We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly a good hotel… but the word ‘Grand’ can mislead expectations.”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #88 of 258 Hotels in Krakow
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Certainly a good hotel… but the word ‘Grand’ can mislead expectations.”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

When you say ‘The Grand’, you think of luxury and flamboyance. Well, there are many things missing here that you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
That said, it’s plush old style interiors, welcoming staff and cozy rooms make it a nice place to stay. It’s also a pleasantly unique experience.
It’s in the heart of the touristy town square, where all the action is. They have a small breakfast spread, but good eats.
If you have the time, you can simply walk to many of the tourist attractions, like the famous church, the castle, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeromelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    206
    93
    37
    33
See reviews for
96
272
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. We found all staff to be friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were delicious and properly presented. Although the room/bathroom were small they were perfectly adequate for our purpose. Towels and toilet paper could have been more luxurious. Dined in the cafe one night as too tired to go out. Nothing out of the ordinary but well cooked and presented. Other nights came back to the Vienna Lounge for coffee and brandy which was a haven after full days of sightseeing and we were well looked after by the young girl who always seemed to be on duty. Were there staff shortages?
Would go back if ever in Krakow.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking inner courtyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manuel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The good stuff:
Staff generally helpful
Excellent location in an amazing city
Nice rooms

The bad stuff:
The awful, terrible receptionist. Two are great but you will know immediately when you get the one I'm talking about. Hard to believe people like this can keep a job in frontline customer service.
Poor water pressure
Poor cardboardy itchy scratchy towels
Poor airconditioning
Rubbish dressing gowns - worse then the towels - why bother?
Having to pay to use the hotel sauna - Difficult to find another 5 star hotel that charges to use IT'S ONLY recreational facility!!!
Rubbish breakfast

We are coming back to Krakow as soon as we can but we will not be booking the Grand.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scubak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This hotel is old style but very adequate. It is not luxurious but its position is excellent. The rooms are large and comfortable and the food is of a good standard. It is in the heart of Krakow with many excellent restaurants close by. If staying for a few days I would recommend this hotel as long as the name of it does not raise too many expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

the beds were rock hard the bathroom was much too small for a five star hotel like they call themselves the water pressure of the bath was below every acceptable level it takes half an hour to fill the bath. I took at 7'o clock breakfast.
The bread was from the day before
when I had finished I saw someone arriving from outside with the fresh bread this hotel is definitely not a5 star
hotel and very overpriced

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequenttravellerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed here with my parents and i have to say the location was brilliant. staff were quite helpful. The place could probably do with a lift. we never ate here as there are so many great places to eat in krakow. overall a nice hotel but a bit expensive for what you get in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We pulled up at our hotel to a rather unassuming double doorway and went inside and were greeted by an equally unimpressive 'lobby',yes it was olde worlde but not Grand.The doorman was nowhere to be seen as was the case during 50% of our stay.Had to wait 15 minutes while a new girl was being show how to check out guests,of course I understand she needed training but not whilst We were waiting to check in.The reception staff were however very helpful and with excellent English and had great local knowledge.We were shown to our room and the first thing we noticed was the wonderful view of a wall opposite,went back to reception and was shown an alternative smaller room with a similar view,so anyone with ideas of wonderful views of the city can forget it,if your lucky you'll see a window on the buildings opposite which are also in very close proximity.As there are many bars and restaurants in the same street noise was a concern,but luckily once you closed the window it was fine.Was disappointed with the lack of t.v. channels CNN and France 24(English language) were the only English language channels available as the hotel had not subscribed to any of the movie channels or local channels that sometimes show American movies.The bathroom was bijou but was well stocked with shower gel, caps etc but the cramp inducing half bath experience was one I'd rather not revisit,however if you are four foot tall then you'll be fine.. The loo it self was stuck in a corner of the bathroom and if you dared turn you'd either knock your elbow on the door or the adjacent sink.The furniture in the room itself was neither olde worlde nor modern just a bit worn,the bed however was very comfortable it would have been even better if the air conditioning coming from the very high ceiling worked effectively.
Breakfast was filling and a reasonable choice was available,would have been nice to have had a bit of variation from time to time though. Restaurant staff were very attentive and seemed to want you to enjoy the breakfast experience.The location of the hotel was ideal and just a stones throw away from the Main Market where an abundance of restaurants and shops could be found.Only 10-12 minutes walk to central station or 5 minutes walk to the tram stop sites this hotel in an enviable position.
I would no way classify the Grand as a 5 star hotel ,4 star at best despite the 5 star prices.Would we stay there again,probably not as we want something with a little more space and better facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor seem to be very quite in this very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famousactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
The Bonerowski Palace
#80 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#35 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Hotel Stary
#55 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wentzl
#10 of 258 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Copernicus
Hotel Copernicus
#31 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#9 of 258 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Ul. Slawkowska 5/7, Krakow 31-016, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#72 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Krakow
Grand Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing