We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”
Review of Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Hotel
Ranked #29 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Eden Hotel is a no-frills hotel in a great location for exploring historic Krakow. I was able to walk from the hotel and see many of the sites, including Wawel Castle and the Main Square. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. My room was normal sized and the bed comfortable. The shower had great water pressure, but there seemed to be a foul odor coming from the drain in the bathroom.

Overall, my stay was pleasant as I spent very little time in my room. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great location, but do not expect luxury.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    146
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
65
200
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Spent this weekend at the eden hotel and while I think it got most things right it did lack a bit of polish.

the receptionist was extremely friendly and welcoming, she gave us our key and I was disapointed to open the door and find a dirty unmade up room waiting for me. However mistakes happen and they rectifyed the mistake imediately by giving us a bigger and much nicer room on a higher floor! So this mor than made up for it.

You couldn't beat the location of the hotel and it the friendly staff were wonderful and always on hand to help you.

what I would say is that there were small touches that would have made it a little better, tea and coffee facilities in the room for example and maybe a mini bar. However there was 24 hr roomservice and there were towels provided which you don't always expect in a 3 star.

I would recommend to a friend, but would probably look for somewhere else to try somewhere new if I went to Krakow again. I get the feeling I may just have caught them on a slightly off weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

warm friendly hotel asked for a double bed and couldn't get one. also the drains in the toilet in what i would call the blue room were smelly.otherwise this hotel would have got top marks

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at the Eden Hotel, Staff very friendly and helpful, hotel and rooms very clean, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Had gone to krakow, city of my forefathers, to relax and ponder while awaiting for some job to be completed in Warsaw. Have been to the Eden before and as always, people were friendly, smiling and caring. this time was given a suite at the back for some peace and quiet. The Eden benefits from it's location in the heart of Kazimierz, as the vicinity is central and quiet at the same time.
Eden will remain my second home whenever in Krakow.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Spent three nights at the hotel with a friend.

The hotel is in a very small cobbled street. It looks small from the outside but is deceiving. The receptionist on arrival was extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a comfortable and clean twin room which overlooked the Remu Cemetery.

There are a vast amount of restaurants and bars a short distance away. I am glad that we stayed in Kazimierz rather than in the main tourist area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Do NOT come here expecting glitz and glamor! This is more like visiting your relatives in Poland, circa 1939 or so. As we were on a Holocaust/roots excursion, the Eden suited us perfectly. Yes, there is no a/c, but our 1-BR suite had two sturdy fans, and there is cross-ventilation. The furniture, lamps, pictures, all suggested a pre-war middle-class lifestyle that was comfortable and gracious. The breakfast was the best in Eastern Europe (and we went to four cities on this trip). If you are a lox-and-cheese aficionado, you will love it! Great coffee,too. The hotel also operates an open-air eating area, which we found cool and enjoyable. Let's face it, you don't go to Auschwitz every day, but when you do, it's important to return to a soothing, congenial atmosphere.
The Kazimierz neighborhood is compact and interesting,but what kerflummoxed us completely was the very large, ultra-modern shopping mall we walked to, about 10 min. away -- thought we'd beamed back to California! You'll remember you're in Poland, though, when you stop at the food court: chicken schnitzel, potatoes, and breaded cauliflower just like Mom used to make. We were glad we didn't stay in the main-square area of Krakow, which struck us as overpriced and overrun by loudmouth partiers. It was fun to come "home" to the Eden.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweiserw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Liv'Inn Aparthotel
#18 of 259 in Krakow
389 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#48 of 259 in Krakow
859 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#50 of 259 in Krakow
561 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#70 of 259 in Krakow
372 reviews
Kleparz
Red Brick Apartments
Red Brick Apartments
#24 of 259 in Krakow
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel

Property: Eden Hotel
Address: ul. Ciemna 15, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#38 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#47 Business Hotel in Krakow
#58 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden history: We are located in the carefully restored XV-th century home of Isaac Jakubowicz, the founder of the Isaac Synagogue. Hotel Eden location: Hotel Eden is perfectly situated right in the heart of Krakow's old Jewish quarter - Kazimierz. We are close to many historical sights such as The Remuh synagogue, Old Synagogue, Wawel Castle, Schindler's factory and the former Jewish ghetto in Podgorze. The medieval Main Market Square with famous St Mary's Church and Cloth Hall is an easy 10 minute walk away. Rooms and relax: Hotel Eden offers 27 rooms (single, twin, triple, quad) equipped with private bathroom, fridge, satellite TV, telephone, coffee and tea facilities, free WiFi internet access and an additional computer for hotel guests in the lobby. For a modest fee you can use our unique Salt Grotto as well as the more traditional forms of relaxation: sauna and massage. What makes us special: Hotel Eden is the only hotel in Poland with mezuzah (a piece of parchment inscribed with specified Hebrew verses from the Torah) Hotel Eden is the only Jewish hotel in Poland with a mikvah (ritual Jewish bath).In its pre-renovation state Hotel Eden can be seen in the film "Schindler's List", as some of the film's scenes were shot on Ciemna Street and inside the future hotel. There are unique paintings and posters on the walls from various period of times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing