We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Ranked #153 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good but not a 5 star”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good hotel but it's probably 1 and a half hours to walk into the city, the taxis are cheap so it's not a huge problem. Food is average in the hotel and very expensive compared to all of the other restaurants in the city. The "fitness centre" was an absolute joke. It's a room with 2nd hand gym equipment in and not even one treadmill!! Overall the hotel looks great and is probably a good 4 star, also the staff were absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    78
    50
    22
    19
See reviews for
41
63
11
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had our wedding here in August, so this is sort of a 2 part review, for the Wedding day itself I'm going to give them 4/5, for the rest of the time I'm going to give them 2/5, I'm also giving them the benefit of doubt as I know the management and organisation structure has changed, so hopefully things are on the up.

So to start of with, this is not a 5 star hotel, I have no idea what the rules are in Poland for calling yourself one, but I've stayed in far nicer places in Krakow and Warsaw that don't claim to be 5 star, so the first thing they should do is lower expectations and either re-label themselves as a 3 star hotel, or make the necessary changes and aim for the 4 star rating this venue should be capable of. Either way, 5 stars is just ridiculous.

Now as I mentioned, we had our wedding here in August and that is the only reason I am showing some sympathy with this review. Organising initially was a complete nightmare, with either outright lies, or severe communication breakdowns throughout, however as I mentioned there were several personal changes, so its plausible the new management are slowly getting to grips with things. Firstly despite agreeing a price for certain parts of the wedding, every time we requested written confirmation of the phone call/conversation in person it took ages to arrive and then changed, this happened so many times we lost count!!!

Perhaps the rudest moment of the whole planning was when we went to try the wine (we never got to try the food, despite being promised this) before the wedding, was when we tried a slither of the red and white wine, when our drinks bill came, they actually tried to charge us for these tasters!!!! Then to top things off the manager made a big deal about taking out her personal debit card to cover the bill as we obviously weren't going to (for the wine taster, obviously we paid for the drinks we actually had).

Another recurring theme was them saying yes and meaning no, for example, the table covers were yellow/gold (we knew this), yet when we asked if they were white, we were told they were!! This part wasn't a language barrier as we asked in Polish!

There were a few more hiccups en route, but when it came to the day itself the management had completely changed, so as I said at the start, it may be that change is good as the wedding day was largely glitch free.

Now onto the hotel itself...the location isn't great, but its near the airport, fairly near a tram stop and its easy enough to get a taxi, that said they need to sort out the entrance road as there is an abandoned motel just outside which is really off-putting and a shame as otherwise the hotel would look quite impressive on arrival.

The gardens (one of the main reasons we chose it for the wedding) are very nice, with some great outdoor seating and good facilities for bbq's etc. They also have some outdoor tennis courts.

There is no swimming pool, which is one big omission (especially when claiming to be a 5 star hotel), this is something they should definitely consider adding if they want to attract more guests. They do have a small Jacuzzi and a very small gym area, but that's not really suitable for a hotel of this size.

The bar is small, but nice enough, expensive for Krakow, but that's expected for a hotel, there's even room to sit outside in the gardens when the weather is nice, which is actually quite pleasant. The service at the bar is generally okay (when staffed), however oddly despite a completely full bar, they sometimes randomly seem to shut up at night, with no warning, very strange!

So what else did they get wrong?

Well we had about 100 people coming from outside Poland (and others domestically), we had given the hotel very precise details of room arrangements and checked numerous times about early check-in's/late check-out's as people were catching 4/5am flights and obviously would want to check in early. This was all agreed, yet despite this they initially refused to allow people to check in early as previously agreed, it was only when one of the guests called me we rang the hotel and resolved this, although unfortunately some people had been turned away and headed off into central Krakow.

They only had 2 cots...its is presumably mainly a business hotel, but given the size of it, it was slightly surprising. That said, we did know this in advance, so pre-booked them, of course on arrival one was missing, eventually one turned up hours later from a sister hotel.

They also managed to mess up the bedding arrangements, by trying to cram in a family of 4 into 2 beds, which initially they refused to rectify, luckily we had a fairly feisty polish speaker (the mother of the bride) to hand to resolve things!

Also worth a mention is the fact that they accused my parents of stealing a bath robe (it should be pointed out they have form of threatening to call the police which you may be aware of if you read certain UK papers)! My parents kindly offered to empty their luggage out in the middle of the lobby should they wish to inspect their contents...they declined this offer!

Now onto the wedding day...with the ceremony at 16:30 (the hotel had the full timetable), people obviously wanted lunch before they went and they were happy to take the orders...unfortunately with 5 minutes to go the majority hadn't turned up! The hotel said this was because they were too busy sorting out the other room for a wedding!!!! Now whilst this is of course true, its not acceptable to take these orders and charge people when they know the people ordering are going to the wedding they are setting up and hence can't wait 2 hours for a burger! They also made it incredibly difficult for people who never got their food to get their money back along with a couple of rogue drinks they were charged for that never appeared!

Its also worth mentioning that at breakfast (which is actually very good, a great selection, even a chef cooking omelettes on demand) we were waiting for a sound technician, who was supposed to meet us. When we enquired where he was, we were told he wouldn't be able to meet us until later, we pointed out that wasn't acceptable and also not what was agreed and it turns out he must have been in the next room as he was there within minutes, very odd!

All that said...the wedding party itself went off pretty much seamlessly, we hired a decorator to take care of the room and she had no issues, the staff seemed helpful and willing to assist with the setup, the food and drink all came out seamlessly, one course a few dietary requirements were messed up, but this mistake was resolved very quickly and not repeated. The hot food was actually very good and the cold buffet also impressive.

The next day we had a bbq in the garden, which was pretty nice, the food wasn't the same quality as the day before and some of the meat was undercooked, but overall it was decent and no real complaints there.

So, to sum up, I'm giving the Crown Piast the benefit of the doubt and awarding them 3/5 partly because despite issues beforehand they actually did pretty well for the wedding party and partly because the management changed and I'm hoping in time they get their act together. The hotel has potential to be very good if it has a competent management team, so hopefully they read reviews like this, learn from their mistakes and turn things around. I should point out, that if I ignore the wedding, based on our experience, I would be struggling to award 2/5, so well done to the staff for their efforts on the big day itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went there on Christmas. As we were the only guests we were given in-room breakfast and free entry to the sauna (which we used on all three days). The room was not very hot and we were told that they are not putting heating very high as it isn't very cold outside. However, after we asked them for the third time, we were given an electric heater for the room which solved the problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestbourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was outside of the city, so location not ideal for the city centre/restaurants, but convenient for the business district where I needed to be. Hotel itself was a good standard once you were inside and compliments to the staff for friendliness and service. Unfortunately it is a transit hotel used by coach tour companies and as the breakfast restaurant doors remain firmly closed until the designated breakfast hour there were large crowds descending on the large buffet all at once. Room was perfectly adequate and clean and overall considered the hotel good value for the price. Although location is not the most convenient the availability and costs of taxis in and around Cracow mean that it not such an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was a great hotel. Beautiful park outside and big spacious rooms. (we rented two four bedroom suites on the upper floor. Dinner was very tasty and service good. Toilets and bathrooms nice and clean. Quiet neigborhood outside of town..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wasn't overly impressed with this hotel. Located behind an old lorry park and next to a motorway its location means you are reliant on taxies to get in to town to sample the local beers and cuisine. if you do decide to stay in the hotel the menu is limited. The atmosphere in the restaurant was subdued and uninviting. I couldn't work out if i was the only one in the hotel for the first two days!
The breakfast was a mixture of pastries and canned fruit.
Don't be swayed buy the promise of a gym as i think someone has taken the weights to their room as it only contained a 1980's rowing machine and what i can only describe as a cross trainer that makes you look like your climbing the side of a mountain.
While the hotel was clean and comfortable to stay in I would only recommend this hotel to business clients that had someone else hosting them or a large group of people that had plans to go out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here near the airport as we were landing late and though it would be a smart way to begin our ten day stay in Krakow, as they advertise an airport shuttle service. They don't have one, but instead, offer an overpriced car service. Turns out, the set rate for the Krakow Airport Taxi service (which we used and recommend), was the same as it would have been going into the old town. To be fair, the room was perfectly nice and clean, the breakfast selection ample but of average quality, the coffee strong, the gardens where we spent the morning were lovely and the service by the restaurant staff was great. But the location is of no use if you have any intention of visiting Krakow as you will spend a good 25-30 PLN each way getting back and forth to the Wawel Hill area. When we arrived at the airport, they had sent a driver which we did not request or agree to given that the price they quoted was too high, making things a bit uncomfortable for us as the taxi service we had booked was waiting and we had to struggle to find someone who spoke English to let the hotel's driver know that we had our own transportation. At the hotel, we told reception what had happened, who informed us that the driver was really angry and implied that it was our fault, and had even printed my husband's email requesting the price of the taxi, as though that was the same as confirmation! It was awkward, but no matter. The problems began upon check out, when they asked us to pay for what we understood to be a prepaid room. We raised our concern but they assured us that this is to give us the option of choosing another payment method. They then reported us to booking.com as a no show and we were charged a second time. It took almost a month and a half before booking.com took matters into their hands and refunded us themselves as the hotel was non responsive and at one point lied and said they had already refunded us. We had to write emails, scan bank statements and receipts and in the end, lost money due the shifting exchange rates. I eventually received an email of apology from the hotel and I do understand that mistakes can happen, but they demonstrated no interest even acknowledging let alone resolving the issue within any type of reasonable timeframe. Find a hotel in town (we also stayed at and loved both Home Hotel which was hip and spacious as well as Hotel Grodek which was elegant and has a fabulous roof terrace). Enjoy Krakow!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
2.6 mi away
Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
Niebieski Art Hotel & Spa
#64 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conrad Hotel & Spa
Conrad Hotel & Spa
#129 of 258 in Krakow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Apis
Hotel Apis
#127 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kosciuszko
Hotel Kosciuszko
#79 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Swing
Hotel Swing
#95 of 258 in Krakow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Krakow
Q Hotel Krakow
#75 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Piast Hotel & Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Piast Hotel & Park

Property: Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Address: ul. Eliasza Walerego Radzikowskiego 109, Krakow 31-342, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#54 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Piast Hotel & Park 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crown Piast Hotel & Park in Krakow. Our Hotel is a modern complex. Ideally located in Krakow, surrounded by greenery provides to its guests tranquility and relaxation. We offer the accommodation in 179 comfortable perfectly equipped rooms and suites. The Hotel Restaurant Anthurium serves a gourmet menu, also supports weddings and other special events. Each year Crown Piast Hotel & Park organizes dozens of international conferences, banquets, seminars, meetings and events in the garden as well. Just be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crown Piast Hotel & Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Piast Hotel And Park
Crown Piast Hotel Park
Crown Piast Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing