We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Heart of Beautiful Krakow”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #91 of 259 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Heart of Beautiful Krakow”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A beautiful hotel, worth paying that little bit more for as a special treat - and a great location too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetLaggedJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    207
    94
    38
    33
See reviews for
97
276
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in the Grand Hotel for 3 nights Fri-Mon in early July 2011.
Positives - The hotel is very central in location which was great. The room itself was nice and spacious and the aircon was good as it was really hot. Nice touch of a personalised letter welcoming us to the hotel.
Negatives - As we were waiting to check in we noted a gentleman checking out. We heard the reception staff telling him that they were charging him for a missing towel. The poor man was so shocked and said he would never do anything like that and she could search his suitcase. The lady after several calls said that if he says so they will have to believe him and did not charge him. When we went into our room, I put my own bottled water in the room's mini bar fridge to cool and and noted that some of the items on their list were missing from the mini bar, but did not think much of it as we had no intention of eating or drinking anything from it. To our horror, on checking out we too were given a bill for mini bar stuff!! Again after several calls we got the same dialogue and the reception lady said she would not charge us.. It is not only embarassing for us but an utter disgrace to be treated like that. It has left us feeling awful of being accused and unsure whether there is something underhand going as the man earlier had a similar experience. I am sure many folks maybe so embarassed they would just pay up. I strongly suggest that you get the staff to check the mini bar with you before you enter!!!
Our room was adjacent to the nightclub below and was noisy during the early hours Saturday, but OK the other nights. We would have given a better rating had it not been for the experience on checking out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Just returned from a weekend in Krakow. This hotel is in the best location ever, 30 seconds from the square. The hotel is very olde worlde grand ! It is spotless and the staff are very helpful. Beds are very comfortable. We booked a package and breakfast was included. Breakfast is just a very good continental breakfast but if not included we would not have bothered eating here but would have gone to one of the many cafes and restaurants in the square. All trips to the Salt Mines and Concentration Camps can be made at reception and the mini bus picks you up and drops you off at the hotel. Outside the hotel are small "golf carts" which takes you on a tour of the city. It is well worth the trips doing this as it gives you a good idea where places are located in the city. The people in Krakow are very friendly and it is a lovely place to sit and watch the world go by. Very safe and lots of friendly police around. The square has a small market on the weekend and lots of people looking for bargains. Times are 20 minutes from the airport around £20 in a cab. Krakow is very cheap and there are lots of lovely places to eat. Great place to go away for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Beach
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My family and I stayed here in April 2011. The hotel is grande in its appearance. History is in abundance here...a short walk to the city square...horse drawn carriages the works. It appears medievil in nature like it has been untouched in centuries. Hotel staff were very courteous and friendly. We had a triple room on the first level which was large enough for three adults. Excursions to Auchwitz and salt mines were easy to arrange. Great value for money. Only stayed for 3 days should have stayed a lot longer.

Room Tip: All rooms great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORCO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Centrally located hotel.The Grand is what I would describe as a classic hotel in terms of decor,furniture etc. It has old fashioned class,but is not dated. Everywhere within the hotel is well maintained,exceptionally clean and charming.
The room was a good size,and again very clean. Only thing lacking was tea/coffee making facilities.
The staff were extremely polite and helpful and gave us their full attention when required.
The only meal we ate in the hotel was breakfast. Again,the breakfast room was extremely clean,and the choice of food was more than enough for any taste.
The only real negative point is that there was a nightclub opposite our room,and on the Thursday night there was some noise from clubbers,but again it wasn't horrendous and only lasted 2/3 minutes.
All in all an excellent hotel,and would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank husbandoftheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The location is perfect, you can walk to everything and there is still quiet at night. Rooms size is ok - comfortable beds. Breakfast very good. The hotel is old but has charm and are well maintained. We arrived early, but was allowed to check in at 9 am. Smiling service all the way. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Grand Hotel in Krakow exudes the old style glamour expected of a classic 5 star hotel. The staff are warm and welcoming as are the surroundings which immediately make you feel that you have arrived somewhere special. My friend and I stayed for 4 nights and they couldn't do enough for us and our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean as were the public areas. The buffet breakfast wasn't huge but there was plenty of choice inc scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, beans, polish sausages, cold meats, cereal, yoghurt, bread and jams. We were on the 1st floor and the only problem that exists in cities is that is can be quite noisy at night but not in any way related to the hotel. The hotel is located 1 block from main market square where you will find many bars, cafes and restaurants. Poland offers extremely good value with a glass of Proscecco at just over £2 and cocktails around £3-4 and snacks from £2-3 upwards. We found the people mainly friendly and accommodating. There are little electric cars that offer tours round Krakow which is an interesting and cheap option as the local guides give you more information than you would get in a book and they are more than happy to stop and wait for you to take photos.

We hired one of these drivers for the day to take us to Auschwitz / Birkenau and the Salt Mines which was better than going on an organised tour and we had a people carrier to ourselves as well as a personal guide who took us to a local Polish restaurant for lunch near the Wooden Village so worth checking this option out.

Auschwitz was a truly horrifying memorial of the war and the people who perished but it cannot be believed until you see it with your own eyes. Our guide Simon was fab although he obviously still had strong feelings about what happened there to his countrymen. I had heard that no birds fly over the site and he said this was a myth but I kid you not there was not a bird in sight or any sound until you went outside the gates where there were a few crows. A visit to Krakow would not be complete without visiting here and its well worth the hour or so journey and its something I will never forget because the images are so haunting. Simon made is clear that this is not a tourist attraction but a museum and had to be treated with respect so no eating or drinking on the tour. Wrap up warm as you spend quite a bit of time outside especially at Birkenau.

We also visited the Salt Mines but beware you have to walk down hundreds of steps but its worth it to see the fully functioning chapel 100m below ground. Not for those with mobility problems or claustrophobia!

We ate at lots of really good restaurants and cafes but the one that really stood out was Scandale Royale which was one block away from the hotel in Plac Szczepanski This is a really lovely cocktail bar and restaurant serving 1st class food cooked by a French Chef. Despite the quality, cocktails were around £3-4 and the meal for two including drinks was £30.

There are also nice individual shops for the ladies as well as countless shoe shops.

I would like to go back with my Husband and would definitely stay at the Grand again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynncarr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#78 of 259 in Krakow
470 reviews
Hotel Stary
#54 of 259 in Krakow
683 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#11 of 259 in Krakow
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#39 of 259 in Krakow
1,959 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#32 of 259 in Krakow
480 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 259 in Krakow
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing