We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A "boutique hotel " with excellent location, service and ambiance
A nice, quiet "getaway" outdoor private courtyard where you can have a coffee or a snack.
Front desk people are very helpful and proactive No prodding needed.
Free wifi which was of reasonable quality. Breakfast was included and of very good quality.
A beautiful experience in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    229
    40
    5
    2
See reviews for
111
322
62
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Much because of the location, which is central in the Old Town - but still quiet. The standard of our room vas excellent; clean, updated and spacious - like the rest of the whole building. Good breakfast - you may even ask for your own omelet - prepared just for you. But what impressed us even more was the friendly and flexible staff; our stay, originally three days, had to be postponed one day becaus of delaied flight from Norway. We wanted to add another day, then, and wessage was sent to the reception late in the evening we should hava arrived. Answer from reception: No problem - we add another day to your order - and charge nothing for the showoff the first night! And upon leaving early Sunday morning, due to travel by train to Berlin at 7, we were offered breakfastbaskets to go, which fed us for most of the whole journey, which lasted close to 10 hours. Amazing!
Johnny Gimmestad

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimmestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

On the plus side:
Location: Great location in Old town at a quiet street. Approx 20-25 min walking distance from central railway station.
Cleen.
Room. Spatious and cosy, nicely decorated, no stale furnitures.
Friendly and helpful staff.

On the minus side:
Not soundproof.
Breakfast ok. Eggs (scrambled, boild, fried), white bread, salads, cheese, ham, sausage, fruits, juice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linni1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Gorgeous hotel, booked a double room for two nights stay as was attending a wedding. Location is brilliant and near Wawel Castle which is beautiful lovely parks and well kept. the bedroom is massive bathroom gorgeous air con which stays on even when you take the key to leave the room.

The onle thing which i didnt like but only minor was we asked for a double bed which was two single bed pushed together now i didnt really mind that prop the norm but the piece of wood in the middle was pain but not really a prob.

you have unlimited access to the net which is located on the 2nd floor a water tank with freezing water Nice when you come back in from walking around the streets. the breakfast is a buffet but also says that if you need or want anything to just ask..

room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels given and the plus side there was a fridge in the room so could go out and buy bottles of water for the room..

all in all an very enjoyable stay and would recommend it to anyone.. would go back there tomorrow if i could.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The good: 3 blocks to both Market Square & the Castle; reception staff were wonderful, helpful & friendly (they really made this a great stay for us); large room, but...

The less good: housekeeping -- the bathroom was never really cleaned during our stay & there are NOT ENOUGH places to hang towels, so it was always a chaotic mess; it was 35degC (95F) when we were there & room temperature control was an issue; breakfast was adequate & unchanging (except for things that were missing from one day to the next).

Room Tip: Try to face away from the church -- bells start early, early (first in the a.m. I swear rang 24 time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GandA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked a double room and were given a room on the 3rd floor. We couldn't believe our eyes when we walked in and we thought there'd been a mistake as this 'room' was the size of a large apartment! There was a large entry area, which led to an area with coat & hat stand, which led to another area with a wardrobe, small fridge and writing desk, then we walked into an enormous room with a king-sized bed, large sofa, small table and two chairs with an big alcove for our suitcases. The bathroom was also very large with toilet, large hand basin with vanity area and then 2 steps up to the round bathtub which also had a shower over it. The room was extremely comfortable, the wifi connection was good, the breakfast was ample and tasty and this hotel is situated in an excellent position just a few minutes walk from the Main Market Square. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone going to Krakow and we would definitely stay there again.
The only complaint with this hotel was that the 24 hr free tea & coffee machine in the orangery wasn't working the whole time we were there. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room would make this room perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneBR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 259 in Krakow
919 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 259 in Krakow
511 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 259 in Krakow
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wielopole Hotel
#14 of 259 in Krakow
1,205 reviews
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#4 of 259 in Krakow
980 reviews
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#12 of 259 in Krakow
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Property: Wawel Hotel
Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Family Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wawel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing