We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called Hotel Stark!”
Review of Hotel Start

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Start
Ranked #233 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Francophile in the UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be called Hotel Stark!”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

This is by far the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in and I'm not a fussy person when on holiday.
It is really a hostel with en-suite rooms. The beds were creaky chipboard with ancient, filthy and internally destroyed matresses, the pillows were worse. The rest of the furnishings were extremely low quality and either broken or worn out. The curtains did not meet (by 3 feet) which served to clearly show that the windows had not been cleaned since 1960 (inside or out). The bathroom was clean but basic with cardboard toilet paper supplied (take your own or buy some from the huge Tesco hypermarket next door), towels which could double as sandpaper and our shower head fell off the wall if you looked at it too hard.
We stayed on a b&b basis but I would recommend room only as the breakfast was awful, a choice of partially cooked, cold scrambled eggs or cold ham/cheese with stale bread and tepid drinks.
It is also used by school trips from all over Europe so you will be woken at all times of the night (if you can sleep on the beds) by un-supervised kids.
On the positive side, it is cheap, not too far from the centre (3zl on the tram or 25zl by taxi) and handy for Tescos (so you can buy towels, pillows and even a mattress if you need to).
On the whole, unless you really are counting the pennies in which case can you afford to go away at all, I would strongly recommend you pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    25
    41
    21
    67
See reviews for
20
42
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Do not book this through Easy Jet. Their mark up is massive for such a 'dive'. My wife booked this as a 50th birthday surprise. Most definitely a surprise! Do not get me wrong. If your budget is such that a dole cheque will not stretch that far, then this is the place to be. However, when booked through an airline, even a cheap one such as Easy Jet, one would at least expect a standard. Alas, the standard here falls far below anything that could be expected.

Krakow is fantastic and is definitely worth a visit: experiences such as the Hotel Start will not help their tourist industry. So, what was wrong? The exterior is dirty and unkempt, on a busy intersection, surrounded by a vast 'council estate'. The staff are helpful, after a fashion and the breakfast is not too bad (just ensure you have the buffet, which they do not explain - you will be charged). T

The rooms are small, with tvs that do not work. The carpets look like they harbour wildlife, whilst a general feeling of insecurity exists (not too sure how safe this is - people walking past your window from the 24 hour Tesco - people trying your door handle at night etc.). The worst part are the the beds: they are wooden slabs that often fall through. Also, they do not look clean.

Overall, as a hotel, 1 is a very generous mark. I would avoid this like the plague! However, do not avoid Kracow as it is beautiful. Just do not book it with Easy Jet and make sure you do not stay at the Hotel Start!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Krakow hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Not being a moaning traveller, but the Hotel Start was very poor (Iknow it was cheap!!!)
We had to hover over the carpets, the window was dropping out and generally dirty. Our sheets and bathroom were very clean though. I take back all the critisims I had of our English yobs, because until the early ours of the morning we were disturbed by German and Polish yobs running down the corridors and smoking us out with their never ending cigarettes.
One plus the hotel staff were wonderfully helpful and nothing was too much for them.
Austvitz, Salt mines and Polish soup are recommended. My advice is not to go on the organised trips, small contract minibuses opposite the Galeria shopping centre take you for much cheaper.
Don't ask for help at the bus station from the woman on the toilet desk -she obviously hates any English.
Whizzair coach transfer from katowice airport is good value re-book on the internet

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Get out of the taxi and the first impression gave us both a chock. Worst East European 70th style hotel I´ve ever seen. The interior was the same standard, blinking fluorescent lamps in a corridor that gives the feeling of being trapped in a mental institution.
But It lighten up. Room was ok and bathroom renovated and clean. Staff was helpful and spoke good english.
Taxi into old town cost around 20-25 zloty depending on trafic and tram 19 and 22 took 10 minutes and cost 2,50. So no problems there.
Right beside the hotel its also a huge Tesco shopping centre.

When the first chock has gone away we was quit happy. What can you expect from a hotel that cheap.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

Birthdays come but once a year and for mine a trip to Poland with my girlfriends was something that just had to be done - booked the trip via teletext - £149 for 3 Nights B and B, nothing additional for the laughs - we booked in the May unbeknown to us Spurs had drew Krakow (October) on the EUFA cup the week before and didnt we know it !! Found Hotel clean and staff were marvellous - 90% of the clientele were male - either there for the match or various stag and birthdays but great groups of lads and good for a laugh. Rooms were clean, showers were brilliant and the breakfast was good also (especially the coffee) Some linguistic problems as for some of the staff english was not a language ( just point at the menu). The Hotel however was some type of Hospital facility and for pure dit value eating breakfast, and beer being delivered through a hatch which had clearly been for providing meds was an experience - further concerns as to the metal architraves on the hotel rooms that were likened to those seen in prisons/cells by other guests gave further clues as to the patient group once contained therein!! A taxi into the city centre to hit the bars was no more than a fiver - and party we did!! This is no spa break, it is somewhere to sleep, shower, and change your clothes, dont book it on any other basis or you will find yourself bitterly disappointed - ps the trip booked through the hotel to Auschwitz Birkenhauer is really good value for money

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room/bedding/shower and the coffee at breakfast
  • Disliked — The decor - the view (it is just outside a council estate concrete city!!)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinetyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I loved it! Unusual building being obviously a former mental hospital. Convenient for trams, buses and Tesco. Excellent staff who were very patient with my demands! It really gave the old soviet feel to the area. The rooms were big enough, cleaned daily and the shower was hot and strong. Heating was ample at this time of year when it averaged -1C. The basement contains a small bar which sells coffee in the morning and breakfast snacks. We liked it very much and will go back. Excellent for an economy category hotel.

  • Liked — The amusement factor.
  • Disliked — It was a bit out of town but the transport was good and cheap.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tantriclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

This was our first visit to Eastern Europe and not having a great deal of money we wanted somewhere, cheap and clean to use for a long weekend break.

The hotel is very basic and looks more like a city centre office block than a hotel and has a slightly run down appearance. The rooms was clean and our request for a double bed resulted in two different size / height singles being pushed together! That said, the bathroom was fine and the room had basic amenities (tea / coffee making stuff, TV, etc)

The hotel is slightly out of the city centre, but busses and trams run from just outside the hotel. You can buy a ticket (VERY cheap) from reception and use it over and over again.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but other guests said the food was fine.

There is a big Tesco supermarket next door to the hotel, if you need to pick up anything for your trip

We discovered that had we booked direct through the hotel's website it would have cost half the price of booking from a UK travel agent.

Krakow is a beautiful city and well worth a visit. The Polish people and very friendly and the food there is cheap and delicious. We visited just before Easter and the city square had a vast and interesting market to browse.

A visit to Auschwitz is a must (even though harrowing). If you want to arrange this, just wait around at the railway station and a guide will approach you.

Would we return to Krakow? Yes
Would we return to Hotel Start? No. The city has numerous great hotels and even 3 / 4 star are very cheap compared to UK.

  • Liked — Cheap clean
  • Disliked — Appearance
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
5.3 mi away
Dom Turystyczny Indigo
Dom Turystyczny Indigo
#217 of 259 in Krakow
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#154 of 259 in Krakow
95 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Faust
Hostel Faust
#189 of 259 in Krakow
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Optima Osrodek Hotelowy
Optima Osrodek Hotelowy
#180 of 259 in Krakow
44 reviews
4.1 mi away
System Hotel Krakow
System Hotel Krakow
#229 of 259 in Krakow
234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Krakow Bronowice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Start? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Start

Property: Hotel Start
Address: ul. Kapelanka 60, Krakow 30-347, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Start 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Start reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Start Krakow
Start Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing