We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no air conditioning during a dreadful heat wave” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ester
Ranked #88 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“no air conditioning during a dreadful heat wave”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

When the group I was traveling with arrived, we were greeted on our floor by a naked, drunk man. This was only the first of the problems at this hotel. The second, once we entered our rooms was to find out that there would be no way to have two people sharing the room. There was literally no place to move around the other person in the room and no room to store our suitcases and clothing. The third problem was that there was no air conditioning in the room (instead we had heat!) when the outside temperature was more than 100F. It was also about three tram stops from the central area of the city, so it was quiet, except for the drunken men the first night. We called the reception area to ask that the police be called. They were so it was only one night of no sleep..

In its favor, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast buffet was ample. Would I stay there again, NOT A CHANCE!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art-travelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    174
    50
    12
    7
See reviews for
52
207
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

this hotel ester in the Jewish quarters was amazing staff where very help full and even rang up to check if are taxi would be on time for us to airport the breakfast was continental and if you asked there was cooked breakfast at no extra cost we had the attic room which was quiet funky had dinner there once could not fault it but there are a lot of resturants about to choose from the main square is about 20mins walk a way but there was a lot of cafe's to stop of at and more resturants in the main square.we found to book trip's it was cheaper at tourist info when booking a few trips thy would do some sort so deal with you.a must is to go to the under ground museum under the square but book early.

Room Tip: Are room in the attic room 37 this room over looks the square (but there is a tree out side your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

When I was in Krakow last year I stayed at a different hotel, but was able to wonder around the city. So I already knew the little square Hotel Ester is located at. Nice and in the middle of the Kazimierz district. Location is perfect. Rooms are a bit dark, and you have to like Klezmer music, there's a band playing outside every day. Breakfast is ok, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs at request. Wifi is free and actually works.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Ester and were very pleased with our experience. Breakfasts were delicious, the staff pleasant and helpful, the rooms large and scrupulously clean, and an added bonus of a very good klezmer band in the hotel restaurant! The Jewish District is very interesting and within walking distance to major sites such as the Old Town Square and Wawel Castle. All in all a great experience in Krakow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I recently returned from a 3-night stay in the Hotel Ester. What a wonderful stay it was. The room was big and clean and the breakfast was delightful. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel blends in perfectly with the surrounding Jewish District with an old fashioned look. We had lunch in the hotel and the food was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would not hesitate in coming back

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
191 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed during easter. Hotel Ester is a nice little hotel in Kazimierz area. Rooms are a bit dark, but clean and nice and have enough room. Free WiFi, minibar, safe, TV, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer (not very good). Breakfast was nice and I enjoyed the local flavours.

What I liked the most is the location. Kazimierz is lovely and lively area with lots of restaurants and nightlife, but still quiet and beautiful. It was nice to stay here and enjoy this neighbourhood while within a walking distance from old town.

Room Tip: The lift is a bit slow and not always working. Ask for a room on second floor so you can use the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is very well situated in the Jewish quarter. Waking distance from the ghetto and Schindler's factory. Most shops and outlets ( not including restaurants and bars) are closed on Easter Sunday. Museums open on Easter monday, shops still closed. Great short break.
Allow the hotel to arrange your trips to Auschwitz etc. better than being in a large crowd. A/C is good, powerful shower, nice buffet breakfast, good room service, helpful staff. Great short break. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have very light drapes / curtains. Would recommend eye masks for the light sleepers that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Rubinstein
Hotel Rubinstein
#63 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Kazimierz
No photo provided
David Boutique Hotel
#73 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Wawel Hotel
Wawel Hotel
#22 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Hotel Galaxy
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#44 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ester

Property: Hotel Ester
Address: ul. Szeroka 20, Krakow 31-053, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#30 Family Hotel in Krakow
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#59 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ester 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ester Hotel Krakow
Hotel Ester Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing