We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kazimierz - would definitely recommend to a friend”
Review of Hotel Kazimierz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kazimierz
Ranked #81 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hotel Kazimierz - would definitely recommend to a friend”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent 2 nights here 4-6 Feb 2012. Easy to find, we wandered through the city on foot and found it easy enough with the aid of a map, though I believe trams/buses stop nearby. Friendly staff, spoke English. Room large, with double and a single, the usual tea/coffee making equipment, TV etc. Room was nice and warm (very welcome as it was snowing outside and about -15c) and the bathroom was very hot with a great shower and toiletries and hairdryer provided. Right by the historic jewish quarter, lot of places of interest nearby. We found a great restaurant opposite side of the road to the hotel, about 20 metres to the left, Kuchnia u Dorothy. A bit like someone's front room! but lovely food, very friendly with a lovely wood burning stove. Ate there both evenings, 56 Zloty (about £12) for the 2 of us, great value. Breakfast was buffet with plenty to choose from. We walked from here everywhere, to the old town square, railway station and to the Schindler factory museum. would definitely recommend to anyone going to Krakow.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlymouthSnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    310
    88
    23
    6
See reviews for
120
282
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Location scores well for this small hotel well situated in the old Jewish quarter. Good way to experience local flavour. Plenty of bars and restaurants within easy walk. With a rate of £25 per room per night to include buffet breakfast do not expect too much. However the few staff we met were courteous and helpful. Rooms outdated although they do appear to be carrying out some updating.
When we arrived we were allocated a room on the 4th floor. They were refurbishing rooms on the 3rd floor and had piled furniture and matresses on the main stairwell with just enough room to get past. I am not sure what fire regulation is in Poland but am sure it is the same in most of Europe. In anybodys book this was unacceptable and considerably dangerous. We asked to be moved to a lower floor and this was done without a problem.
The bed linen does not fit the bed and the duvet only matches the exact size of the matress so no overhang ...tussle guaranteed for share ! With outside temperatures as low as -23C every ounce of cover important to ensure a reasonable nights sleep.
Continental breakfast. Only hot items were some sausages. You could have scrambled eggs. Staff attendance was intermittent and on one morning I had to go to kitchen in basement to order eggs.
Perhaps at this room rate this is the norm, however it is fair to say as a couple we were disappointed with the standard of this hotel and would not return or recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my daughter on our city break, we have had a fantastic time in Krakow, and can't fault this hotel at all, our room was cosy and warm especially after being out in -25c! We didn't really see any staff around, but the reception guy was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, we didn't really fancy the herrings and cucumber so stuck to scrambled eggs on toast! Would recommend this place to anyone and hope to come back ourselves.

Room Tip: We had room 304 at the front of the hotel with a great view and no traffic noise, though might be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireMarje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

First off, location was brilliant, I would recommend anyone to stay in the Kazimierz district, loads of great, dark, moody bars and lovely restaurants also. Really has the perfect eastern european feel to it.
The hotel itself overall was good, and I would stay again.
Pros: quiet, we were on the front side and didnt get much road noise, and were away from the restaurant area. Spacious, big high ceilinged room, and clean.
Cons: One bug bare was the pillows, they werent normal and didnt support your neck much so were annoying, did affect our sleep. Also there wasn't that much character in the room, but for the price I wouldn't complain much about that.
The breakfast was fine, a big selection of cereals, cold meats, fruit and other things we couldn't work out! I was surprised that we got breakfast included so an added bonus. Staff were fine, always willing to help, in the slightly stern Polish manner you get used to!
Finally, as we went when the daily temperatures fluctuated between -15 and -20 deg C it was always nice to get back to a lovely warm room!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mathewrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I was going to rate this hotel as poor, however, at around £28 per room (for 2) per night, including breakfast, expectations shouldn't have been too high.

Positives:
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful (even prior to arriving)
Location is great, loads of pubs / restaurants close by (it's in the old Jewish area)

Negatives:
Breakfast - breakfast is served from 7am - 11am - which sounds great, except there doesn't seem to be any system of keeping the cold food cold, or the hot food (only hot food was two different types of sausage) hot. We ate at about 8am, so it was OK - but I'd hate to have stopped in for breakfast at 10.30, after food had been out for 3.5+ hours. There were no labels on the food to say what it was, so it took a bit of guess work for some of the food. In the information pack in the room, there was mention of scrambled eggs / omelette (either available or included in the breakfast), however, there was not a single staff member to be seen while we were there.

Noise - the doors to the rooms are not thick enough / sound proof to eliminate noise from the hallway. I was woken at around 4am on the first morning (but got back to sleep), and on the 3rd morning, was woken again by someone knocking and shouting at the door next to ours, at about 6.30am. This isn't so much the hotel's fault, more the fault of the inconsiderate woman.

Rooms - the rooms certainly weren't my taste decoration wise - which isn't a problem, it is a hotel after all. However, the sheet didn't quite cover the entire mattress, and there was no mattress protector. The duvet only just reached each side of the mattress - meaning once two people were under it, we either huddled in the middle, or one of us went cold (until we took the duvet off the extra single bed in the room). The pillows were old, and had little 'body' to them. AND, the pillows and the duvets all seemed to be from some children's set of patterned bedding (though covered in pillow cases and duvet covers) however, the colour shows through, and it really just looks like it is dirty. The other problem I have with coloured pillows/duvets, is you can't see the stains! The bed itself was old, and not very comfortable. The towels, while plentiful, did not smell clean.

Also - there is no safe in the room.

I'd certainly spend more money next time, to stay in a better class of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My favourite place to stay in Krakow. I've been to the city many times but this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in while in Krakow. The Service was great, the rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_London185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed at Kazimierez 2. Very good location. 10/15 minute walk from old town square. Some rooms in our party had not been cleaned at all. Late check in. However, it was a group of 36 so this can be excused, slightly. Dinner very basic. Had to head over to the other hotel for Saturday night meal as restaurant was booked for private party fine with us until we came back to the room (on 1st floor). Off to bed at midnight ready for early flight. Still up at 4 am due to ridiculously loud music. Headed to reception whose response was "it will finish soon. At 5am ... We cannot do anything about it". No further offering. Reception staff were miserable to say the least. Whilst this may be a one off instance; at £70 a night the attitude of the reception staff was unacceptable and rude. 5am cut off for music when room is next door and very loud not good enough. Visit hotels a lot so would expect behaviour like this in £25 night hostels not £70.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Kazimierz II
Hotel Kazimierz II
#94 of 259 in Krakow
341 reviews
Kazimierz
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#48 of 259 in Krakow
564 reviews
Kazimierz
David Boutique Hotel
David Boutique Hotel
#72 of 259 in Krakow
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kazimierz
Eden Hotel
Eden Hotel
#29 of 259 in Krakow
449 reviews
Kazimierz
Spatz Aparthotel
Spatz Aparthotel
#46 of 259 in Krakow
883 reviews
Kazimierz
Tournet
Tournet
#97 of 259 in Krakow
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kazimierz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazimierz

Property: Hotel Kazimierz
Address: ul. Miodowa 16, Krakow 31-055, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Krakow
#47 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#47 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kazimierz 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kazimierz is located in a very center of Cracow - in the heart of Kazimierz district. Wawel Hill with castle and cathedral as well as the Old Town with Main Market Square, Floriańska Gate, Barbican, numerous museums, churches with colorful polychromies, gorgeous stained glass windows, astonishing altars, sculptures, paintings - are just within walking distance. Bernadka pedestrian bridge will guide you to nearby Podgórze district where each place has its unique history. Apart from convenient location we offer 38 comfortable air-conditioned rooms with private bathrooms. Excellent buffet breakfast is included in price. Wi-Fi, safe deposit, luggage room – all this amenities we provide free of charge for our hotel Guests. Hotel Reception Desk is open 24 hours and advice important information about local places of interest – sightseeing, tours, concerts and other arrangements can be made directly at the spot. Hotel also has a car park located nearby – prices are very competitive .The unique atmosphere of Kazimierz attracts with its mystery and originality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kazimierz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazimierz Hotel Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing