We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and position”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #30 of 262 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We arrived early in the morning at the hotel but our room was ready and the reception booked us in quickly and efficiently. The room was large, clean and very comfortable and the bathroom was new and very modern. A great situation for seeing the old town of Krakow, so many places to eat and all of them extremely reasonable prices. This is a privately owned hotel and all the staff are welcoming , speak very good English and are very helpful. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a difference in the position of the rooms, it is very quiet as this part of Kr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Wawel hotel is placed in the best city area: from there you can easily cover the whole Krakow city center for day and night turism. Nice rooms and services as their prices. If I'll have the chance to come back to Krakow, surely I stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzaorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I arrived at the hotel and found the reception was a nice welcoming place and the receptionist quickly checked me in and pointed me in the direction of my room for the week.

After going up to the second floor I then had to walk up to the third floor for room 401.

Upon getting to the door they use a system in which your card is a wireless key entry in which you use to open the door, which I did find tricky at first but soon got the hang of it. The door was decorated in a modern yet elegant fashion. The bathroom for me was the triumph. An all tiled bathroom with walk in shower and dipped floor to allow water to funnel down the drain.

The room was serviced every day with clean towels where required and a bottle of sparkling water was also provided. There was also a fridge which I didn’t find until checking out, darn.

The receptionists where very keen to help on my search for nearby tourist attractions, via public transport connections.

The breakfast each morning was a spread of cereals, cheese, meats, bread and hot options which included sausage and eggs. There are omelettes available on request.

On the last evening I ate in the restaurant and had the duck with cranberry sauce followed by the apple pie both with 2 beers and the bill was just short of 100PLN or £20.

The Wi-Fi was working very well and was a fantastic service.

This hotel was extremely good value for money and was in a good central location just a 5 minute walk from the central square of Krakow. I would recommend this hotel without a second thought.

Room Tip: 401 was a very good quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rother_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Just returned from Poland, stayed at the Wawel Hotel in Kracow. Excellent hotel, very good value for money, very clean and very well run by very pleasant and helpful staff. Its in a superb and quiet location on Poselska ideal for everything, only about 5 minutes walk south from the Town Hall Square . You also get free water, coffee, wifi and room safe. Hotel will also book excursions for you i.e. to Auschwitz or the amazing Salt Mine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Gorgeous hotel, very chic and stylish, free coffee machines (nescafe too) and free water in rooms and machines outside. Roughly 20 minutes from the airport, cost us 60 zloty from the airport to the hotel (about £12) on the way back the hotel ordered us a taxi though it cost more - 90 zloty (about £18) the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were 3 of us in one room it was very large and spacious, beds were comfortable and the heating system was great. Nice sized bathroom with power shower, though something a bit weird was the shower wall was made up of glass panels rather than standard tiling meaning anyone walking around in the bedroom could see you taking a shower, this is okay if your on holiday with your partner but I was with friends so it was a little bit strange, not sure if all the rooms are like this (220).
Location is absolutely perfect, down a nice quiet street, literally a 2-3 minute walk away from the Main square which is beautiful. We took a horse and carriage ride around at night which took 20 minutes and cost 100 zloty (£20) The Piano Rouge is a big recommendation to eat, after 9pm they have a singer and pianist, we had starter, main dish and a bottle of wine to share for £12 each and inside is just absolutely stunning, takes you by surprise. Cocktails along the restaurant strip were very large and very nice! Roughly 22-29 zloty per cocktail. We also ate at Hard Rock which was nice but they charge you 9 zloty for a jug of water. Hotel booked us on the Auschwitz tour which also takes you to Birkenhau II it's a very interesting tour definitely worth doing if your going to Krakow, takes about an hour to get there, tour guides are brilliant and really know their stuff (total cost 130 zloty). Hotel also booked us a taxi to take us to Oskar Shindlers Factory, cost about 12 zloty going there and about 18 coming back, it seems to be in the middle of nowhere the area is quite run down but as people are always arriving in taxis if you wait outside you should be able to get one back quite easily if you don't fancy the walk. Hotel Wawel offers massages, we had one for 150 zloty for an hour (they also offer half an hour for 100z), they didn't ask us which type we wanted (there's a list) however it was an amazing full body massage and very professional, we were also asked if we had a male or female preferance. This takes place in the well being centre or they can come up to your room too, though I believe they only have 2 beds so only 2 can be done together. We also used the jacuzzi which was 100 zloty (£20) for 1 hour, the room is gorgeous and lights can be dimmed however the water felt quite cold and really disappointing, we called reception to turn the heat up but it never changed, after half an hour we got out and they were very apologetic and didn't charge us. Jacuzzi and massages need to be booked in advance as they're quite popular. Breakfast was about average, the coffee was good, bread was nice and fresh, eggs were nice (scrambled and fried available), sausages and bacon also available. Overall the hotel was brilliant and an absolute gem to find, great price, great location couldn't really fault it, we had an amazing time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BashleighC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We are a couple who stayed for 3 nights in October. The price of the hotel was competetive with other mid-range hotels in the old town area, but we were surprised at how nice this one was. All of the staff members that we encountered were friendly too.

The room was large, the bathroom was large and newly renovated. The bed wasn't 5-star, but very good compared to most others I've slept on in Europe, and my sleep didn't suffer. There was complimentary water in the room each day, and a mini-fridge in the room, which is a big bonus to us. No coffee/tea facilities in the rooms, but there was an automated coffee/tea machine in the atrium, as well as a water dispenser. It's not the greatest coffee and tea (the tea was presweetened), but we made use of it! The free wifi signal was strong in our room, and there is a computer in the atrium as well. We liked that the atrium was not located in or near the lobby of the hotel, so you didn't feel like you always under the watchful eye of the receptionist. The hotel overall was clean, charming, stylish, and comfortable.

The breakfast buffet was extensive for our needs, including fresh tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce salad. Fresh fruit salad, whole fruits, bread, cheeses, olives, cold meats, yogurt, cereal, as well as hot eggs and sausages.

On the day we checked out, the hotel happily stored our bags until we had to catch the late night train.

The hotel is located on a very quiet street, but only a few minutes walk to Castle Hill or the main square. In the other direction, Kazimierz was about a 15 min walk.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwpapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Easy transfer from Krakow airport to hotel, pleasant staff received us and we were directed to our rooms which were very clean and tidy. The bathroom was lovely and the walk in shower great.
The rooms were cleaned everyday and the towels replaced. The breakfast was alright but continental was taken after the first day. The bedrooms did not have hot drink making facilities but the hotel did provide a coffee machine with free coffee if needed. The location of the hotel was excellant

Room Tip: 306 - 305 were quiet but did not have a view worthy of mentioning from the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phildanby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 262 in Krakow
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Unicus
#58 of 262 in Krakow
567 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Jan
Hotel Jan
#33 of 262 in Krakow
381 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#18 of 262 in Krakow
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £55 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wawel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing