We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Piast Hotel & Park
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Wentzl(Krakow)
US$224
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Stary(Krakow)
US$218
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Atrium(Krakow)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Krakow Stare Miasto(Krakow)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$128
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$92
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
73
86
59
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
86
59
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelcity centreordering taxisclose to the airporttaxis are cheapevery member of staffcouple of nightshotel is situatedspoke good englishair conditioningmini barcomfortable roomold townshopping mallcold meatsscrambled eggszloty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. However the restaurant is very expensive and not much choice on the menu. Not much of an atmosphere and felt quite awkward whilst in there. Would definitely say go out to the old town to eat and drink it's a lot cheaper and a nicer atmosphere. The hotel was nice and didn't take long to go into the centre but you do have to get a taxi, no way you can walk it. Apart from that it's a nice quite place and no trouble. Maybe not a five star hotel but definitely a four.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank LeanneeLouiise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Good hotel but it's probably 1 and a half hours to walk into the city, the taxis are cheap so it's not a huge problem. Food is average in the hotel and very expensive compared to all of the other restaurants in the city. The "fitness centre" was an absolute joke. It's a room with 2nd hand gym equipment in and not even one treadmill!! Overall the hotel looks great and is probably a good 4 star, also the staff were absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had our wedding here in August, so this is sort of a 2 part review, for the Wedding day itself I'm going to give them 4/5, for the rest of the time I'm going to give them 2/5, I'm also giving them the benefit of doubt as I know the management and organisation structure has changed, so hopefully things are on the up.

So to start of with, this is not a 5 star hotel, I have no idea what the rules are in Poland for calling yourself one, but I've stayed in far nicer places in Krakow and Warsaw that don't claim to be 5 star, so the first thing they should do is lower expectations and either re-label themselves as a 3 star hotel, or make the necessary changes and aim for the 4 star rating this venue should be capable of. Either way, 5 stars is just ridiculous.

Now as I mentioned, we had our wedding here in August and that is the only reason I am showing some sympathy with this review. Organising initially was a complete nightmare, with either outright lies, or severe communication breakdowns throughout, however as I mentioned there were several personal changes, so its plausible the new management are slowly getting to grips with things. Firstly despite agreeing a price for certain parts of the wedding, every time we requested written confirmation of the phone call/conversation in person it took ages to arrive and then changed, this happened so many times we lost count!!!

Perhaps the rudest moment of the whole planning was when we went to try the wine (we never got to try the food, despite being promised this) before the wedding, was when we tried a slither of the red and white wine, when our drinks bill came, they actually tried to charge us for these tasters!!!! Then to top things off the manager made a big deal about taking out her personal debit card to cover the bill as we obviously weren't going to (for the wine taster, obviously we paid for the drinks we actually had).

Another recurring theme was them saying yes and meaning no, for example, the table covers were yellow/gold (we knew this), yet when we asked if they were white, we were told they were!! This part wasn't a language barrier as we asked in Polish!

There were a few more hiccups en route, but when it came to the day itself the management had completely changed, so as I said at the start, it may be that change is good as the wedding day was largely glitch free.

Now onto the hotel itself...the location isn't great, but its near the airport, fairly near a tram stop and its easy enough to get a taxi, that said they need to sort out the entrance road as there is an abandoned motel just outside which is really off-putting and a shame as otherwise the hotel would look quite impressive on arrival.

The gardens (one of the main reasons we chose it for the wedding) are very nice, with some great outdoor seating and good facilities for bbq's etc. They also have some outdoor tennis courts.

There is no swimming pool, which is one big omission (especially when claiming to be a 5 star hotel), this is something they should definitely consider adding if they want to attract more guests. They do have a small Jacuzzi and a very small gym area, but that's not really suitable for a hotel of this size.

The bar is small, but nice enough, expensive for Krakow, but that's expected for a hotel, there's even room to sit outside in the gardens when the weather is nice, which is actually quite pleasant. The service at the bar is generally okay (when staffed), however oddly despite a completely full bar, they sometimes randomly seem to shut up at night, with no warning, very strange!

So what else did they get wrong?

Well we had about 100 people coming from outside Poland (and others domestically), we had given the hotel very precise details of room arrangements and checked numerous times about early check-in's/late check-out's as people were catching 4/5am flights and obviously would want to check in early. This was all agreed, yet despite this they initially refused to allow people to check in early as previously agreed, it was only when one of the guests called me we rang the hotel and resolved this, although unfortunately some people had been turned away and headed off into central Krakow.

They only had 2 cots...its is presumably mainly a business hotel, but given the size of it, it was slightly surprising. That said, we did know this in advance, so pre-booked them, of course on arrival one was missing, eventually one turned up hours later from a sister hotel.

They also managed to mess up the bedding arrangements, by trying to cram in a family of 4 into 2 beds, which initially they refused to rectify, luckily we had a fairly feisty polish speaker (the mother of the bride) to hand to resolve things!

Also worth a mention is the fact that they accused my parents of stealing a bath robe (it should be pointed out they have form of threatening to call the police which you may be aware of if you read certain UK papers)! My parents kindly offered to empty their luggage out in the middle of the lobby should they wish to inspect their contents...they declined this offer!

Now onto the wedding day...with the ceremony at 16:30 (the hotel had the full timetable), people obviously wanted lunch before they went and they were happy to take the orders...unfortunately with 5 minutes to go the majority hadn't turned up! The hotel said this was because they were too busy sorting out the other room for a wedding!!!! Now whilst this is of course true, its not acceptable to take these orders and charge people when they know the people ordering are going to the wedding they are setting up and hence can't wait 2 hours for a burger! They also made it incredibly difficult for people who never got their food to get their money back along with a couple of rogue drinks they were charged for that never appeared!

Its also worth mentioning that at breakfast (which is actually very good, a great selection, even a chef cooking omelettes on demand) we were waiting for a sound technician, who was supposed to meet us. When we enquired where he was, we were told he wouldn't be able to meet us until later, we pointed out that wasn't acceptable and also not what was agreed and it turns out he must have been in the next room as he was there within minutes, very odd!

All that said...the wedding party itself went off pretty much seamlessly, we hired a decorator to take care of the room and she had no issues, the staff seemed helpful and willing to assist with the setup, the food and drink all came out seamlessly, one course a few dietary requirements were messed up, but this mistake was resolved very quickly and not repeated. The hot food was actually very good and the cold buffet also impressive.

The next day we had a bbq in the garden, which was pretty nice, the food wasn't the same quality as the day before and some of the meat was undercooked, but overall it was decent and no real complaints there.

So, to sum up, I'm giving the Crown Piast the benefit of the doubt and awarding them 3/5 partly because despite issues beforehand they actually did pretty well for the wedding party and partly because the management changed and I'm hoping in time they get their act together. The hotel has potential to be very good if it has a competent management team, so hopefully they read reviews like this, learn from their mistakes and turn things around. I should point out, that if I ignore the wedding, based on our experience, I would be struggling to award 2/5, so well done to the staff for their efforts on the big day itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjmehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We went there on Christmas. As we were the only guests we were given in-room breakfast and free entry to the sauna (which we used on all three days). The room was not very hot and we were told that they are not putting heating very high as it isn't very cold outside. However, after we asked them for the third time, we were given an electric heater for the room which solved the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestbourneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was outside of the city, so location not ideal for the city centre/restaurants, but convenient for the business district where I needed to be. Hotel itself was a good standard once you were inside and compliments to the staff for friendliness and service. Unfortunately it is a transit hotel used by coach tour companies and as the breakfast restaurant doors remain firmly closed until the designated breakfast hour there were large crowds descending on the large buffet all at once. Room was perfectly adequate and clean and overall considered the hotel good value for the price. Although location is not the most convenient the availability and costs of taxis in and around Cracow mean that it not such an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leo707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews