We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't walk away without a good map”
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ester
Ranked #92 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel is tucked in a side street and easy to miss after shopping in Kazmirez shopping area;Do stop at Lody for ice cream 2 blocks away with the long line. Room decor and hallway was a bit dark. Stained carpet and disintegrating lampshade were detractors from a pleasant 2 day stay. Very pleasant and efficient staff with nice breakfast buffet and very good dinner menu. Outdoor patio needs attentive gardener and carpenter to build deck ( Warsaw old town is masterful model).
Hire the driver, Erig, for trip to Auschwitz and Salt mine; huge time saver, pleasant , attentive and excellent driver.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August and had a very pleasant stay. Rooms were spotless and well serviced (kettles, coffee, hairdryers, shower & bath in the larger rooms etc) and the staff were very helpful.

The air conditioning unit in our room broke down on the first night and leaked over the floor, as soon as I reported it the staff set about repairing it and moved us to a larger room to make up for it. All done in minutes and with no fuss.

Live music outside hotel from a regular band, music was nice and wasn't too loud so it never got disturbing.

Hotel is in the middle of the Jewish area so lots around to see from that point of view and some good restaurants right outside.

15min walk into the city centre or regular busses/trams available too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Finally after 10 years of marriage we left our kids by my mother and escaped to Krakow fisrt time in my life. Hotel situated directly on jewish square, next to sysnagougue. Nice room with marriage bed with good suspensions....:). Good old fashioned hotel with kind Dominica at reception. Nice Klezmer live music under windows, not loudly. I reccomend for dinner Jewish gulash, it was superb.
Unfortunately I had no time to stay there longer, but I have to get back soon. Just one night for Krakow is not enough. There is only one small problem with parking - what really is not problem - guarded parking is just 100m from the hotel and costs 6 Euro per 24hours, you will remain quiet yhet nothing will happen to your car..

Room Tip: Ask for 207 if free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

i was last weekend in the hotel and i would like to share somethings about it.
first of all the personel was more than pefect. special thanks to Dominica at the reception, who was all the time with a smile and that made our day. i needed a lot of help as it was my first visit in the town and she answered all my question.
the area was more than perfect. a lot of restaurants and cafe around there but you need 15-20 minutes walk to the main square. its ver near the wawel castle which by taxi is around 10-20 zlotty which is around 2.5-5 euros.
moreover the room was very small but cozy. there was a shower and no bath. there were shower gels which they were never replaced.i think that that was the smallest room in the hotel so if you dont want small room dont take number 37.
my general opinion is that you pay fir the area its not 4 star but 3.
the breakfast was adequate and could be much better for a 4 star hotel.
i could visit the same hotel but with a better price.

Room Tip: dont take room 37, you could hear the band of the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravellerCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

the hotel is a boutique hotel. not very big. great rooms very clean the bathroom is great only the hair drayer is not good , it is too weal so bring one. free wi fi in the room and hotel , a bit slow. but working in the room kettle and free water. a/c - very good. it is on the jewish quter very lively.
the hotel restaurnt served good breakfast and good diner. polish international food. the exprsso machine in the breakfast is not for many people , so you have to call them to fill it all the time.
the stuff is nice. i recomand this hotel.

Room Tip: it is on gthe main sq. so it can be noisy if there is a festival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We spent 5 nights here in April to celebrate my 40th. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist. Check in was super quick. The room was beautiful and we even had a patio area. It snowed when we were here which was perfect and gave you a real sense of Eastern Europe. We loved the blackout blinds on the windows. The rooms were equipped with a safe but we never used it. The hotel is so small and the get to know there guests. They arranged a trip to Auschwitz for us. The bus picked us up from the hotel but be warned it drops you back in the centre of Krakow which is only a 20 minute walk away. The walk in is straightforward and it great to view the architecture and evidence of communism still evident. There are lots of tours to do and this is a great little hotel to access them from. It was lovely seeing the Jewish culture up close. The breakfasts were plentiful and caters for all tastes. We would defintely recommend this hotel....... Enjoy

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoopsandPalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Situated in The Jewish Quarter (Kazimierz) adjoining (szeroka-kazimierz) which is a lovely square surrounded by lots of open air restaurants and the atmosphere in the evenings is lovely.
We were there from the 7th May 2013 and the weather was hot during the day and cooler in the evenings.
The hotel is a typical period Polish hotel so don't expect 'Sheraton-like facilities' but it was certainly good enough for our 4 night stay. Room facilities were fine and the breakfasts were adequate with a reasonable amount of choice. I would recommend this hotel but you must accept it's 'polishness'. The Polish folk music played by the small group just outside the reception area, is lovely and adds to the ambience..
It's about a 20 to 30 minute level walk to the Old Town from the hotel. The Old Town is a 'must' visit for everybody.

Room Tip: Our room was towards the back of the hotel and had no view at all but on short trips hotel facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_B67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Rubinstein
Hotel Rubinstein
#71 of 262 in Krakow
427 reviews
Kazimierz
Aparthotel Oberza
Aparthotel Oberza
#69 of 262 in Krakow
158 reviews
INX Design Hotel
#112 of 262 in Krakow
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#87 of 262 in Krakow
400 reviews
Stare Miasto
Golden Tulip Krakow City Center Hotel
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#13 of 262 in Krakow
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Address: ul. Szeroka 20, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#42 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#59 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £40 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ester 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Krakow
Hotel Ester Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing