We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable surprise”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 260 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable surprise”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband surprised me with a long weekend in Krakow.
We stayed in Hotel Wawel which is located between Wawel Castle and Marketplace which is known as main square.
Traditional European food are served in restaurant, while guest can choose from wide variety of drink/beverages in summer garden of hotel or in bar. Everyday, various buffet breakfast is served in Hotel. There are many beautiful cafe and restaurant near the Hotel Wawel.
The Hotel Wawel is 10 minute walk away from Kazimierz.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    233
    41
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
325
63
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February this year for 3 nights and found the hotel to be very clean and staff where friendly, it was cold and snowing when we arrived and the hotel was warm and cosy. A short walk to the main square for the cathedral etc.
Breakfast was more suited to other nationalities but edible.
We would defiantly stay in this hotel again and recommend it to other people.

Chris & Kath

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel was excellent value for money. It was spotless clean, pleasant and very quiet despite being located close to a busy street.
It is a few minutes walk from the main square and cathedral, about 10 minutes from the Wawel castle and maybe 15 minutes walk from Kazimierz.
The breakfast, while not oppulent, was delicious, refilled everytime something was almost finished, had local products.
Wifi free of charge was a nice touch and it worked without any problems?

The only less positive thing is that you have to pay for the jacuzzi and hammam, but on the other hand, if you book it, it's all yours, no need yo share with a stranger.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel was excellent value for money as well as being lovely and warm, clean and comfortable If you want to be near the square this is the place to stay. The breakfasts are delicious, the staff really helpful. We stayed in room 402, which was much bigger than rooms 404 and 405 where our family stayed. We booked our trips to Aushwitz and the salt mines at the hotel reception, and the trips were very well organised, with an extremely local pick up and drop off point.
We would definitely recommend the Wawel Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stjordal, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Spent 4 nights here in February, and can't really complain. Really nice hotel that was stylish and classy, and most importantly it was always spotlessly clean. The staff were polite and helpful and spoke very good English. In-room wifi worked like a charm. Our room was a little smaller than I expected, but still big enough for our needs. The breakfast was serviceable but nothing to write home about, a mixture of hot and cold meats, cereals and fruits. I LOVED the orangery on the first floor - a nice little seating area overlooking the courtyard with a free coffee machine, great way to start the day!

Overall the Wawel was great value for money, the prices were really competitive and the hotel is really central making it super easy to get around Kraków. If it were possible, I'd probably give it 4½ stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crofteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel was excellent value and in a great location very close to krakow main square in the city centre
Easy 5 min walk to castle and cathedral both outstanding and worth a visit.
We stayed in room 206 which is very comfortable very clean and the staff were very helpful helping us plan our trips and offering advise when we needed.breakfast was very good with great selection buffet style and the hotel bar was as good value as any of the close by bars.
We are coming back to krakow to see the attractions we could not fit into a 3 night stay and will definitely stay at this hotel

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I planned trips to Krakow, Auschwitz and the salt mine so needed to be in a local location. The location is perfect and the hotel has lots of history and character. The food and free coffee was perfect and the staff friendly. The rooms were clean and the shower brilliant. I would definitely stay again. *****

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryanengland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Wentzl
#14 of 260 in Krakow
1,079 reviews
Wielopole Hotel
#15 of 260 in Krakow
1,216 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#23 of 260 in Krakow
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Cracowdays Apartments
Cracowdays Apartments
#5 of 260 in Krakow
988 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#12 of 260 in Krakow
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Property: Wawel Hotel
Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Family Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wawel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing