We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Copernicus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Copernicus
Ranked #37 of 256 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Had there been more light in the very large suite in which I stayed, I likely would have gien an even higher mark to this hotel. A Relais et Chateau member, the Copernicus suits the expectation of a noteworthy physical structure. Bathrooms are modern and sizable and my suite (103) was quite sizable. As a first step, put the small glass table in a corner. To older eyes, it is invisible on the dark carpet in the low light. Fortunately, I only barked a shin rather than taking a header so no real harm done...but the table served as a corner charging station far better than centered between the two arm chairs. The black leather was an unfortunate choice for the sleeper sofa, no matter the practicality. Overall, the place could do with a bit of cheering up but the staff was most cheerful and helpful.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jetlagged08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Relais & Châteaux Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to meet you. Thank you for having appreciated friendliness of our staff and your kind remarks on the room arrangements.
I am hoping to welcome you in Krakow in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    105
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
69
230
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and myself stayed at the Copernicus Hotel for 3 nights
in January. We would have to say that the hotel was delightful and
the staff, especially Joanna could not be more pleasant and helpful
We had booked a suite and this was indeed, very well furnished
and beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, with a very good selection
which was well cooked. We would have no hesitation in recommending
this hotel to family and friends and as we are hoping to return to Krakow
again, we would certainly return to this hotel. Thanks to everyone for
an enjoyable stay

Elaine and Wallace Alexander

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Alexander,

First of all thank you for visiting the Copernicus Hotel. I am glad to receive your kind comments regarding the visit in our hotel. It has been great pleasure for us to host you in Krakow.

Hoping to welcome you in the nearest future I am sedning you our best regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Copernicus for business and it was an absolute delight in every way. Our room was beautiful; the closest I've ever seen to this room was in a museum. The breakfast was very good with a good buffet and eggs a la carte if desired. The swimming pool and sauna were beautiful and unique. We also ate dinner in the hotel and the food was excellent. The hotel was perfectly located within walking distance of everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Thank you very much for your kind opinion of our Hotel. Our wish for the next year is to host you for a month :) or even longer at the Copernicus.

Wishing you a Happy New Year I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed here August 2012 - expensive, but charming and unique. Enjoyed it very much, would highly recommend it. Location can't be beat for walking anywhere in Krakow. The golf cart tours run from across the street. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernlawyer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Copernicus is such a find, hidden away in the back streets of old Krakow it is a beautiful design of ancient and modern.

We had a deluxe room which was large, comfortable and facing the street. Fabulous heavy dark wood furniture, rich velvet drapes and hand painted wall friezes added to the medieval look of the room. The bed was comfortable although the duvet was rather small for the size of the bed, having said that they provided us with a second one as soon as we mentioned it.

The staff were very friendly, efficient and attentive although the standing to attention habit was a little annoying especially when it was obvious they had been sitting down or leaning on a counter.

Breakfast was a pretty normal buffet display of the usual suspect and hot items could be ordered through the waitress at no extra charge. Dinner however, was very special - easily Michelin star standards and the prices, as with most places in Krakow were much lower than London.

Krakow itself is a very pretty and easy to get around city with plenty to do although the shopping is not too good. I am looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you choosing the Copernicus for your stay in Krakow. Your comments are very valuable and play an important role in our quality control efforts. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay with us and hope to welcome you in our hotel in the nearest future again.

Best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Having trodden every street in and around the old town it is hard to conceive of a better location between the castle and market square.. Our room was spacious with tall wood-beamed ceilings and the entire building has been tastefully restored. Our dinner was excellent and half the price of a comparable 5 course meal in London (we passed on the 7 and 9 course options). Highlight of the stay was collapsing in front of the log fire with mulled wine (the best ever) and hot chocolate as the freezing mist descended outside; a wonderful stay in a gorgeous place and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wander2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Mulled wine and hot chocolate by the chimney! Hmmm.... If I would not be the GM here I would definitely stay at the Copernicus after reading your opinion:)

Thank you ! Hoping to welcome you in Krakow again I am sending you our warm regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I have not yet even visited the place, just made a reservation, and I was amazed how helpful the staff was for my special requirements and helped us to make sure that the visit would be as good as possible! Honestly, really great, can't wait for the visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akakiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copernicus1, General Manager at Hotel Copernicus, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Thank you for your appreciation!

I hope the stay with us will meet all your expectations. Looking for your opinion I am sending you my best personal regards,
Joanna Wilgierz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Hotel Stary
#51 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Sheraton Grand Krakow
#30 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#8 of 256 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#10 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#76 of 256 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copernicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copernicus

Property: Hotel Copernicus
Address: ul. Kanonicza 16, Krakow 31-022, Poland
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Krakow
#20 Family Hotel in Krakow
#22 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Copernicus 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Copernicus stands on Kanonicza Street, Krakow’s oldest street that winds its way toward Wawel Royal Castle – the historic seat of Polish kings. Amidst the neighbouring Renaissance townhouses Copernicus stands out with its expansive, Gothic façade. It is the only hotel in Poland affiliated to Relais et Châteaux. There are 4 deluxe suits, 4 standard suites, 1 deluxe double guest room with two single beds, 4 deluxe double guest rooms, 4 double guest rooms (two single beds), 8 double guest rooms and 4 single guest rooms. The rooms are spacious with wonderful wooden ceilings, marble bathrooms and period furniture. All come with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi.Polish Royal cuisine in Copernicus Restaurant is prepared in the Renaissance-styled restaurant, which has been awarded many titles of excellence including the Michelin Guide recommendation among many others. World leaders and celebrities have dined here. The celebrated chef Marcin Filipkiewicz and his team prepare the best in Polish cuisine but constantly introduce new and exciting dishes to the menu. The hotel's Gothic cellars contain a health and wellness spa, which is open non-stop. Massages are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Copernicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copernicus Hotel Krakow
Hotel Copernicus Krakow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing