We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i loved it!!!”
Review of Hotel Francuski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Francuski
Ranked #31 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“i loved it!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

where to begin? hotel francuski is in a perfect spot only a couple of minutes away from the old town square. It has an air of genteel shabby chic about it. i found it totally charming and quirky, so much nicer than a souless modern hotel. The staff were all lovely and very proffesional ,myself and my daughter stayed in a suite consisting of a huge bedroom ,lounge area and the most amazing bathroom we didnt expect this so it was a nice surprise, the rooms look like something from the set of a poirot mystery but had any modern convenience necessary. the dining room has bare plaster walls ,bone china plates and discrete jazz type music. i was enamoured by the romance of it, will definately return .

Room Tip: room 310 at the back of hotel so no noise, fantastic deep bath
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tina141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    233
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
80
309
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I disagreed on the assessment of this hotel. I thought it charming and delightful, while he thought its best days were years ago and in need of updating. I guess we are both right in many ways. I love the Old World ambience, but have to admit, AC would have been appreciated. He was disappointed that wash cloths were not provided, so if you use them, bring from home! Be sure to say hi to Agnes, probably the friendliest and most accommodating of anyone we encountered in Poland. The included breakfast was plentiful and very good. Service was excellent. We had a great room with balcony overlooking the church across the street. We took tours to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines through Agnes and were so pleased! Cost was minimal and the tours were well organized and informative. In all, a great experience, but remember, it truly is "old world"!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 59chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is showing its age a bit but has good character and is clean and well maintained. Location is perfect for walking access to the old town centre and also the railway station and modern Galleria shopping centre. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. I will recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Hotel Francuski, St. Pijarska 13 is a very interesting place to hang your hat in Krakow. It’s in a great location, near the Planty, the delightful park that rings the heart of Krakow and only three blocks from the central Market Square. It dates from the early 20th century, when it must have been the best place in town. Good breakfast, nice little bar in the lobby. Friendly staff. Spectacular grand stair in the middle of the lobby.

My room had more gold fittings in the bathroom than I’ve ever seen in one place. Good beds. Some friends stayed in rooms not fronting on the street which they like for the quiet. I liked being on the street. Coffee maker, mini bar etc. If I’m ever back in Krakow I’ll stay at the Francuski again.

Room Tip: Room #205 had a sitting room and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaMaisonGrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Hotel Francuski in Krakow. The hotel is quite old, but has a lot of charm and character. The rooms are very spacious and I found the hotel to be quiet. Not many amenities in the hotel, which was fine. The staff was friendly and helpful. I very much enjoyed the breakfast of the hotel. The location was very convenient; a very short walk to the main square and a 5-10 short walk to the train station.

The only downside would be that Internet in the rooms is unavailable due to the hotel structure. The lobby does have WiFi access, but it's a bit spotty. I did not find this to be a negative, but some travellers might.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La_fl_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We arrived at the Francuski and were welcomed by the reception staff. The hotel certainly fits the period in which it was built. The decor has been very carefully thought out and gives it the feel of the age. The beautiful staircase leads up to the rooms (there is also a lift if needed). There is a very attractive period clock in the small seated area just passed the reception - beautiful.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very polite and helpful. The rooms are kept very clean and there is facility for tea and coffee in the room along with a fresh bottle of water left each day.
The breakfast is very good and bacon and eggs are available upon request. A selection of meat, eggs, cheese and various breads, Museli cereal and fruit with yogurt or milk is also available.
The hotel is ideally situated a reasonable distance from the square and close enough to all the bars, cafes and restaurants.
Had an excellent memorable trip and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is clean and elegant, the staff are friendly and will help with anything you need in an efficient manner. The hotel feels as though you have stepped back in time, with grand staircases and wooden panelling. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was average and you can get much better in town about 5 mins walk away.
Overall the hotel is in an excellent location and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiD357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#16 of 259 in Krakow
909 reviews
Hotel Unicus
#52 of 259 in Krakow
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
659 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#77 of 259 in Krakow
391 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francuski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francuski

Property: Hotel Francuski
Address: ul. Pijarska 13, Krakow 31-015, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#32 Family Hotel in Krakow
#58 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Francuski 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French hotel is located in historic centre of Krakow, opposite The Princes Czartoryski Museum, few meters from the old city walls and the Barbakan. Within easy reach there are many galleries, jewelry stores and during tourist season - also a bazaar with works of art, presented by the old defensive wall. Whole French Hotel is filled with old elegance what is already evident upon entering the lobby and impressive staircase with columns. It is the oldest building in Krakow erected immediately as a hotel - was opened in 1912. Interior is influenced by the popular at that time an art deco style. The rooms and suites are decorated with wallpapers, pictures, and graphics showing former Krakow, as well as solid, stylized furniture. The bathrooms are comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. Some suites may be combined, by which the hotel is recognised among traveling families. Listening to a clock beating in the lobby or sipping tea in a cafe, you can travel in imagination hundred years to the past. The building is famous for almost a hundred years of its restaurant serving delicious Polish cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Francuski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orbis Francuski Krakow Hotel Krakow
Orbis Francuski Hotel Krakow
Krakow Orbis Francuski Hotel
Hotel Francuski Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing