. There is a good "all you can eat" buffet breakfast at the Rubenstain a couple of doors up from 7am and at 40PLN per person, is more than you will pay elsewhere in Krakow, but is very convenient if you want to make an early start to the day. By contrast, if you are tired of walking at the end of your day, Tram #24 will take you from close to the main square for a few Zloty and drop you at the Kefirek supermarket 50m from the apartments.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wittenheim, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My family and I spent overall 4 nights over the Easter break at Crystal Suites chez Helena. We had booked a taxi from the website, who picked us up at the airport. On the way to the appartment the driver started to give us some advices on what to do, what to visit and how to do it, in a very friendly way and we could feel his pride of being a "child of Krakow", this was everything but fake. After a 20 minutes drive, we arrived at the appartment, which is located in the very heart of the jewish quarter, just 100 m from the wonderful oldest synagogue. We are not especially interested in religious matters, however I must say that this quarter has a very special "atmosphere", a kind of spirit which you can feel even as a simple visitor. We were welcome at the appartment by a very - really very - kind and professional staff (Hi Magda !), in a perfect english, and we were explained how to use the kitchen, the SAT TV, the Wifi connection etc, so that we could already feel (almost) like at home. Only my two daughters (14 and 17) said the sofa (which could be transformed into a double-bed) was not that comfortable, while my wife and I could enjoy a comfortable (true) bed. The appartment is surrounded by four to five I must say good to very good restaurants (most of them jewish of course), and plenty of others (traditional polish, italian, etc) restaurants are located in the surrounding streets. The beauty of the appartment is that it is located just in the heart of the city, at the (almost) same walking distance (15-20 minutes) from the "Schindler" area (basically the quarter where the scars of WWII are still either visible or noticeable, at least from a spiritual or emotional point of view) and the old town/castle, which is definitely a lovely quarter, very touristic even though not too crowded. We found the appartment itself simple but very well equipped for those who want to stay and have lunch or dinner in the appartment (Hifi/Wifi/TV/SAT, kitchenware, microwave, dishwasher, etc), even if we had a "difficult" night due to some "noisy" and happy guests in the adjoining restaurant (downstair), who most probably enjoyed a little bit too much the very good "Zyviecz" beer, haha! The staff was available from 9am to 9pm and could always answer our questions or help.
Overall, we had a very nice stay and we would definitely recommend the Crystal Suites chez Helena to anyone !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Perfect location across the street from the Rema's synagogue, plenty of room for the 2 of us adults and our 2 kids; airy, bright and newly refurbished, plus a great, new kitchenette and an old-fashioned, non-electronic key to come and go. Super friendly and helpful reception folks.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, but the building isn't very high, just a few floors. We stayed at the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I spent 5 nights at Crystal Suites Chez Helena with my father whilst on a trip to Krakow from 25th March 2014.

Firstly, very easy to find following the directions from their direct website (with only a small blip at the very last part where it tells u to turn left when u get off the tram, should be right onto Miodowa St as u get off the tram and then take the steps immediately on ur left). The total journey is only 4pln from the airport (zone 2 ticket) and takes around 1 hour (bus 208/292 then the tram from glowny tunel - take the escalator down on the far left.

The apartment is situated in a lovely square full of restaurants/cafes in the heart of the jewish quarter. The decor on entering the hallway is fantastic, very tasteful!

Our apartment was on the 1st floor, overlooking the square. Again, excellent decor throughout the apartment with a small but functional and equipped kitchen (microwave, kettle, coffee filter machine, hob), and a large clean bathroom. There's a comfy sofa (that also doubles as a sofa bed), small dining table, rocking chair, satellite TV (only news channels in English). 2 beds in bedroom, towels and soap/body wash provided. We didn't hear any noise from the restaurants, though it was a relatively quiet time of year. Heating system kept us nice and warm!

It's only a 10 minute walk into the main center from the apartment so it's excellently placed. There's several small supermarkets within walking distance.

All the staff were exceptional - very friendly, approachable and willing to help. They were very helpful with tram/bus times when we were researching trips to Auschwitz/the salt mines even printing them out for us. We did all trips independently and the public transport was excellent. Overall we saved about 50PLN each, on each trip.

One of the staff suggested 3 restaurants to us, of which we ate at 2, and both were exceptional! Wesele is a must restaurant to visit, food was excellent - its located on the bottom right of the main square as you look at the map (it's on google maps - Wesele, Rynek Główny 10). The other was Pod Wawelem, opposite the castle, a different atmosphere and quite bustling on Saturday night, and ENORMOUS portions! i recommend the flaming shish kebab! (google maps Pod wawelem, św. Gertrudy 26).

My only critique overall would be that we were there 6 days/5 nights and could have done with the towels changing after a couple of days.

Overall, excellent accommodation, brilliant staff, and an excellent trip! I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a gem of a place. Placed in the heart of the Jewish quarter surrounded by cosy bars and restaurants, the location was just what we wanted. The accommodation is quiet, stylish and spotlessly clean and lots of thoughtful details have been put into ensuring the comfort of guests. The people who worked on reception were polite, friendly and very, very helpful. We paid £150 for two people for 3 nights and can't believe that accommodation of this standard in this location is available for a price like that. Just perfect. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMNUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Stradonia Serviced Apartments
Kazimierz
Hotel Rubinstein
Hotel Rubinstein
#76 of 259 in Krakow
402 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#46 of 259 in Krakow
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
980 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,266 reviews
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#30 of 259 in Krakow
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Suites chez Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Suites chez Helena

Property: Crystal Suites chez Helena
Address: ul. Szeroka 14, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 422 Speciality Lodging in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Suites chez Helena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying in the heart of Kazimierz, in Szeroka St, Crystal Suites blends bright interiors and individually commissioned furnishings, fabrics and artwork with modern comfort and period detail. Each of the six individually appointed apartments is named after a Rubinstein sister. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Suites chez Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing