We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easily the best Hotel we have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #38 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easily the best Hotel we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

If you enjoy ultra modern, steel and glass 5 star Hotels - this is not the Hotel for you.

However if you would like to stay in a historic building that has been beautifully restored, located in the heart of bustling Krakow that offers a 6 star level of service - please read on;

We arrived on a red eye flight from Warsaw and arrived at the Hotel at 10.30am. The Hotel is located on Kanonicza Street at the foothill of Wawel Castle. It is set within a group of Renaissance buildings with a typical Gothic facade and an impressive hand sculptured entrance. Other buildings on the street are equally and meticulously restored to their former glory. Some hold ancient works of art, others are fantastic restaurants, wonderful cafes and bookshops. We did not expect the hotel to have a room ready for us - but perhaps to store our belongings so that we could take a wander around the town. However, before we knew it our luggage was whisked away and we were checked into a fabulous room on the second floor (Room 210).

The Hotel has 29 rooms in total - small but very private, safe and exclusive. It has welcomed guests such as former U.S. president George W Bush, Prince Henry of Wales,Saudi Princess Reem Al-Faisal, Condoleezza Rice and Cardinals from Pope John Paul II's retinue.

The Atrium of the Hotel is bathed in sunlight and hosts the most beautiful exotic flowers that would impress even the most enthusiastic of botanists.

Our room was truly amazing - separate living area with beautiful furniture that fits the aesthetic of the hotel, King size bed, a massive bathroom with a Jacuzzi , L'Occitane products and the most powerful shower I have ever experienced.

Breakfast is served in the atrium and offers an impressive range of both continental and deliciously cooked items. The restaurant is small but exclusively intimate and has been listed on the Michelin dining guide for the past three years.

The service we received was of the very best I have experienced. Professional yet very friendly and under the meticulous direction of the General Manager who's constant presence was notable throughout our stay. The Management and Staff should be very proud of the service they provide.

We have worked in the hospitality industry for many years and have traveled extensively. We have stayed in the very best of hotels, none of which are as beautiful, special or memorable as the Hotel Copernicus.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,

It has been a great pleasure for me and all the Copernicus team to host you.
I would like to say Thank you for your kind comments regarding the stay with us. This kind of appreciation from our Guests is the best award for all the Copernicus Staff.
Hopefully see you soon.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    107
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
232
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great location near the Wawel Castle. I stayed for 3 nights. The concierge arranged a private guide for me for one day and separate tour to Auschwitz on another day. The decor within the hotel is very charming, with a lot of natural sunlight and plants in the glass-covered courtyard. When visiting the hotel, do visit the heated pool in the wine cellar (it's small, but it's a great place to take a dip after a day of sightseeing). Also, go up to the rooftop and order a glass of red wine and a plate of Italian cheeses. The view up there is amazing. You feel like you can almost touch some of the surrounding bell towers, they are that close. One warning though: In the summer months, when the sun is setting and the nearby church bells ring in 8 pm, you may see a some bats fly overhead. I did. I thought it was kind of cool, but it was a little spooky too. The hotel's restaurant is very good, too. My waiter was excellent. The only disappointment was that my room did not have a bathtub, which I love to soak in after a day of sightseeing. But I understand some of the rooms have whirlpool tubs. If that's important to you, then you should ask for it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmeow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Reviwer,

It has been a grat pleasure for me and all the Copernicus team to host you in Krakow.
We would like to say Thank you for your kind comments and notes regarding the stay with us. This kind of appretiation is our best award.
Hopefully see you soon.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

spacious, quiet hotel, right next to the castle, a tour company called escape 2 poland found this for us, and organise airport transfers and a tour of auschwitz as one package. everything went so well and the hotel staff were helpful, provided good service. we had a truly great break in this beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Morg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your impression about the stay at the Copernicus with Trip Advisor reviewers. I am gald that you spent a nice time with us. Hoping to welcome you in our hotel again I am sending you my best personal regards,

Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

My husband and I chose to visit Krakow for our tenth wedding anniversary and booked the Copernicus on the recommendation of a friend (and checked Trip Advisor!). We were not disappointed. The beautiful, historic building is located on a small street just off the main square. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room (102) was huge, atmospheric and tastefully decorated with dark wood panelling throughout. The bathroom was equally impressive and spacious with a powerful shower although no bath.
What I liked about the hotel is that you simply never heard anyone else bustling about -staff or guests, whch made for a very relaxing stay. Room 102 is above the front door however and the street cleaners did seem to get going about 6am which makes for a very clean Krakow but is rather noisy first thing in the morning (we are maybe more susceptible to it as we live in rural Scotland!). We also did have our window open.
Breakfast is taken in the centre of the hotel - there's a buffet offering the usual cereals, juices and fruits as well as a range of cheeses, eggs and cold meats plus you have the option of some hot dishes such as eggs Benedict.. We did have a tour group wandering through, presumably looking at the architecture, as we were eating one morning which we found quite strange.
There's a small but lovely rooftop area set among pots of flowers where you can telephone down for drinks to be brought up. I did notice that the measures for a glass of wine in Poland are much smaller than we are used to in the UK so it's better to go for a bottle! There are only two seats that are shaded however and no parasols are evident so it might be a little too hot up there sometimes.
There is a basement pool and spa area which looked lovely - low lighting and intimate - however we never made it down there, Krakow had too much to offer! Also you can organise a massage which, again, was an intention that never came to fruition.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Thank your for a lovely note about the Copernicus Hotel. Thank you for sharing this special moment with us. I am really hoping that you will decide to celebrate your future anniversaries at the Copernicus. Beacouse you did not have a chance to use the wellness area please do not hesitate and plan your next trip to Krakow! We will do our best to provide you the most relaxing time here. :)

I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Perfect location, next to Wawel, on Kanoniczna street, one of the oldest streets in Krakow. The hotel is amazing and beautiful, with extraordinary decor and charm. But.... It's quite aging and need some of improvement. In our room roof windows shade didn't work so we couldn't sleep in the morning because of the sun. In the bathroom the towel hooks were broken. TV didn't work. So the stuff upgraded us to apartment, but it wasn't much better. I mean, decoration was astonishing and very beautiful, but the TV didn't work. That's not what you expect from 5 star hotel. I highly recommend the restaurant which is really a gem! Food is just perfect, and so the service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelmutSpeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
184 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

My wife, 13 year old son and I spent four very enjoyable nights at the Hotel Copernicus in July, 2010. I strongly recommend the hotel.

We stayed in one of the hotel’s two deluxe suites. Our room was directly opposite the front desk, in a small hallway that also opened to the stair to the second floor. We had a small foyer, a small sitting room with a desk, a very large bedroom, and a bathroom almost equal in size to the large bedroom. Our son was provided with a cot in the small sitting room.

In keeping with the historic setting, the room was furnished in traditional taste, with our bed on a raised platform. It made for some interesting acrobatics getting into and out of bed at night (you had to roll out onto the platform, and from there step onto the floor). But, the bed was most comfortable, and the bedding of deluxe quality (with the exception of the pillows – the Copernicus continued the odd experience we had in Poland of having only foam pillows and no feather pillows). Lighting throughout the suite was excellent. The bedroom had two separate easy chairs, each a comfortable and well lit place for reading.

The bathroom had a separate soaking tub and shower stall, but had only one sink. There was an armoire in the bathroom that served as the closet for the suite.

The weather was very warm on our first day, but thankfully the air conditioning in the suite was first class. The room was most comfortable, despite the heat.

Even though the suite was at ground level, and the pedestrian traffic rather heavy at various times of the day and night, the soundproofing was first class, and we did not have any issues with noise.

The rooftop bar – which we enjoyed on two nights before dinner, was extremely pleasant, with terrific views over the rooftops of the old town and to the Wawel. Reception and service in general was at the level I expect from a Relais & Chateaux property. The front desk made dinner reservations for us for all four nights, and those were handled perfectly. The hotel also arranged for a private tour of Auschwitz, which went off without problem.

Breakfast was decent, not great, but was included in the room price. We had dinner at the hotel on one night, and found the food and service excellent (although not quite at good as the meal at the sister property, Pod Roza).

This is a fine hotel, operating at a world class level of service and amenities. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Two nights spent here were a real pleasure - wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel has just 24 rooms and is the very centre of the old part of the city just beneath the Castle walls. The centre of Krakow is a few minutes walk away, and there are numerous bars, restaurants, shops and attractions to visit on foot. Even so the cobbled road in which the Hotel stands is very quiet and there is nothing to disturb a good nights sleep. The staff are exceptionally helpful and do eveything they can to make your stay a real experience. There is a pool and sauna in the basement. We ate in the Hotel restaurant on the first night, super food and an interesting wine list featuring botttles from many usually neglected areas such as Sicilly, and Calabria in Italy to the better known New World and Chile. Breakfast is taken in the centre courtyard under a glass atrium and is varied and plentiful. The room we were given was spacious, faced on to the centre and had a marble bathroom. All in all a real uplifting experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PyttsPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#50 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#31 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#77 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing