We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing to rave about!”
Review of Wawel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wawel Hotel
Ranked #32 of 261 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We spent three nights here and whilst the hotel is ok it is nothing special. The location is good, you can walk everywhere, and it is quiet and clean and offers free wi-fi. But the bed and pillows were lacking, the bathroom was small and staff were not very friendly. The breakfast room is a gloomy affair with heavy furniture badly arranged and the one waitress on duty could not keep up, there's lots of waiting for fresh supplies, and although bacon, eggs etc is advertised, it is unclear how to get it since it is not out on the table. We did enjoy Krakow though and booked two trips through Krakow Tours, the Auschwitz- Birkenau trip and the Salt Mines, both reasonably priced and with excellent guides.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed recently with husband for 4 nights. Large room and bathroom, clean. Beds too soft for our liking and seperated. ( 2 singles pushed together ).
Close to everthing, just walk to shops and restaurants, very convienient and 20 mins to Airport. Staff professional but unsmiling. Breakfast was good, ask for cooked eggs, no extra charge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueeyedZosia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

It's always good to read so many positive reviews before you head off somewhere and I'm pleased to report that the other reviewers weren't wrong. The hotel is great. Our room was well furnished, comfortable and clean. The location is perfect - on a quiet street but still very close the main attractions.

Other positives: friendly staff, free wi-fi, onsite spa (at extra cost), great restaurants nearby.

We would definitely stay here again on a return trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPH5258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel is terrific. The staff are very friendly, happy to help you and speak English very well. The rooms and bathroom ensuite are a good size and very comfortable. The hotel is positioned centrally in the Old Town so it is very easy to walk everywhere. Lots of shopping, eating and sightseeing options at your doorstep. Appreciated free wifi to my room too. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Location excellent. Quiet street. Large rooms. Very good shower. Excellent beds. Good television with Eurosport. Very good breakfast altough you have to pay extra for good coffee. Good lighting in the rooms. Price/Quality good. Free wifi.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
Thank victor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

For an older building it certainly was modern inside. It had obviously been remodeled.
The service, room, and breakfast were all great. The thermostat was great and told you the temperature of the room to the degree. We thought the location of the hotel was great. just a couple of blocks from the town square on a quiet side street right across the street from an old church. And there were apparantly many good restauarants on the block judging by the crowds inside all of them. The hotel's restaurant didn't appeal to us at all. It looked very blah & sparse (more like a diner) and we didnt partake of any food there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The staff here were really great, always helpful. I arrived early (6am) as I'd been on a night train and though I knew I was too early to check in I asked if I could leave my bag. They told me that as my room was already prepared I could check in anyway, which was fantastic as I was able to have a wash and a snooze before sightseeing.
The hotel has been recently renovated and though it was not to my taste particuarly it has been quite well done. I would have preferred wooden floors to the not very attractive carpets though...
The one let down is the quality of the bedding, clean but of rather low quality.
The location is excellent though, in a quiet street at the heart of the old town. Good value for Krakow!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalston-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 261 in Krakow
951 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#13 of 261 in Krakow
1,099 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Santi
Hotel Santi
#27 of 261 in Krakow
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Stare Miasto
Senacki Hotel
Senacki Hotel
#10 of 261 in Krakow
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wawel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wawel Hotel

Address: ul. Poselska 22, Krakow 31-002, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Krakow
#14 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#15 Family Hotel in Krakow
#38 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wawel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wawel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wawel Tourist Hotel
Wawel Tourist Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing